We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small oasis of calm near San Pedro hubbub”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Small oasis of calm near San Pedro hubbub”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd stay at Mata Rocks, this is small, friendly, well run hotel perched on the beach, 25mins walk away from San Pedro. Breakfast served at the poolside bar-fruit/toast/sweet rolls with coffee and juice.
We had suite1-upstairs-great view, large room, newly refurbished bathroom and huge bed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBabs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    148
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
217
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and toddler stayed here in Feb/Mar 2013 and loved the place. Great staff, very clean, beach was ok, pool was good. We booked late so didn't have too many other options for a 17-day stay so were very pleased with what we got in spite of booking late. It's a good 4 star IMO. Try a new restaurant each night in San Pedro town, until you find one that compels you to come back for more.

Room Tip: ground level worked well for us as we could easily jump in the pool any time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Let me start by getting the bad stuff out of the way. The bathroom was tiny, low water pressure, there were ants from time to time, and the ceiling fan made lots of noise.
Okay, now that I got that out of the way, let me start again by saying that the Mata Rocks is a simply fantastic place and I can NOT wait to go back to Belize. I will not hesitate at all to book at Mata Rocks again. The issue of the ceiling fan was fixed withing 10 minutes of bringing it to the staffs attention. The ants were taken care of daily during cleaning, and were not much of an issue in the first place. The girls at the bar were simply outstanding, and made us not only feel welcome, but feel like family. Best pina colada on the island! All of the staff were extremely friendly, in a very genuine way. All of the rooms have a view of the pool and ocean, and the sunrise from our room was amazing. The staff are happy to help you with anything you need, from booking a massage, to ordering you a pizza. (They have no restaurant on the property, but can order you anything you wish, plus, Divino's next door is awesome) The beds were comfy and clean and I had no issues sleeping, except for one thing... the wind, even when gentle, sounds from inside the room like a hurricane is blowing. I don't know if that is in all the rooms, but it sure sounded horrible from room 8. If you are going to San Pedro expecting miles of sandy beaches, you will be disappointed, however, the lil beach in front of Mata Rocks, with its sun chairs and hammocks, do offer a slice of paradise. A great place to relax under a palm tree with a rum cocktail. The pool/beachside bar attracts hotel guests and expats from all over the island. A testament to the quality of the staff and the cocktails. A short walk down the beach, and you are right in town. Or, borrow a bike (free), or rent a golf cart from the front desk and explore the island. In summary, the staff and service at Mata Rocks make this place special. The rooms themselves, while clean, are nothing to write home about, but who spends holidays in their rooms??? I, and all the other guests we met, could not say enough good things about this hotel. Feel free to write me if you have any questions, as I would love to recommend the hotel, and other San Pedro businesses to anyone.

Room Tip: They all have an ocean view, but I would try a suite on the upper level next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pandrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband & I just got back from an 8 night stay at Mata Rocks. We loved the hotel, staff & other guests! Very friendly place, reasonably priced & quiet. About 25 minute walk from the center of town, but you can borrow bikes or rent golf carts if you're in a hurry. Happy hour at the beach bar was one of our favorite parts of our trip - a great opportunity to meet other guests from around the world. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 6, an oceanfront unit with a kitchen, lots of privacy and fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajm616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Wonderful small hotel! The rooms are all ocean view. We had a suite that overlooked the pool and the ocean. The room was a nice size with a huge shower, king bed, table/chairs, and a pull out sofa. Housekeeping did a fantastic job of keeping the room clean (even washing, drying, and putting our dishes away)! Sherlynn at Squirrels Nest was fun to talk with and loved to tell us about the different places to go, plus she made a fantastic dirty banana and mata colada! It was fun meeting everyone that stayed at Mata Rocks. People from other hotels and locals would also stop in for a drink. The Squirrels Nest is a great place to hang out! The beach area is nice. We would set up our area on the beach at breakfast every morning and stay on the beach all day when we weren't out on an excursion. There are plenty of trees and palapas for shade and the lounge chairs are very comfortable. There is also a dock where the excursion boats pick up. Nice to not have to drive or walk with gear! The hotel is in a nice area where the grocery store and bakery are a 5 minute walk up the beach. Robin's across the street has exceptional jerk chicken for $6 per person. A 20 minute walk up the beach to San Pedro and plenty of restaurants and shopping. Rent a golf cart for the day and explore the island (8 hrs. for $40 US). The Palapa Bar was fun! Met some nice people and had good food and drinks. A nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a suite is worth the price. Much more room and we used the kitchette a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Three of us went to Belize this year instead of Hawaii. We may never go back to Hawaii again. The staff at Mata rock were [are] fantastic! They can set up any activity you want to do just by asking. The squirrels nest is a great place to have continental breakfast or closeout the day. Mata Rocks was a good "home base" to travel within Belize from. San Pedro has so many great restaurants! Thanks to Sherlynn, Erma and Krisscellda for all the help, hospitality, wisdom and entertainment! We miss you! My only warning: Bring bug spray and use it!!! It was a little wetter this year than normal for a January. The no-see-ems left the worst bites. Anyway the staff and the rooms were great! There are safes in the room and security patrols the grounds at night. One of the best restaurants is right across the street, Robins. Open in the evenings every day except Fridays. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just got back. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. One mile south of louder San Pedro, easy walk along the beach to get there. Taxis to and from airport taken care of by front desk. Tidy, continuously kept (paint quickly refreshed while we were there). Ocean view suite had the king bed, air conditioning and gorgeous view I was looking for. By the way, ocean view meant ocean view NOT a glimpse out of the corner of my eye as I have experienced at other resorts. Pool is the size of a teacup but that is not my thing. Lovely beach suitable to the size of this resort. Staff welcoming and helpful. Have been raving about Belize and this resort since I returned.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 1 with a view my friends envied, ocean, palms, beach. Absolutely unobstructed onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing