We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Belize Getaway”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Belize Getaway”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at Mata Rocks Jan. 5th-12th for our 10th anniversary and had a wonderful time. I would definitely recommend staying here if you enjoy the more quiet, out of the way places where the people are more mellow and laid back.

I read MANY reviews for many different places on the island and the common themes for Mata Rocks held very true: Resort is small but very well kept, the rooms and grounds are cleaned daily. We stayed in a junior suite off the pool and didn't have any issue with noise. We did have to keep the blinds closed for privacy which took a little away from the experience as we didn't get to enjoy the ocean views out of the window while in our room. Next time I would definitely stay in one of the balcony rooms closest to the water, great view and the most privacy (S6 and S12 I think). The pool is small but in the entire week we were there I never went in and only saw one other person go in. I think if we went when the weather was warmer I would have been more likely to jump in to cool off.

We found the staff to be very friendly and really enjoyed hanging out at the bar talking to them as well as other guests. But I am the type of person who enjoys talking to people and asks a lot of questions to get conversations going. I was very curious about local life on the island so I loved listening to the bartenders tell personal stories. The only time I saw them get somewhat distant was when the guests were being obnoxious or overbearing.

We had our excursions arranged by the staff and everything was great. We snorkeled out at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley and went to the Mayan Ruins at Lamanai. We wanted to do another snorkeling trip out to Mexico Rocks but the weather wasn't cooperating. We only rented a golf cart one day so that we could explore the entire island. We went across the bridge to the Palapa Bar and had wickedly strong rum punches, or maybe that was just because it was only 10am, haha. The other days we used the bikes or walked. The walk to the edge of town is not bad, only about 30 minutes or so, but then it took another 10-20 minutes to get really into town to some of the restaurants and stores we wanted to visit. Riding the bikes was easiest, and if you head south there's really not much there but a nice quiet ride.

It was very windy every day we were there so we had no issue with bugs of any kind, and didn't see any ants or other bugs in our room during our stay, but from other comments we were prepared with bug spray. The first couple days we were there the water was fairly clear so we could go out for a wade (can't really say swim since it's not that deep). I wore water shoes and had no issue with the sea grass. After that the weather churned up the water and it got very murky so we didn't go out. The next dock over goes out into deeper water and has a ladder to climb down into the water. The sea grass did become a problem onshore as the weather got worse during the week, but the guys worked everyday to pitchfork it into wheelbarrows and cart it away.

The food we enjoyed the most were the small places - Robin's Kitchen had the best jerk chicken we'd ever tasted, The Reef had awesome fried whole fish, Pupusaria had great ceviche and pupusas, El Divino next door also had awesome ceviche. We found Elvies to be just ok and were disappointed we spent $50US on lunch there - that could have been 8 jerk chicken plates at Robin's!

Overall our stay at Mata Rocks was a wonderful getaway from the hustle and bustle of American life. The culture on the island is so friendly and relaxed, we would love to come back and would definitely stay at Mata Rocks again!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean, but the two with balconies closest the ocean have the best view and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    148
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
217
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Bartolomeu de Messines, Portugal
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed here fro 6 nights at the beginning of December. Just out of season but perfect for us. All staff we found to be very helpfull and accommodating. Thee is no restataurant but the basic brekfast provided was fine. It is not a 2Resport" - 17 rooms- so how can it be!
Everything was clean and suited us superbly wih a direc dock to dock transfer from Mainland to the Hotel dock. We wil be back and recommend this lovely little residence.

Room Tip: We had room 2 with an ocean view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBridgend_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Hotel is a small but friendly place. The rooms aren't huge, but the view is fantastic (I got an ocean view room). The staff was friendly and helped book me a few snorkel tours for me as well as get a taxi for me on my way out. Room cleaniless was definitely top notch, though i recommend a good bottle of bug spray since I did see ants around the sink area and mosquitos and such can enter through the screens to make your nights uncomfortable

The pool is small, the breakfast was sort of light (pastries, juice, fruit), but its a nice place to kick pack and relax if you're there to do other things. The wifi works best near the bar and was sketchy in the rooms and on my first night there the power went out.

Other than that, everything else was relaxing and comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, the sunrises are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Overall not bad. Rooms are clean, they have a cute little bar, a bathtub size pool, and a nice beach with lots of sea grass. The bartenders are not friendly at all. I have not seen them smile or try to interact with a guest once while I stayed there. Hotel is about 20 minutes walk from downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gursoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This Hotel is so wonderful!! It's super clean. The staff is really attentive and helpful. If you need anything just ask and they will find a way to help you. I booked my air from Belize city to San Pedro through the hotel...easy! They offer any excursion you could possibly want to do. Its really close (across the street) to Harry's store (Food, snacks, beer, other drinks) and Robins Kitchen (super delicious food, a must visit restaurant). The bar on the beach is great it has some snacks but no major food items. Happy hour nightly. The best part is the beach!! It has (IMO) the best beach area i came across. Its a short walk to town or you can barrow a bicycle, rent a golf cart or take a cab. This place was well maintained and i would not stay anywhere else if I were to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed at Mata Rocks at the end of the slow season/start of the busy season. I searched and searched not knowing anything about the town. It was for our honeymoon and they only had the balcony room available for part of our stay so we stayed poolside. They did not offer to upgrade at any point. The prior visitors took the keys with them so Mata Rocks had to go have another key made so we couldn't leave our room for about an hour. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had ants, but i don't think that is unusual. I was prepared with bug spray. The rooms was on the south end about a half an hour walk from town, in fact there is not much around the hotel, so plan on walking (with a flash light after dark) or biking, however the bikes have to be in by 5:30. The bikes were a nice perk from the hotel. You can also rent a golf cart about $65 for 24 hours. In the US we think of a resort as big with alot of amentities. The Mata reminded me of a Ramada Inn type hotel in the states. There are other hotels that are still out of the main stream but closer to town.

We usually don't have housekeeping services everyday so when we let them know we didn't want any they did it anyway once. They also totally opened the blinds so our room was wide open for everyone in the pool area to view inside our room. That was a little embarrassing. Lesson learned a) even if you don't want room service you might get it and b) don't leave your bra lying on the bed for the world to see.

We stayed 7 nights and the price was right. Wireless was spotty but worked 90% of the time, which was nice. The staff didn't seem overly friendly. If you asked for something you got it, but they didn't seem to say hello or good morning, but others on the island were alwasys pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turner1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This place is awesome. period. after spending four nights in western Belize, the next four nights were spent on San Pedro island at the Mata Rocks resort. We were upgraded to suite #2, which was gorgeous with an awesome balcony overlooking the ocean. The resort grounds were immaculate, it has a great palapa bar where it's nice to chat with the other visitors, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and they make things very easy for you once your there. you want to snorkel at shark ray alley? no problem, just walk down to the bar, let them know what time you want to go, and then a boat will come and pick you up right at their dock. you want to rent a golf cart, they'll have one delivered for you. you want food delivered, they've got all the local menus. it's on an quiet section of the island and you can walk either by beach or street into San Pedro. We walked around that island every day and every night, drinking belikins and taking in the local cuisine. Mata Rocks was an incredible home base, and I will stay there again when we make it back to Belize. definitely.

Room Tip: i had secured a balcony room, but man was I happy that we were upgraded to a suite. I think it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalPaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing