We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We moved to Ramons after staying one night at the awful Julia gardens. friendly staff, decent food, really nice room. Should have tvs in rooms though as not much to do when it rains torrentially for 48 hours!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildfroufrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! It sounds like you got a little taste of the tropics! The rain is refreshing, but certainly makes us appreciate the sunshine even more upon its return! We do have rooms with TVs and DVD players (with DVDs available), which are sometimes preferred by families with children, but the majority of our guests appreciate the fact that the closest TV is in the Purple Parrot. This escape from "the real world" contributes to the overall attempt at making sure you have a totally relaxing experience in paradise. We sure hope you did - come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just returned from 1 week at Ramon's Village and our first trip to Belize. We've been to many resorts in tropical locations and this one is up there on the very top. It was really our type of resort. Intimate, friendly, personal and very well manicured and the palapa style is very quaint. We had a beachfront room with a great view about 50 feet from the ocean. Very friendly and efficient staff. They treated you like they were really honored to have you there. Food at the resort was very good and reasonably priced, for somebody used to S California. Walking distance to town was also a BIG plus for us. We never needed to take a taxi to anything and felt completely safe walking beach or streets day or night. Only negative was a BIG shortage of lounge chairs on the beach. I only counted 30. For a hotel with 70 rooms that's not nearly enough. When I started setting the alarm for 7:30 am and head out to the beach right away I managed to snag a couple of chairs. Also, bevare of the mosquitos, bring your OFF.

Room Tip: Getting a beachfront room is well worth it, the view is fantastic and gives you an alternative to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

We're so happy that you discovered Belize... and Ramon's! Thank you for appreciating our tropical style and believe me, we truly were honored by having you as our guests. Yes, we are blessed with the perfect location - a nice stroll on the beach gets you to town - no need for ground transportation or a water taxi. Yet, Ramon's feels private and secluded. Since your visit, we have added more lounge chairs to the beach. Because of the lounge chairs around the pool and the number of guests who go out diving with us each day, we usually have ample beach chairs available for those who opt to enjoy the beach and the beautiful Caribbean. But, that was obviously not the case while you were there. We apologize that you had to get up early to snag yours - we hope it was worth it! :-) Thank you for coming and we hope to see you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After reading reviews here I booked a beachfront guesthouse suite at Ramon's and was very pleased with the room and amenities. Ramon's had the best beachfront area to hang around in the entire stretch of beach in that area. They also had beachfront massages and the restaurant had good food, I recommend the Pineapple Boat dish, very tasty. We went snorkeling with them as well and it was a lot of fun. They give equipment for snorkeling ad diving for rentals as well. My only complaint was that we were very close to the bar and had to deal with noises late in the night both from the bar and music. I suggest asking for rooms away from the bar and pool if you are a light sleeper.

It was wonderful waking up to sounds of birds, I even heard an owl at night, and saw an Iguana in one corner of this place. Ramon's is well located and if you walk along the beach in 20 mins you can reach the town center where people lay out their wares (jewelry, etc.) for sale. Our balcony had two rocking chairs, the beach had hammocks and places to lay around and get tanned. Overall a great place for relaxing with a nice beachfront area.

Room Tip: Away from the noisy bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newyorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments on Ramon's Village Resort, the Beach Spa, Pineapples restaurant and Ramon's Village Divers. I wholeheartedly agree with your recommendation for the Pineapple Boat entree - my personal favorite! Being able to hear sounds is one of the magical characteristics of a thatch roof - the sound of the birds singing, as you mentioned, the waves crashing against the reef and the wind rustling through the palm fronds...and those noisy humans having fun! We're very sorry you were bothered. With the exception of holiday parties, the Purple Parrot stops the music and closes fairly early out of respect for our guests. Please come back soon and we will make sure you get a room "upwind" that will be extremely peaceful and quiet! We're looking forward to your next visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Ramon's is good if you are looking for a nice, family friendly destination. It includes many of the resort-style amenities that Americans would feel safe and comfortable with.

On the other hand, it is VERY targeted towards American tourists and almost too cheesy at times. If you're looking to disconnect from home, and are more interested in a true Belizeian/ Caribbean cultural experience, this is probably not the best place.

PROS:
- Great location, near downtown San Pedro. Easy walk to shops and restaurants
- Nice beachfront for swimming and snorkeling
- Great dive shop and divemasters on site. VERY easy to go diving at any time/day
- Great staff and service. Everyone is incredibly friendly and eager to help with any need
- Ideal for families with kids, and/or large groups

CONS:
- Not a quiet, romantic couples vacation scene. Lots of kids and running wild all over the property. Airport and street traffic can be heard from the street. Lots of public beach traffic and non-hotel guests crashing the swimming area each day
- Window curtains are very thin and don't block sunlight, so sleeping in is difficult. Also, the curtains don't completely close, leaving about a one-inch gap and making privacy impossible
- Shower was VERY small, temperature VERY inconsistent (from scalding to freezing in <2 sec), and pressure weak.
- Restaurant is way overpriced for the quality of food being served. There are many other places on the island with better food at cheaper prices.

Room Tip: Request the top floor if you stay in one of the 2-story cabanas. Walls are thin, and you can hear st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AcetomatoTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Although very close to town Ramons felt very secluded within the jungle atomosphere and great beach and pier. Our thatched hut room was garden view but we coud see the beach and ocean from our deck and window..not true for most garden views but we really liked it. The beach was one of the best we saw and we walked for miles each direction. The beach chairs were complimentary and included cocktail service if you wanted. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed returning home at night to the Purple Parrot bar, to reflect on our great day

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kokonut33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We just came back from our stay on the island. It was me, my wife, and our 3 kids (7,5, and 3). The thatched roof cabanas are super nice, spacious, and give you a really cool, tropical feel. We stayed in Room #2 which gave us a perfect view of the sea directly out of our front door. If we choose to sit on our private front porch, we had amazing views also. Fifteen steps away were the sun chairs and hammocks and 20 steps away was the sea itself.

This must be the safest, cleanest, and friendliest resort on the island. Our kids enjoyed swimming off the end of the pier and on the freshly and frequently raked beaches. We enjoyed creative breakfast cuisine reasonably priced on a few occasions. The pool was always clean and inviting, and the island beats were played at just the right volume in the bar to help make the normal grind of our daily lives disappear while we slurped down the tastiest margaritas we've ever drank (and we've drank a lot).

Ramon, the resorts General Manager, sat with us one morning for breakfast and gave us a great suggestion for dinner. We heeded his suggestion to go to the Hidden Treasure restaurant and were certainly glad we did! Best restaurant on the island hands down. In the island tradition of unselfishnes, Ramon's advice solidified our position of always staying at his resort when we vacation in the Cayes. It has every convenience you will need, the tropical ambiance of thatched roof cabanas, and the safety and security you expect if you travel with small children.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose room #2 for two double beds. Could easily be pushed together seamlessly to make one large be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BiffMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here with a large group of friends in January. Just getting into Trip Advisor, so forgive the late entry. My wife wasn't able to go, but I enjoyed Ramon's so much that we are planning an early 2013 trip there. They have the best beach on the island and all the chairs and hammocks to go with it. The pool is beautiful as well. Grab a drink and settle into one of the chairs on the large porch deck for some R&R. Great spot to get lost in a book and soak in the sea breeze.

There are cheaper options, but we felt like the extra expense was worth it. Location is good and you can literally walk here from the air strip. A golf cart ride is provided if you let them know when you're coming in.

Be sure to stop into a local store to stock your frig! A few drinks from the bar were great, but can get pricy for Belize.

An early morning coffee at the end of the pier will stay with you a long time as well.

Overall a good base for the island.

Room Tip: Save money and stay in a Garden room if you're on a budget. Everything is close to the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelerKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
815 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
889 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
871 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £117 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing