We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This a fun clean resort. We will be back.”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
marlow
1 review
“This a fun clean resort. We will be back.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Everyone is very friendly and fun. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent value. San Pedro is a great vacation spot. Don't be afraid of street vendors or food. Good water. Great place. We will be back again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susielolajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    148
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
217
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

mata rocks resort was exactly what I wanted. people friendly but you could do your own thing. staff friendly and helpful. the weeks I was there the guests all got along great. chatting over breakfast, sharing tales of the day, meeting for drinks. you could go your own way too. the resort is small enough to get to know folks but the staff will help you with anything. loved the bikes but golf cart for night

Room Tip: all ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nina6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
434 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here and loved every minute of it. We enjoyed every moment of our stay from the entrance, which included two complimentary rum punches (panty-ripper). There are bikes to use, also included that you will need to get into town. It is a 15 minute ride by bike or a 5 minute cab ride for 5USD. During the day, ride the bikes, at night you will definitely want to call for a cab. The front desk is more than willing to assist you with any of your travel needs. They assisted us with the shark ray alley tour (must do), calling a cab, bike use, and even phone use when I discovered that someone back home had been using my Debit Card to raid my checking account. The bar is nice as is the Continental breakfast offered free in the morning. The rooms were spacious and clean, poolside suites come with a kitchen, and pool and deck areas are clean, bright and inviting. Chairs and palapas are offered for guest use near the private beach. At night, it is completely safe on the beach side. Kind of remote on the road and very dark so we stayed close to home. We loved the service and grounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We really liked Mata Rocks, where we stayed for the second half of our honeymoon. Granted, we had come from 4 days inland--where we stayed in much more rustic accommodations--but were really happy with our stay over the next 4 nights. We loved our balcony and ocean view. The AC worked like a dream and was refreshing! The bed was comfy and the housekeeping was perfect. We also appreciated the programmable safe which helped us feel secure leaving valuables in our room. Of course, the bar and pool were fun too! I did a good amount of research prior to choosing this hotel and felt like it was the best deal for the amenities we cared about. We rented a golf cart for a few days which made exploring the island an adventure. I do agree with some other reviewers that the continental breakfast is kind of worthless. I could have made do with it (and some yogurt I purchased) for breakfast, but hubby needed more protein--but who cares when there are tons of good places to eat? The staff were helpful and kind to us. People complaining about poor swimming from the beach are making an unfair criticism. There really isn't good beach swimming ANYWHERE on the island because of the sea grass. It is not the fault of the hotel. Like many other establishments, staff keep the beach clean and are generally maintaining a tidy place. We recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbdehamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Mata Rocks as the first place in Belize. We were very much looking forward to the trip and we celebrating my cancer remission after a long year of treatment. We we're as than impressed with the place. We actually left after 2 nights and went to stay at Belizean shores which was much much better. We were unable to get a refund for the last 2 nights and we very upset about this and none of the staff were able to help us. We will never go back, there are so many other nice places to stay in San Pedro.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VW1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is OK and has some cool things about it, like a very nice hotel bar with friendly staff. The rooms are small, but you are not spending time in them because you are out having fun in San Pedro! The free bicycles are a nice touch, but test them out as some don't work well. The beach area is very small. The breakfast is all right and basic but good quality and served early. The location is pretty much as far south as you can go, so its a bit of a trek out there. The hotel can set you up with local companies that can take you out to see local sites, which is easy to set up and a lot of fun! There is a small pool, but it is just for cooling off and not for swimming. So, overall this small hotel is decent but maybe not the best!!!

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are nice if you like to hear the waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Makali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in San Ignacio at Table Rock for 3 days to see all the jungle sights, then booked Mata Rocks for our beach stay since we had been there 5 years ago and loved it! I had requested a queen size room, since the last time we had been in 1 with 2 doubles and they surprised us with a 2nd floor suite! It was really nice with the balcony and the full kitchen, like a little apartment-I could imagine living there no problem, especially with that view! The ceilings are very tall on the second floor, and the A/C is high on the wall-with a remote control. We had a nice TV, couch, and a shower stall bath. The bed was really comfortable. This room would be really great for a week's stay and you could cook breakfast-too many great restaurants to cook lunch or dinner! We had the continental breakfast at the resort and then went to our favorite restaurants at night! It was nice to hang out with Sherilyn and Griselda at the bar again. There was a large family group there and most of the excursions filled up fast, so we didn't get to go snorkling this time except our in front of the resort-they are making an artificial reef there now with sandbags, but there is not much to see-be sure to book the snorkel trips as soon as you get there. We did them last time and they are all great! We got a golf cart 1 day (Sherilyn had to teach us how to drive it) and went to the south end of the island, which is beautiful. Robyn's Chicken wasn't open when we went by a couple of times, I think because it was on the weekend and they were working on the cobblestone road. The bridge was closed for repairs to the north side of the island, but we had fun tooling around San Pedro and eating. We forgot to get our welcome drinks, so they made them goodbye drinks. The beach and pool were wonderful, no trouble getting loungers or drinks! It was over far too quickly but we had a great time once again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the beach because of the angles of the building. I think ours was S2-kind of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#26 of 54 in San Pedro
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#41 of 54 in San Pedro
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing