We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramon's Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mata Rocks Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$221
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$419
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caye Casa(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$382
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
1,415 results
Traveller rating
896
348
99
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
348
99
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineappledive shopbelizean princesspurple parrotdive staffdive masterambergris cayegolf cartblue holethatched roofgreat divingbeachfront roomdive sitesin townfishdive vacationhoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,260 - 1,265 of 1,415 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We paid way too much for oceanfront rooms here. Had I known the quality - I would have just stayed at Holiday that is just as good for a much lesser pricetag and its oceanfront too. Dont waste your money.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

Ramon's initiallly reminded me of the approach to Fantasy Island. I almost expected little Tatoo to appear and welcome me. We had an adorable pink golfcart pick us up at the airport and take us 90 seconds to Ramon's check in. The reception staff is wonderful; the valets and the front desk staff. That's where the charm ended. The rooms are caught in a 1980's time warp. This is where Madonna comes in singing La Isla Bonita--well, the Isla isn't quite so bonita at Ramon's. The food at the restaurant could best be described as mediocre. We heard other guests lament of the meal plan. There are a number of good restaurants to choose from nearby--DON'T EAT AT RAMON'S. Our room was dark and smelly. When we complained to the manager, Ayner, he was dismissive and couldn't be bothered. He wasn't gracious to say the least. The security staff skulks around the property not knowing really what their role is. We saw a security guard chase off a local from "their" beach, which is supposed to be public. I felt the staff to be very distant and as if there was no management presence....certainly nothing to teach them good customer service skills. There are better options to choose from nearby. Still, Ramon's is centrally located, and that's about the ONLY thing going for this very dated "resort."

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank CammyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

A party of 4 stayed at Ramon's from May 15-20, 2008. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful, especially Oscar. My husband hurt his shoulder prior to us going and we thought we were going to have to cancel our trip. We went anyway. When we got to Ramon's, he was still in a lot of pain. Ramon's hooked us up with Master Lee, a chinese acupuncturists. He did incredible things to my husband. Master Lee fixed him so fast that he was able to go diving the next day. The people on the island are very nice. The food and drink was at Ramon's was excellent. At first I thought it was a little pricey, but after venturing in to town, the prices were the same. We have to remember it's an island and it costs more to bring goods there. I would recommend from the bar a Naked Parrot or The Pantyripper. The names speak for themselves. The diving was incredible and they had expert dive masters at the dive shop that take you out diving. We had fun driving around town in our rented golf cart. That's the main source of transportation. Overall I give Ramon's and Ambergris Caye a 10. Go there and fall in love with the island like we did!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Harley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

AWESOME! Much more than we expected! My husband and I just came back from a week at Ramon's and it was just perfect. We stayed in a beachfront cabana and it was wonderful.
You do need to take into consideration that it is an older resort. - rooms are quaint and very clean.
We used the AC the first night ( a bit noisy) so we just opened the windows and let the breeze in. The beach is great, has a bit of seaweed, but it is cleaned up everyday. We never heard noise from the airport, although the units closer to the street may be noiser.
Ramon's is very close to town, but far enough away so you don't get all the beach traffic. We did have breakfast at the resort and it was very good. Dinner menu is a little expensive. Suggest going to town to eat, restaurants were fabulous and not too expensive. We took a couple of snorkeling trips and did the cave tubing and the zoo - Ramon's took care of everything!
Grounds are beautiful and service was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a great place to relax, dive, snorkel or just enjoy the scenery - this is the place. Really don't understand the negative remarks, although I guess you can't please everyone!
We did not want to leave that beautiful island and are planning a trip back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJJJJJJJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

A group of 4, we stayed at Ramon's from April 1st to the 8th.
One of our travelling companions had just returned from Ramons the previous month and decided to return, having liked it so much.
We all had lovely beachfront suites. Directly facing the ocean.
The view was incredible, the sand pristine and the ocean beautiful, warm and clean.
Ramons has the best beach for swimming, as we did walk along the beach in both directions for quite a ways.

Yes, the food and drinks are more expensive at Ramons than some, with a limited menu, but the food was good. There are lots of places to eat and drink just a short walk down the beach.

Fidos was a fun bar to go to at night with a live band playing every night(not local music) Also, the Tackle Box was a good bar which did have a local live band playing. Get to know some locals and they will tell you which bar to go to on what night for the best entertainment. The Blue Water Grill for food was good.

We found the staff at Ramons very friendly. Some names that come to mind are Tony, Jacques, and Ramon himself. Many more whom I can't remember but deserve credit just the same. The rooms as well as the resort itself were kept very clean.

Tours:
Shark Ray Alley and Hol Chan Marine tour with the Ramons staff: This is a must do!! Reasonably priced as it is not too far away by boat. We had a few divers as well as snorkellers. The snorkelling was amazing, there were so many nurse sharks!! If you get a good guide (thanks to Lewis) it will make all the
difference in the world. Lewis held the nurse sharks as well as the rays and we got to touch them.
I have never seen so many rays!. You swim right over them.
Also we saw barracudas, sea turtles, so many different fish I don't know them all. We enjoyed this tour so much that we went twice, as it only takes a couple of hours and the snorkelling right at the hotel is not great. (Swimming was lovely but nothing much to see snorkelling)

Blue Hole with The Amigos Del Mar dive shop (in downtown San Pedro): If you are a diver or a snorkeller this is an absolute must do. If you can only do one diving trip this would be the one to do without question. (The Blue Hole is for experienced divers)
By boat from San Pedro it takes about 3 hours to get to the Blue Hole, we were lucky enough to go by helicopter. If you can, going by helicopter will give you a view of the Blue Hole that you would not see by boat-spectacular! We landed at the Lighthouse Reef atoll where the boat then picked us up and from there went to the Blue Hole(about a 10 minute boat ride)
The scuba diving and snorkelling here were absolutely amazing. It was a dream come true, you have to see it to believe it! We were in awe the whole time!
After the Blue Hole we went to Half Moon Caye to explore and walk around for a break between dives. Then it was diving and snorkelling at the Half Moon Caye wall. Wonderful experience again. We opted not to do the 3rd dive as we were a very small group and felt we had experienced and seen so much already.
Lunch and snacks were provided for us, which were excellent. Our 2 guides were very friendly and knowledgable.

Cave Tubing and Ziplining with Ian Andersons Cave Branch tours: Again we left Ambergris Caye by helicopter, another incredible birds eye view as you fly over the jungle and land beside the river at a jungle lodge in Caves Branch. From there a guide takes you by bus to the cave. We were there in dry season, so the water was low and not moving much so we had to do a lot of paddling and then walking while carrying our tubes. This was a very interesting tour, and the caves are incredible-never have we seen caves so huge and the stalactites were awesome!
We had lunch in one of the caves, which was interesting as all we had for light was our headlamps and we sat on the cave floor to eat!

The helicopter then picked us up again to go the short distance to the Ziplines. This was an exciting experience and we got to do some repelling as well as the ziplines.The guides were well trained and fun too! (I might add that both the cave tour and the ziplines do require you to be reasonably fit and aren't for anyone with walking difficulties.)

Travelling by helicopter from the Airport to Ambergris Caye as well as to our tours, was an incredible experience. We flew with Astrum helicopters and our pilot was the owner, Gustafo. Gustafo is an excellent pilot as well as a friendly, courteous gentleman. We enjoyed every minute of our tours with him. Also, we had the privelege of meeting (and dining) with his son Gustafo Jr. who is a great guy like his father. Hope to fly with them again soon!

We had a great time in Belize and would go back in a heartbeat. There is so much more to see and do!

We would also go back to Ramons and would not have a problem recommending it!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wildings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews