We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get back to Ramon's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It was love at first sight when we arrived at Ramon's Village: I've never stayed anywhere like it. The grounds are lush and amazing, and kept meticulously clean. There were employees out at dawn cleaning every inch of sand, walkway & beach of the entire resort, every single day. Our thatched hut bungalow was so much more fun and tropical than a standard hotel room. We called it our tree house :)

The pool is beautifully set among tropical plants and trees, with plenty of cushion lined chairs to find a spot to relax. The beach is dotted with palm trees, hammocks and cushioned lounge chairs that are cleaned and set out each morning.

The restaurant and bar area are under a huge covered area that gave the feeling of outdoors without dealing with the weather. The restaurant has three menus, breakfast, lunch and dinner, so we were able to enjoy a wonderful variety of meal options without leaving the grounds. The servers outdid themselves.

They did a great job of advising us about different excursions and handled all of the arrangements. We rode bikes all over San Pedro and beyond, and I did not see a resort I would prefer over Ramon's. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanceeedru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

And we can't wait for you to come back! There are different styles for different people and it sounds like Ramon's is just your style! It makes us happy that you took the time to note the little details about Ramon's that make us special. Thank you for noticing! (Not everyone is up at dawn to see the guys making the sand beautiful each day for our guests!) It takes a lot of dedicated and talented people a lot of hours to keep our little place picturesque. We'll tell them all you said they're doing a great job! THANK YOU so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at Ramons from March 23-30, 2012. I am a diver but partner is not. Dove 5 days, taking the middle day off to travel to the Mayan ruins at Altun Ha.

Dive Operation and Diving

Dive masters were excellent, especially Toriano and Erik. Always smiling and engaging in humorous banter with the divers on the boats. Some days we had only 2-3 divers, other days the boats were pretty packed with 12-13 divers. Small speed boats, but very efficiently run. Diving was fair, mostly due to reefs that are not all that colorful (probably due to the fact that the previous week, and some the week we were there, the winds were pretty strong). Viz was only fair, with a milkiness to the water (again, probably wind-induced). But also some pretty fabulous sightings sprinkled in (eagle rays, loggerhead and hawksbill turtles, a green moray slithering in and out of divers' BCs, etc.). The dive op was efficiently run. I dove Nitrox, and always had 3300-3400 PSI fills.

Resort

We were placed in room 32, a junior oceanfront suite on the beach. Very nice inside, with microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. A few glasses, cups, and silverware items, but that was about it. One relatively minor disappointment is that the view of the sea is interrupted by tall palm trees in front of the deck. So, it is a "partial-ocean view" at best. Still, pretty marvelous just the same. Just realize that "ocean-front" does not mean full ocean-view.

There is a pretty nice grocery store, and a REALLY nice wine store (Wine Devine), just across the street and down a few steps. We lucked into the Friday night wine tasting at the Wine Devine, and sampled excellent reds and whites. Met many American ex-pats and visitors there, made friends, and had a fabulous time. At the grocery we were able to stock up on snacks, cheese and crackers, deli meats, beer, a few toiletries, etc.

The resort is well run, with VERY friendly wait staff, bartenders, and other staff members. Ramon himself makes a point to table hop and play the host role every morning at breakfast (our package included breakfast). Rooms are cleaned daily, but be sure to put the "service room" door hang tag out or they will skip you. One downside to this particular room is that you are closest to the bar area, where both Friday night and Saturday night the noise was intense. The first night was due to a raucous crowd after 10:30 PM at a table just below us. However, when we went down to mention the problem, one of the waiters (Nelson) immediately came to the rescue, said that he"...would take care of it...," and he did. He moved the group into the bar area, and that did the trick. The next night was a different story! Between 11:00 and Midnight, the bartender turned up the stereo speakers in the bar to "Blast Your Ears Out" levels, and it was awful. Again, we went down to complain, and he pretty much just blew us off saying that the bar was closing at 12:30 and they would be turned down then. Not the answer that we wanted to hear. In fact, when the music was blasting there was NO ONE in the bar -- just the bartender in his closed cage counting the till! Every other night was blissfully quiet, so no complaints there!

Food

Had breakfast at Ramon's daily as part of our package. Food was OK, nothing remarkable. Sunday brunch was the best. Had one dinner, which was interesting as I ordered the "hot rock" cooking dinner and enjoyed that. There are many good restaurants in the area, all withing walking distance either on the beach or in San Pedro. We recommend Wild Mango, Elvies, The Patio, and the Bluewater Grill. All excellent choices!

Summary

The stay at Ramon's was really, really pleasant (except for the bar noise noted earlier, which thankfully was not a pattern). We would highly recommend it. Comfy lounge chairs at the nice pool, and on the beach. The staff really work hard to keep the grounds clean, including daily raking of turtle grass that had drifted onto the beach overnight. Accomodating and friendly staff, efficient dive operation, careful and competent dive masters who strive to make your diving trip enjoyable and fun-filled, and just a peaceful and relaxing ambience all around. That so many good places to shop and eat are in walking distance is a benefit (we never rented the golf carts, which I found surprisingly expensive to rent).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for the complimentary and very thorough review. It's unfortunate that your dive trip coincided with winds that clouded the water. Normally, the visibility and vivid color are incredible! That gives you an excuse to come back and give it another try. We appreciate the high marks you gave the Ramon's Village Divers Team and the rest of the staff at Ramon's Village. We're glad you enjoyed your dinner "On a Stone"! This is a Pineapple's exclusive menu item and a very memorable way to enjoy shrimp, chicken, steak or a combination of all three as you cook your own meal right at the table. Guests really enjoy hearing from their server how their Mayan ancestors also cooked "On a Stone." We appreciate your comment about the noise level. This will be addressed promptly so that it will not happen again and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused you. We thank you for your visit and hope there will be many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were upset after eating at Ramon's restaurant because their food menu was in BZE dollars and the drink menu, evidently, was in US dollars so we had to pay twice what we expected for our drinks. Very misleading and unfair.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for dining with us at Pineapples, our on-site restaurant. We apologize for the confusion with the currency, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We addressed this issue with the management of the Purple Parrot (where you purchased your drinks) and they told us they are currently in the process of changing their menu prices to Belize Dollars. Problem solved! Thank you again - please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Ramon's Village is owned by the founder of a religious group. I was surprised when I arrived to see their literature in the office and gift shop, so I happened to look at their information in the room on who owns the hotel, and discovered that Richard Headrick of Hellfighters International owns it. I would have liked to have known this before booking the hotel.

Also, the beds are extremely uncomfortable, and so is the air conditioning that blows on ones face throughout the night. (But was too hot to turn off.)

Room Tip: Choose a room where the air conditioner is not directly angled toward the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

We're very glad you stayed with us at Ramon's. Next time, we'll be happy to give you better instructions on how to control the air-conditioner vents so that you will be more comfortable. That was our fault, I'm sure. I find it interesting that you would choose a hotel based on the owner. So, for future guests, please allow me to tell a little about myself. Like most resort owners, I am an entrepreneur and Ramon's is not my primary business. I bought Ramon's Village back in 1986 because I thought it would be fun to own an island resort-I was right! I am a Christian, a philanthropist, an author, a filmmaker and the founder of multiple charitable foundations. My primary focus is offering help to and caring for the homeless and those with addictions. I regret that finding out these facts about me changed your opinion of such a beautiful place. But, hopefully you'll have a change of heart and come back again to Ramon's Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just returned from Ramon's Village march 24th after spending a week in paradise there. It was one of the most amazing vacations we have ever been on. The island of Ambergris Caye and the resort were both everything we hoped for and more. The beachfront cabanas are great. We were upstairs but it would have been better to on the ground floor because palm trees blocked view some. The shower temp is a little unpredictable but get use to it. The restaurant and bar both were excellent. I cant begin to say how wonderful the bartenders and waiters are. Their service is above and beyond. The beach is gorgeous and definitely nicest in the area. Dive shop very good. Snorkeling there is unbelievable. Mr. Ramon himself is one of the kindest, friendliest, most compassionate people we have ever met. He will always be in our hearts. Enormous thanks to him for all he did for us. Also huge thanks to Alex, jack, Ron, Kareem, Nelson, rummy, and all the others for making it an unforgettable trip and all the laughs. We will definitely return to his paradise. Town is fun and feel safe with lots of good food and friendly people. FANTASTIC!!!

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Judging from your comments, you made lots of new friends during your recent stay at Ramon's Village! It's because of wonderful folks like you that our staff enjoys coming to work each day. We thank you for your encouraging comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I rated this resort as low as I did due to the lack of customer service and lack of professional attitude by the dive shop. They are very unfriendly, annoyed and just dont care to help anyone out. Once under the water they are good about keeping track of individuals without a lot of hand holding but they took a new diver (dive #5) to 110 feet so he obviously ran out of air. The worst part is they did not send anyone up with him to ensure he did not have issues. And the dive master just watched him from 60 feet under the water, or so he says. That was my last dive with this resort. Safety is always first and the dive masters need to own the responsibility if someone is diving without a buddy and it is known before going under.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaymiller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Diving safety is our first and foremost concern and we take it very seriously. I would appreciate it very much if you would contact us with detailed information that would help us investigate and search for facts regarding the incident to which you refer. Please email our resort director at steve@ramons.com. We will certainly address this issue with our dive staff and we thank you in advance for your help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the Belizean Princess across the street which is owned by Ramon's. We went with another couple and loved it! Everyone there, especially Jose, the security guard on the beach and all the waiters, especially Jack were so friendly! We walked to town and down the beach to many awesome places to eat, listen to music and shop. We loved this place and wish we were back there now!

Room Tip: The Belizean princess was directly across the street and you still get to use everything they have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lstahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Yes, the Belizean Princess is the perfect solution for the traveler who wants all the amenities of a beach resort ... at a great price! We're glad you discovered our quaint little secret across the street from Ramon's Village. We hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#30 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 55 in San Pedro
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
507 reviews
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
914 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 55 in San Pedro
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £110 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing