We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel-watch out for the staff...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
virginia Beach, Va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel-watch out for the staff...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

We stayed at Mata Rocks last Apr (of 07) on our 7th trip back to Belize. Our rooms were lovely and so was this teeny little resort. We actually quite enjoyed the size as it was easy to meet people and relax at the same time.

The downside-the manager of the resort took a liking to us (us and another couple that we came with) and came to meet us at a bar we were also meeting more friends (not staying at Mata Rocks) at. The manager of Mata Rocks-we are guessing he had too much to drink-actually got in the face of another friend (a female) in an attempt to fight? her and called her one of the worst names you could ever call a female. We actually had to step in and intervene. So awkward and stupid.

Next we got to meet the owners. Wow-she was nice-(that was a joke). When she wasn't giving us the evil eye-she actually had the nerve to sit up at the bar and "whisper" about us. This was one of the most ridicules situations I have ever seen. We wont be back-which is a shame because the resort (minus the staff) was so lovely.

  • Liked — the view-the pool, the rooms
  • Disliked — the owners and staff! Beyond unfriendly
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank korileighb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    147
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
48
214
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

Mata Rocks is a smaller, but simple and beautiful resort. I love how the whole resort is painted white - it looks so clean and fresh! Our room was wonderful. We had a 2nd floor beachview room with our own balcony that overlooked the pool, the beach bar, and the ocean.

Because it's a smaller resort, there was an intimate feel to the place. We had a wonderful time meeting other guests and spending time at the beach bar. It was very comfortable...especially with two hammocks on their beach! And it never got too crowded.

A nice touch was that Mata Rocks offers complimentary use of their bicycles to their guests, which we found to be a more appealing mode of transportation than the expensive (and annoying) golf carts.

As far as location goes, it's a good distance away from the hustle and bustle of the town area. It's about a 5 to 10 minute bike ride away. And there are $5 (or $10 BZ) taxis available anywhere at almost anytime. So for us, we felt that the location was pretty good.

The staff was very accommodating. We had no problems at all with reservations or bills...it was a very stress-free stay at Mata Rocks! Again...Mata Rocks Rocks!!

  • Liked — Room, view from room, intimate feel, complimentary bikes, complimentary welcome drink, hammocks on beach
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank honeyhamsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

We spent a very happy four nights here: Mata Rocks is a great retreat. I am a picky customer, but this hotel really impressed me. It is close enough to San Pedro to walk into town--as long as you don't mind a 15-20 minute walk. [Note: walk along the beach so you don't have to endure the fumes from the golf carts!] The hotel is simple, striking, and all-white, sort of reminiscent of the iconic white houses on Greek islands. We stayed in room S1, a suite on the second floor. All the rooms have fantastic ocean views, but I think staying on the second floor is worthwhile because you have more privacy and aren't at the pool level.

We didn't need AC, just left the doors open to get the delightful ocean breezes. The room was simple, clean, and non-froufrou. It was so nice to stay here after having been in the (somewhat oppressive) buggy jungle!

Management was great--when we checked in, we got a complimentary fruity beverage and Dan told us about the hotel amenities. The Squirrel's Nest bar was friendly and fun.

We borrowed hotel bikes one day and rode around the island. Got really saddle sore because the unpaved roads can be bumpy, but it was fun.

We snorkeled at Hol Chan and Mexico Rocks, highly recommended!

My only gripe with this hotel is that I ran out of sunblock and bought a generic brand there--it didn't work and our backs got FRIED while snorkeling. Otherwise--highly recommended! I was so glad I chose this hotel.

  • Liked — The ocean view and breezes and clean, simple rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renee2go
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2008

What a charming small resort.! We arrived in Ambergris Caye to a stay at what turned out to be a very bad hotel and then we found a wonderful taxi driver, Abel, who took us all over the island looking for a new home. We decided on Mata Rocks and have no regrets. The prices are reasonable and the staff is awesome. The hotel is all white outside and they do an awesome job of keeping it squeaky clean! We stayed in two different rooms over our stay and truly believe there is no bad room. You can sleep with your window open and hear the ocean all night long. The staff was all wonderful and gracious to us in our less than stellar beginning welcome to the island. Dan answered a million questions and every request is no problem. Many places to eat in walking distance. Only downside is the continental breakfast. Fruit was fabulous - rolls not so much. The Squirrel's Nest bar right on the beach is delightful and draws a very talkative crowd for Happy Hour. The suites are awesome with a great shower.
Nice quiet place to stay. Walk or take a taxi for $5 to anywhere in town. After going through most hotels on the island in search of our home we definately feel Mata Rocks will be our next stay no question!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and quiet
  • Disliked — Rolls at breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank renee2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

We have just returned from a too brief stay at Mata Rocks in San Pedro. Initially, I was kind of disappointed because I thought we could do a Tikal day trip from the resort-did not know the flights to Guatemala were not running anymore. We booked here because of a good rate and airfare from Latin Destinations, they also booked our flights to the island from Belize City and had a tour rep waiting for us at the airport. Mata Rocks sends a cab for you when you get there, so that whole thing was stress free. We tried to get an ocean view balcony but none were available and the pool deck room we had was small but nice. It had a fridge and coffee and good ac. Although there was no private place to sit, we spent most of our time on awakening at the breakfast bar and on the beach anyway. You can get cream for your coffee, fruit, and some sweet rolls that can be “doctored up” with jam for breakfast. Also, get some 1 Barrel rum in town and some orange juice for “breakfast cocktails”. The Squirrel’s Nest bar and Sherlynn are awesome. She knew our “usual” cocktail after 1 day and happy hour is fun, got to meet new friends at the resort as well as locals. They can put all your drinks and tours on your tab, so a bit like a cruise ship! The tours were good, but the guides kind of rushed us on the Lamanai tour, picked us up 30 minutes late and dropped us off 30 minutes early. It rained on us the whole time at the ruins and we only got to see 4 structures and couldn’t climb because we were trying to keep our camera dry so do bring a raincoat even if it seems to be extra baggage. The Belizean style lunch was great, just don’t let them rush you around, we didn’t have watches on and only realized later on that if we had that hour of time total (that we paid for), we could have explored a little more. We went on both the half day snorkeling trips. Both are really different, Hol Chen has the larger fish and huge coral reefs. Our guide, Leonard, was great, catching sharks and rays for us to pet, and getting the Moray eels to come out! The other trip, to Mexico Rocks and Tres Cocos was totally different with smaller, beautiful tropical fish and the most gorgeous coral gardens I have ever seen. We got dropped off a little early on this one too, and I heard another couple with us complain to the manager. There is sea grass everywhere at the resort, though they try to clean it everyday, but you can walk just past Banana Beach or go off the next pier down to get away from it. You never have to fight over a chair or palapa here and there are plenty of tables to set your stuff on. The tile footbaths outside the pool area are a nice touch and we had a lot of fun taking bikes everywhere-take number 3 if you are short like me-it also has a basket for rum. We walked all the way north to town and all the way south on the beach. Go to the Croc-Pit at 4:30 just south of the resort, it was an incredible show. The maid service was very unobtrusive and considerate-they don’t wake you up here-they know when you are out of the way, it is that small of a place, which is kind of cool. You don’t need nice clothes or more than 2 pairs of shoes, but we had plenty of space for clothes in the wardrobe. The hotel supplies body wash, shampoo, and conditioner and really cool soaps. Go to Rico’s, which was our favorite restaurant on the island, beautiful setting, great service, and amazing food. Ask for the crab breakfast burrito, it’s not on the menu, but they will make it and it’s great-we even got them to go on our last day. We also like Blue Water Grill for seafood, salads, mojitos, and goat cheese pizza, Carumba’s for fresh seafood and great service. Jambal’s Jerk Pit was cool and had the best conch fritters (and we ate those everywhere). The jerk chicken was good, pork was dry. It is a fun atmosphere and has reggae music. Elvi’s was good, but stone crab was better at Rico’s. Ali Baba’s had great lamb kabob dinners. We weren’t as impressed with The Reef or Caliente, neither were bad, just didn’t blow us away as the others did. We would have loved to have another whole week here to do more snorkling. The town of San Pedro was easy to get around and we were very glad we did not stay on the north part of the island, though we did go over the bridge (which is not a toll bridge, as some locals tried to tell us), we just rode away on our bikes. Although there are beautiful properties there, we found on our trip to Mexico Rocks that they are a long way from town, would have required taxis to go everywhere, whereas we felt the Mata Rocks location was perfect.

  • Liked — Bar, Bartender, Picked up at dock for tours, clean, comfortable, good location!
  • Disliked — When tours were cut short and being charged internet access just to check flight status.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mexilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

Great place for a couple, or young family. Staff is very helpful and Dan [the manager] is able to pick whatever tour you want to go on and book for you. All you have to do is wait on the dock for the tour boat to come pick you up and you are off!!! Palapa bar for breakfast in the morning and Happy Hour at dusk is a great way to meet other like-minded travelers. Pool is a little chilly but very refreshing on hot days. Free bike rental and complimentary breakfast is a big PLUS. We stayed at a higher priced resort on Caye Caulker but this was much better overall.

  • Liked — Away from the crowds
  • Disliked — Bed was not-so-soft
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aktaydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern NH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

We stayed at mata rocks for 2 weeks and found it "ok". It's a small hotel and we were hoping to make some good friends at the bar and pool but it somehow never happened. It's very quiet and a bit reserved.

We are divers and we loved the fact that the boat from our dive company "amigos del mar" would pick us up at the Mata dock every morning and bring us there after the dive. That was great. We found out amigos picks everyone up at their dock so it is not unusual.

Room: "ok". There was a very easy-to-use safe at no extra cost. nice big shower but no racks or towell holders. bad: no bureaus at all. for 2 weeks we lived out of the suitcases. There was nowhere to put your stuff at all. Quite disappointing for a 'resort'. They have chairs and tables that are basically a waste of space. There are also lots of ants but we got used to that and I think it's common at every hotel.

Pool/bar: good. small pool. always clean. maintenance guys and everyone friendly and easy to talk to.
breakfast: started out good but quickly got boring. large rolls and toast. they need to make a bit of variety.

a note on getting married; we actually witnessed a marriage ceremony on the mata beach. the bride said Mata arranged everything. She looked smashing and there was a cute palm "isle" created by the florist. But, I was a bit disappointed for a couple of reasons; there was no music. the bride walked down to the small palm arbor to the strains of a radio sitting in the bar playing some rock. then the preacher couldnt be heard over the wind (no microphone or anything). passing boats didnt help the noise level. I suggested to the barmaid to turn off the radio and she just ignored me.

summary; belize is great but mata needs a bit more to live up to a 'resort' moniker.

  • Liked — lovely on the eyes, nice beach setting.
  • Disliked — cramped room with no bureaus, owners elusive.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank NHgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing