We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly well-trained staff, great location, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I are staying at Ramon's for our honeymoon. We could not have asked for a better location. The hotel is on one of the best beaches in San Pedro with probably the best dive shop on the island. The on-site restaurant serves great local and international dishes all day. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable.
The honeymoon was going fantastic until our fourth day there when we victims of petty theft. We left our sneakers on the deck of our room to dry as we had gone cave tubbing the day before (a must do btw), after spending most of the day on the beach, my husband returned to the room and by the time he came back out, 2 pairs of sneakers and his flip flops were gone. Not sure what was worse, how swift the thief was or the security on site that failed to do their job. When we reported it to the lobby, they we nonchalant to the point of annoyance. While we understand that San Pedro epitomizes island life, we felt that when it came to our personal items being stolen more urgency was required in rectifying the situation.
We have two days left here and we are hoping that things take a turn for the better, as we would not our honeymoon to spoiled by the incident.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katsiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

This resort had everything. The service at the bar and front desk was great. The service in the restaurant was lacking. The bar and the restaurant are seperate checks and seperate servers, that was a little strange. The convenience of water activities was great.

Room Tip: We had beach front rooms which was fabulous to wake up and see the ocean. The ac units are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We came to Ambergris Caye for the diving. We had scheduled dives with Ramon's and with Aqua Scuba. At Ramon's we were scheduled to go to Hol Chan Marine Park but were put on a boat for Tacklebox. Another time we were told to leave our gear on a boat as we would be taking that boat out. Then they put us on another boat. We had to wait for our gear to come back from the first boat which had left to get gas. The staff did not communicate well. Sometimes the divemasters acted like you were an inconvenience to them. They did not greet you or introduce themselves. There were a couple of exceptions. One dive master Adolfo and one captain of the boat were very friendly. We thought we got the "cold shoulder" because we stayed at a different motel instead of at Ramon's. On the positive side, the dive sites were wonderful. Lots of sea life and clear water and Judy at the desk was very helpful. I think a little more communication and staff with better PR skills

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This island paridise may have a nice facade and setting but becareful. My wife and family went here on two seperate occasions during our visit to San Pedro. Our first was for dinner one evening. At dinner the first annoyance was the drink orders had to be handled by the bar servers (who were never around) and the food orders were taken by another server from the restaurant. The food and drinks were satisfactory, my frustration comes from the billing. The bar bill came first - nothing on the bill matched the prices on the menu we were provided. Then the food bill came and if you don't pay attention on some items they included a gratuity and some they did not. Next the bill comes to you in Belize dollars but the "tip" line is for USD. Great way to take more money from Gringo. Then later in the trip we returned to have drinks and sit by the pool. After an afternoon of drinks our server asked if he could close our tab because they were changing shifts. We agreed and he said it would be $73 Belize dollars but did not provide an itemized bill. I asked for the itemized bill from the server; with aphrehension the server walked to the bar and returned several minutes later with an itemized bill for $58 Belize dollars. When asked "Why the difference?" the server responded; "Since I was going to pay with cash they were going to give me a deal." - Right :-). Beauftiful place, but watch your wallet as they are the masters of the gringo scam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were very disappointed with Ramon's dive operations. The first day out the divemaster did not respect the fact that one in our party was a novice diver and put him seriously at risk. The dive master was more interested in hunting lionfish than in being a good dive master. Ramons was convenient for its proximity to our hotel, but we would never use them again especially after they lost a weight pouch for one of our b.c. We had to fight to get reimbursement for the lost equipment in spite of the fact that we dove with them for over two weeks. The only reason we stayed with them was because we changed divemasters and found the divemaster,Turiano, to be exceptional.

Room Tip: Choose someone else for diving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We thought Ranon's was a great beach resort with great staff, great location, and the nicest stretch of beach on the caye. We flew in on Maya airlines from Belize city. (They got us on an earlier flight than we reserved). I recommend them as well. Since we arrived early, the airline called Ramon's and they promptly sent their airport limo (golf cart) to pick us up. Check in was a breeze and they drove us right to our room which really all that far away, as all rooms are. Our room was a seaside room. One row back from the ocean view rooms. It was a nice beach bungalow. A little small, but very quaint. We could see the ocean from our room which was a nice bonus. House keeping was a little hit or miss. The staff was nice but didn't always restock the coffee or ice and water. Still a lot of sand left in the room after they were done as well. Hard to keep it all out on the beach I guess. The front desk staff was great. We had them make a few phone calls for us, check flight times, even order a pizza. The bar staff was attentive but not pushy with the drinks. The grounds crew did a great job of keeping the beach and landscaping neat and clean. One of, if not the nicest looking resorts on the caye. Our only issue was with the dive shop. We went on one dive and the dive master was rather rude. We are novices and had him check our gear before we got on the boat. When it came time to dive he told us our gear was put together wrong and laughed at us. That was kind of the reason we had him check before hand. Anyway we saw about three fish on the dive and a thousand rocks. Not what we thought Belize diving was going to be. We asked around during our stay and Ramon's has a lousy reputation for it's dive shop. They recommended Amigos del Mar. We took a snorkel trip with them and it was MUCH better. Our other dive shop issue was with the Romantic picnic they offer on their website. I was going to surprise my girlfriend with this trip and propose to her on the private island that they were to take us to at sunset. When I asked about this trip the receptionist knew nothing of it, the manager just said that we would get a boat ride and a cooler of ice for drinks and food which we had to supply even though the website said that the restaurant would provide lunch and drinks. He also said we had to back by 5:00pm which was at least an hour before sunset. So we bailed on that plan and chattered another private boat two days later. My issue wasn't really that they wouldn't do the trip, but why advertise it if nobody knows about it. Bottom line is I would highly recommend the resort, but plan your dives and excursions from a different vendor. There are tons of them within walking distance of Ramon's.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 4 wonderful, relaxing days at Ramon's. We flew to San Pedro from Orange Walk - new Tropic Air Service. The views, quiet atmosphere, great food, drinks and friendly service gave us the rest, rejuvination we were looking for. Don't miss a massage - deep tissue with Mary. I had a wonderful facial, also. The water is clear aquamarine. Food - great fare. Quick early morning walk along the beach to town. The gift shop is well stocked with reasonable prices. Thank you Jose, Joel, Oscar, Roy, Nelson, Kareem. Beach front room was comfortable. No TV in Room - Yes - We loved not having a TV to distract from the natural beauty just outside the door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavacancetoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#30 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 55 in San Pedro
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
507 reviews
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
914 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 55 in San Pedro
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £110 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing