We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice on Ambergris”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at Mata Rocks for 4 nights in July. Rooms are very nice.....we stayed in a regular room, not a suite. Refrig, Microwave, TV with Cable, Coffee Maker. Pretty low water pressure was about the only room complaint I could think of. The property is very nice. Note that it is a mile to town....they have free bikes to borrow but we usually walked into town for dinner. It was a nice 30 minute stroll to start and finish the night.
The beach bar is really cool. Some locals would stop by as well which made it all the better. Staff were efficient and friendly. It is a small place, but that was what we wanted.
Tours can be book right at the desk or bar and while it may have cost a few bucks more than in town, it was so easy that it was worth the slight premium. Boats pull right up at the Mata Rock dock to pick you up! Highly recommend the all-day cat trip with a bbq lunch with the resort's tour provider....Searious. For 65 US is was a bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AUGradAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2008

After our planned three-night stay at Mata Rocks we left for another Island destination. But after one night away decided that Mata Rocks was so much better we returned for an additional night. The facility is exceptionally clean, well kept, and beautiful. It sits just a few yards off of the Caribbean shore and you can see the Ocean water from every room. The ocean water is just a few steps further than the pool and the handy bar is always staffed by helpful, knowledgeable hotel employees. In fact the bar functions like a second front office.

Any time we needed a taxi Mata Rocks arranged for it and covered the costs. It made us very happy to tip everyone concerned! We were traveling with our two teenage boys (15 and 17) and they had their own room, much to their delight... and ours! We all felt safe, as their was always staff unobtrusively present and a security guard on duty at night.

The rooms were nice, if not a a slight bit small. But who needs a large room when you would rather be outside anyway? The air conditioners brought the nighttime temperature down to within sleeping range for those who are used to a cooler climate. The in-room safe was easy to use and convenient.

Some may wish the location was more central to San Pedro, but we liked the ten to fifteen minute walk on the beach that it often took to get to some of the eating establishments. (We liked Sand Bar, Blue Waters, Elvi's, Wild Mangoes, and George's Kitchen) We could have rented a golf cart or used the free bicycles that Mata Rocks provided. We, in fact, did use the bikes on two occasions and it was so easy that we would have done more of that had we thought of it sooner. Amazing how much easier it is to get places on a bike!

Mata Rocks schedules any of the tours and they know the ropes, so it is real easy for them to do so. They arranged the Water Taxi's for us and the snorkeling trip we took. The arrangements worked well and the snorkeling trip! Wow! The whole family put it high on the list of the best things to do in Belize!

If we were scheduling a second trip to Belize we would, without doubt, go back to Mata Rocks. It was beautiful! We even recommended it to some travelers we met in Belize and they changed their plans, went there, and liked it very much!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 4adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

This was the first trip for my husband and I to Belize. I picked Mata Rocks Resort based on other TripAdvisor reviews. We stayed for 7 nights. We were actually there the first day of hurricane season and experienced Tropical Storm Arthur. It was a truly scary night but we were comforted right away the next morning by the owner. He immediately made sure all of us were okay and his staff was on the spot making sure we were taken care of as far as any room problems since some took on water. I was extremely happy with how things were handled! In addition the hotel is small enough that were were able to become quite close to the other guests staying there making it an even more enjoyable trip! Overall the hotel was beautiful, staff is very friendly, awesome bar and awesome location!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dluterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at Mata Rocks for our Honeymoon in February 2008. We had a wonderful time. We arrived at Ambergris Caye after spending a week in San Ignacio in Belize. After all the running around in the jungle, we were ready to relax, and Mata Rocks didn't disappoint us. We had a lovely time snorkeling, laying around on the beach, and touring town. The best part of our stay at Mata Rocks was the people we met, especially as we sat at the beach bar each night. We definately have a lot of good memories from our stay at Mata Rocks. Our hotel room was clean and had all the ammenities we needed, plus more.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EAGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

We stayed at Mata Rocks last Apr (of 07) on our 7th trip back to Belize. Our rooms were lovely and so was this teeny little resort. We actually quite enjoyed the size as it was easy to meet people and relax at the same time.

The downside-the manager of the resort took a liking to us (us and another couple that we came with) and came to meet us at a bar we were also meeting more friends (not staying at Mata Rocks) at. The manager of Mata Rocks-we are guessing he had too much to drink-actually got in the face of another friend (a female) in an attempt to fight? her and called her one of the worst names you could ever call a female. We actually had to step in and intervene. So awkward and stupid.

Next we got to meet the owners. Wow-she was nice-(that was a joke). When she wasn't giving us the evil eye-she actually had the nerve to sit up at the bar and "whisper" about us. This was one of the most ridicules situations I have ever seen. We wont be back-which is a shame because the resort (minus the staff) was so lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank korileighb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Mata Rocks is a smaller, but simple and beautiful resort. I love how the whole resort is painted white - it looks so clean and fresh! Our room was wonderful. We had a 2nd floor beachview room with our own balcony that overlooked the pool, the beach bar, and the ocean.

Because it's a smaller resort, there was an intimate feel to the place. We had a wonderful time meeting other guests and spending time at the beach bar. It was very comfortable...especially with two hammocks on their beach! And it never got too crowded.

A nice touch was that Mata Rocks offers complimentary use of their bicycles to their guests, which we found to be a more appealing mode of transportation than the expensive (and annoying) golf carts.

As far as location goes, it's a good distance away from the hustle and bustle of the town area. It's about a 5 to 10 minute bike ride away. And there are $5 (or $10 BZ) taxis available anywhere at almost anytime. So for us, we felt that the location was pretty good.

The staff was very accommodating. We had no problems at all with reservations or bills...it was a very stress-free stay at Mata Rocks! Again...Mata Rocks Rocks!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank honeyhamsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We spent a very happy four nights here: Mata Rocks is a great retreat. I am a picky customer, but this hotel really impressed me. It is close enough to San Pedro to walk into town--as long as you don't mind a 15-20 minute walk. [Note: walk along the beach so you don't have to endure the fumes from the golf carts!] The hotel is simple, striking, and all-white, sort of reminiscent of the iconic white houses on Greek islands. We stayed in room S1, a suite on the second floor. All the rooms have fantastic ocean views, but I think staying on the second floor is worthwhile because you have more privacy and aren't at the pool level.

We didn't need AC, just left the doors open to get the delightful ocean breezes. The room was simple, clean, and non-froufrou. It was so nice to stay here after having been in the (somewhat oppressive) buggy jungle!

Management was great--when we checked in, we got a complimentary fruity beverage and Dan told us about the hotel amenities. The Squirrel's Nest bar was friendly and fun.

We borrowed hotel bikes one day and rode around the island. Got really saddle sore because the unpaved roads can be bumpy, but it was fun.

We snorkeled at Hol Chan and Mexico Rocks, highly recommended!

My only gripe with this hotel is that I ran out of sunblock and bought a generic brand there--it didn't work and our backs got FRIED while snorkeling. Otherwise--highly recommended! I was so glad I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#41 of 53 in San Pedro
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
468 reviews
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £85 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing