We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matarocks was what we expected”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Matarocks was what we expected. I had done my research online prior to booking. We were looking for a clean inexpensive room. We usually do not 'upgrade' to ocean view but it was only $10 more per night to get the second floor with the balcony so we did it and it was nice. I was also prepared for the beach 'situation'. It is not just Matarocks, it is everywhere along the ocean with a slight exception with Ramon's. Matarocks does just as good a job as anyone cleaning the beach- I feel bad for the guys who are cleaning it because it is such an endless job. It seemed like they cleaned the beach twice a day.

The room was clean and small but that is what we were looking for although it did not have a dresser (not that we had a ton of clothes but a couple of drawers would have been nice).

The staff (which mainly consists of a bartender/ manager/ trip booker/ concierge/ etc was very helpful and went out of there way to help if you needed anything. They would help with restaurant recommendations as well. I would stay there again but the only thing that would have been nice would to be a little closer to town. My wife and I certainly don't mind getting excercise (we prefer to walk or bike instead of a cab). It's not a bad walk into town, but if we went into town for breakfast, walk around for a bit, head back to the hotel for an hour or two, it didn't make sense to get right back on the bikes and ride into town again for lunch. There are restaurants close by but we like to sample different places.

If we return to the island we might check out 'Changes in Lattitudes' a small bed and breakfast on the beach and it sounded like rooms were about $100 per night. It is about a 2-5 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snorkeler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2006

We got married at the Mata Rocks Resort almost a year ago (time flies!!!) and had a great experience, however, I do have a few criticisms.

Room:
Our room was okay, nothing to write home about, but it was clean and there was air conditioning. I'm not sure what was going on with the bathrooms, but there was a distinct odor from the water when we used the shower or toliet. This might be an island wide problem though.
Before booking, I would call the resort and ask them for the best room view. I think it is Suite 3, but check before you book. The suite isn't really much more than a standard room exept it has a mini kitchen in it.

Beach:
Not to sound like a whiner here, but the beach was not that great. I was told that because of the reef the shells do not really wash up on the sand. I was hoping to collect more shells. There also was a HUGE amount of seaweed on the beach. A problem that is apparent along the island and it wasn't the kind of beach I was picturing.

Breakfast:
When we were there in Feb 2006, the "breakfast" wasn't very impressive. We had rolls (that looked and tasted like hot dog buns with sprinkles on top) , toast, some fruit and juice. If you're a big breakfast eater, don't rely on this as your meal. It's more of a snack. There are however, some great breakfast places just down the beach at the restaurants. I think it was Rauls, they have an outdoor patio that is gorgeous to eat breakfast on.

The wedding itself was a great experience. It was a day that we will never forget. If you are the type that needs to be in control of everything for your wedding, then this is not the place for you. We basically just had to show up and they took care of everything for us. The food buffett that the hotel arranged for us after our wedding was really good. It was the local food, so it is not Americanized.

I would recommend eating at Rauls and Fidos. I would also recommend taking a snorkeling trip and the day trip to Lamani, the Mayan ruins.

Thanks to Mata Rocks for a great wedding!

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belizebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Belize is an amazing country. We found Mata Rocks Resort by searching the internet. It was a very quiet week, in fact we were the only ones there the first few days. The staff is awesome - Rebecca, Grisselda, Mel, and Elda. They go out of their way to help you out by arranging tours, local info, bikes, golf carts, etc. We had a beach view jr. suite and asked to be moved to a beach front since we were the only ones there. We were surprised that even though no one else was there, we had to pay an upgrade. Oh well. The room was very clean and comfortable. There is an odor of sewer that wafts by, but that was most everywhere. Not a big deal. The pool is small but clean. Don't let the "continental breakfast" fool you - it is toast and a few pieces of fruit and coffee. If you have a big eater with you, they won't fill up on this. Beach is small but nice, bikes are rusty but work well. Drinks are major expensive, so buy your own at the supermarket down the street. Stay away from tbe big supermarket in town (it is pink and carries all American brands) they charge at least double what the little local places do. Find Anjolitas (not sure of the spelling) restaurant which is just a couple blocks away. Great food and amazingly low prices.

The owners were very helpful before our arrival (emails, etc) but not real friendly once we arrived. Kind of a dissapointment. We ended up buying a time share at Captain Morgan's while we were there so we moved and spent the last few nights at the new place.

We will be back on a regular basis!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmhmsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

I did a lot of research before going to Mata Rocks. We were very happy there. It is nice, clean and small. Close enough yet far enough away from the main strip. We stayed in a junior suite and a regular room. Both rooms were very nice. Pool closes very early as do many in the area. Only downer was the bartender. Most island bartenders are cartoonishly upbeat, warm, happy and inviting. Their bartender never smiled, rarely mumbled a "you're welcome" and barely would acknowledge our order - even when we were the only ones at the bar. It was so bad that we found ourselves being extra polite and repeating our request thinking she had not heard us. By the second day we just walked to other bars on the beach to avoid her negativity. They can arrange most tours but next door at the Banana Beach one can get a better rate on golf cart rentals. We would stay there again despite the bizarrely depressed downtrodden bartender.

6  Thank Bentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We loved this place! It had a great location and we watched dolphins and frigate birds from our beach chairs as we had breakfast. The weather can be iffy in July but hey, it is the tropics and if it never rained the place would look like a desert. Walking to dinner along the beach (Mata Rocks has no restaurant) or to one of the two nearby groceries (the suites have nice kitchenettes) is no problem. Tours for diving, fishing, or the mainland Mayan ruins pick you up right at the Mata Rocks dock. Sunrise (before 6 AM) is spectacular.

The rooms were super clean and comfortable. One thing to remember is that a suite here is not much more than a single large double room with a kitchenette and sleeper sofa. If you were going to share the suite and expect privacy then you'd be better off getting two rooms.

OK the beach had seaweed and it was a problem due to high winds in July, but hey IT'S THE OCEAN FOLKS!!! As they say, seaweed happens! It was never a big problem for us and it didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves. The pool is small but perfect for cooling off (not advised for doing laps) and the bar is a three meter walk away (can you say Margaritaville!!).

Bottom line? Great value for a clean nice place. Not for the "all inclusive" crowd, but then again. Neither are we. Honestly, we didn't see a hotel where we'd rather stay, so expect us back.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mafarmerga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

We just returned from a 5 day stay at Mata Rocks. Here is a brief summary of our stay:
1. The beach and the water had an incredible amount seagrass. You could not walk into the water unless you didn't mind a putrid, smelly soup of rotting seagrass. The smell was so bad we had to close our room windows and sit on another beach. we did not feel the management did enough about the problem until our fourth day there when they hired an outside company to remove it.
2. The rooms were very nice.
3. The bikes were great, but they lock them up at around 5:00 and won't let you take them into town after that time.
4. The pool was just o.k.

5  Thank CharlieMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle Wash.
12
Reviewed 13 July 2006

I have wanted this trip forever. Erica and the staff were fantanstic. Sorry for the abundent display of affection but I was truly in paradice. I plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 55 in San Pedro
836 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 55 in San Pedro
157 reviews
2 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 55 in San Pedro
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 55 in San Pedro
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#42 of 55 in San Pedro
259 reviews
0 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#38 of 55 in San Pedro
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £118 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing