We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff!”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We only stayed at Mata Rocks for one night, but we had access to the hotel for all 7 days of our stay in San Pedro. The owner of this hotel also owns a luxurious rent house just minutes from Mata Rocks and since we were staying there for the remaining 6 days, we were still considered guests at the hotel. We enjoyed the location, the Squirrels Nest bar and the friendly staff. Sherilynn, Criselda, Tiffany, Gustavo and the rest of the staff were awesome...warm, welcoming, and always there to help us with whatever we needed. We've always preferred smaller properties over big resorts, so this place was perfect for us.

Room Tip: S3 and S4 were both very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RANDETEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    148
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
217
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I recently completed a six night stay at Mata Rocks. Although calling it a resort is a stretch, the hotel rooms are clean, the grounds well maintained, and features a small pool and beach bar. Tours and other adventures can be booked through the front desk with pickup typically from the hotel dock. A trip to San Pedro town really requires a golf cart or taxi, unless your looking to sweat off a few pounds on 1 hour round trip hike or ride one of the bikes available free of charge to guests. The continental breakfast is minimal, no variety and stale most mornings but there are great options in town for food so that didnt bother us too much

As noted in some of the other reviews, guest satisfaction does not appear to be high priority for either the owners or the majority of the staff. No one was rude but certainly didn't feel like anyone was going to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

During our stay the pool was drained for routine maintenance for 3 1/2 of the six days we were there. The pool/beach view from our balcony we had enjoyed the first 2 days became a construction site/beach view. Not exactly the Resort vibe we were looking for when we booked. Making matters worse the ownership and management were indifferent to our disappointment and offered only the use of an inferior pool next door as accomodation to the guests. The icing on the cake was when they shut off the water to our room without notice to fill the pool up after the maintenance was finally completed.
San Pedro is well worth a visit but I would recommend staying at Mata Rocks only as a last "resort"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin3239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The property is beautiful, serene and relaxed. The rooms are perfect from the beds to the shower to the mini fridge. It's great to have a bar on the sand and I love that it's a little quirky "The Squirrel's Nest - Where Nuts Come to Gather." The water off the beach is perfect temperature and a little way up the beach there is a dock with a large patch of clear water, some shallow, some deep. The hotel had adventure packages at competitive prices and arranged for anything we needed, from laundry to bikes to a taxi when we sadly had to leave. If and when I visit Ambergris Caye again, I would stay at Mata Rocks again. I don't think I'd even bother looking into other properties.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateHarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

To save a few bucks I stayed at MR while my friends where down the street at Victoria House. I was pleased with MR and they met my expectations. Good ac, clean rooms and property, and pleasant staff all made for a great stay. I did get caught in a three day pool repair and was told to walk next door - I thought something more could have been done but they were trying to keep the hotel in good repair and it was a slow week. I plan to stay here again and may look at a nicer room - I was in a pool site room and they have 2nd floor rooms with balconies and 6 suites with small kitchens. You are too far from town to walk if that is important and they have no food service on site. I did grab a free bike for store and food runs and there is usually a taxi on the street - 5 bucks to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at Mata Rocks for 6 days. The room was clean, quiet and a nice view. We got a great price on the room so I was pleased to see that it was worth every dime that we paid. It is located just outside of San Pedro so we could get away from the noise and relax on their hammocks when we wanted to. They have bikes you can sign up for free, to go north or south on the island. The continental breakfast is simple but it is free :) Right across the street is Robin's Kitchen (best jerk chicken in town). There is grocery stores and restaurants in walking distance. The other nice thing about the hotel is it is small and friendly. They are very helpful on setting up your snorkeling or any other activities you would like to enjoy. If we go to San Pedro again, we would definitely stay at Mata Rocks again. It was a perfect fit for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linrjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went to Belize for our honeymoon and stayed at Mata Rocks for four nights. Since we booked late, this was one of the only places with vacancies. Overall, the experience was average. I would give it a "good" rating due to value for money except for a few significant downsides that put a damper on our trip. Other reviewers have written extensively about the location and ambience, so I'll just add my two cents based on our trip. We had no major problems, but felt that for the amount we were paying to stay on the island during June, the experience could have been smoother.

Overall verdict: if you can afford it, stay somewhere else. There are many nicer places in better locations closer to town. We wondered why it was so easy to book at this hotel, and it seems that other travelers made different choices.

Features of the Hotel:

1. The beach is not private at all. It's a very small strip of sand, and all of the beach chairs are in full view of all of the rooms and the bar. That means if you're sunbathing in a bikini, everyone at the entire hotel can see you. This was a little uncomfortable, especially around early evening when happy hour begins and the bar is full of random men. There's little shade on the beach and many of the lounge chairs are broken. The two hammocks are small and uncomfortably tight and are in full sunlight. The pool is much the same: it's small, in full view of all of the rooms, and has no shade anywhere nearby. Not quite the sunbathing experience I'd hoped for and very different from the surrounding hotels, which offer private and public areas and shaded and unshaded sections.

2. The free breakfast is disappointing: just one or two kinds of fruit and various stale bread products. Not a reason to book this over other hotels. We ended up eating elsewhere almost every day.

3. This is a small complaint, but all of the free toiletries, from handsoap to shampoo/conditioner contain a ton of menthol. They really irritated my skin, especially after hours in the sun/sand.

4. No screens on the windows/doors in our room meant we had to sit inside with the air conditioner on to avoid bugs. This wasn't a huge problem, but seemed unnecessary considering the cool seabreeze and the large balcony.

Service:

1. The hotel is connected to one specific tour operator and tries hard to push its services. It's clear they are out for their commission and not necessarily to please their guests. As an example, when we asked to go night snorkeling, we were told this was not an option and were pressured into booking a day snorkel trip instead. Later, we found out that most other tour companies do offer nighttime snorkeling. There were signs everywhere a bit further down the beach, but since we had recently arrived we didn't know this yet. However, Mata Rocks would not allow us to cancel the day trip since they would presumably lose their cut. We were angry since we only had a few days on the island and wanted to do some other activities as well. The whole thing felt a bit dishonest to us.

2. Although we booked under the "honeymoon special" featured on their website, we were not given a suite as promised under this deal. Instead, we were in one of the regular, more cramped rooms. Considering we booked specifically in order to have a suite, this was disappointing.

3. I found the staff average: not overly friendly, but willing to help if asked. To be honest, I didn't feel particularly welcomed, but neither were they hostile. They mostly ignored us.

All in all, it was a fine trip and a reasonable place to stay, but not really recommended when there are so many more competitive, nicer places nearby in similar price ranges.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel was perfect for our needs as we were only staying on the island for a few days. Upon arrival we received a free rum punch from the bar and they arranged a last minute snorkeling trip for us as well. The hotel's beachfront is great for a little dip in the water, although there is quite a bit of sea grass so you really can't do much swimming. The rooms were nicely equipped with a mini fridge and an a/c that pumped out freezing cold air (great after spending the day in the heat!) We booked a room with a balcony, which was worth the extra cost because the nights get cool enough to sit outside and enjoy the ocean breeze. The only negative about this hotel is the location. It's about a 15 minute walk into the main town area of San Pedro, however the hotel can arrange transportation to and from the water taxi if needed.
*Tip - try the Hidden Treasure restaurant just a few minutes walk away. Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleonjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#40 of 54 in San Pedro
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing