We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't swin in the sea and watch out for the USD Belize pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't swin in the sea and watch out for the USD Belize pricing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Ramons in Dec 2013 whilst the Hotel was under going repair from the fire. The staff were all very helpful given the lack of proper restaurant and full facilities. Mr Ramon or the owner even introduced himself to us. One issue we did have was we were bitten by Sea Lice when we went for a swim. No one told us not to swim in the sea and they even lent us goggles etc to do it. Sea lice are baby jellyfish and really a pain, two months later I still have the scares. If you do get bitten get some acid on them asap, lime juice, vinegar otherwise they will itch and drive you mad ! Actually I would not recommend anyone holiday here unless you want to go to the blue hole or go elsewhere. The island is pretty down market and expensive. A little slight of hand goes on when the bills are to be paid, are they in Belize $ or USD, prices in Belize but when you come to pay its USD i.e. 2x the price take care with this. The Hotel was clean and I think after the rennovations it will be great. However they need to quote all prices in either Belize or USD not mix them up.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the road, choose one by the sea, expect to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oscarwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    306
    88
    42
    22
See reviews for
224
529
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent a week at Ramon's Village, and loved every minute. I've never visited another place with a better, nicer, and more attentive staff. They were great! About 4 months ago over half of the place was destroyed by fire, but they have rebuilt it beautifully. When we arrived, we were told that our room had a leak - so for the night, they put us in a nicer room. The next day they sent folks to move our stuff for us - to another great room (in the part across the street where we were actually booked). Every day we were greeted with great smiles by staff who remembered our names and where we were from (not as creepy as it sounds as I write). The dive operation was also super well done. Our dive master, Turiano (who has been working there 32 years) was one of the best we've ever dived with. Judy and Rick in the dive shop were very helpful. Boats were clean, nice, and well organized.
Every year we try a different dive location, but because of Ramon's we are strongly considering returning to Belize next year. Even Ramon himself greeted us!

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad ones. The location across the street (Belizian Princess) is a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a bad experience at Ramon's over New's Years 2013-2014. The management came down from Laurel, Mississippi, and on New Years Day the owner, Richard Headrick, decided to end the sale of alcohol at the resort! One of the highlights from our previous stay was meeting up with people in the bar in the evening and telling stories and making new friends. Within a day, the bar was dead. By January 3rd, they were down to their last bottle of coconut rum. The staff was pissed. The guests were going elsewhere or bringing liquor from town back to their rooms. The guests were getting grumpy and the tension was growing. Finally by January 4th, Richard relented and allowed the sale of alcohol to resume. I was suspicious, so I asked Steve, one of the directors in Richards' posse what the long term plan was. Steve tried to weigh his words but did a very poor job. Steve's comment was "Richard's long-term goal is to have a place where guests can enjoy a drink at the bar - without alcohol." I looked Steve in the eye and told him I'd phone ahead before I'd ever consider coming back. It's a great place, provided the management doesn't try to force their narrow minded conservative values down your throat.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach are more quiet. The back of the property backs up to the main road through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TravelDude2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Ramon's in December 2013 in the cottages across the street (Belizean Princess) Overall the resort is beautiful, clean and has the best beach in San Pedro. The location is awesome since you are basically steps from the town center and you can walk everywhere. The cottages are clean, the rooms are spacious and pretty well kept but lack some basics such as table and chair and TV. Not that I planned on watching TV but for $155 per night; I would expect to have at least a table, chair and TV in the room. Other than that, no complaints. There is an airport directly behind the cottages so if you plan to sleep in on your vacation, this is not your place to stay. The planes start flying at around 6:30 a.m. and will wake you up.

The restaurant at Ramon's is practically on the beach and very good. We had breakfast and dinner there few times. The mixed drinks at the bar are also excellent and the staff will bring them to the beach for you.

We came to San Pedro to scuba dive and the dive shop at Ramon's was excellent. We took few local dives which are nice and only 10 minute ride by the boat. We also signed up for the Blue Hole/Lighthouse and Turneffee Atoll dives which were the highlights of our dive trip. If you plan on diving with Ramon's be sure to ask them in advance if they plan to do any of these all day trips because they are worth the extra cost. These are wall dives and beautiful. The dive shop has storage boxes where you can keep some of your equipment overnight but there is no storage for drying wetsuits so you will have to take them to your room and dry them on the porch. You are advised not to keep anything outside overnight so it can be a bit of a hassle drying your wetsuits in the room. Other than that, I must say that the dive shop is excellent, the staff there very helpful and the dives were fun and safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went to Ramon's Village as a group of 13 people to dive and enjoy San Pedro. The Hotel had a fire shortly after we booked and we decided to keep our reservation anyways as they assured us they would be able to accommodate us. They did a fantastic job!! Several of our group members got upgrades due to the availability of rooms which was wonderful!! The service was fantastic, the staff was friendly and made you feel at home right away!! The dive shop was close by and well equipped and the diving was great!! Due to construction and their completion date pressure, the construction started early and ended late which was pretty disruptive. However all in all we had a fantastic time and look forward to returning when the construction is complete to enjoy the full serenity of this location.

Room Tip: Ocean view by the dive shop have a beautiful view and very little foot traffic going by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKees Rocks, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

being beach lovers we checked out Ramon's for 4 days after being in the Jungle at du'plooy's in July of 2013, we thought we had enough of the Beach life,we actually talked of retirement in Belize and only talked Jungle, but we have mixed feeling's now. Prices are outstanding and there is everything in the palm of your hand, everything Church, diving,massages, much great food for eating out supermarkets, with in a stretch of a few miles. You can walk to the street and be fast and furious, or sit and hear a pin drop on another it is someplace special in that area you must find time

Room Tip: We heard of a fire at Ramon's but if they are booking go there. And make it a point to meet Ramo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We visited Ramon's from nov30th- dec. 12th. 2013. We did our research here on trip advisor, ahead of time and our choice of Ramon's payed off. Our stay was about two weeks before final completion of re-build, and even though it was only running at a fraction of its regular capability, I would still recommend it in a heartbeat. We had an awesome time from the minute we got picked up at tropic air in the golf cart.
The room was a little small but very clean and comfortable, and the bed was very comfy.
The restaurant was makeshift, but had awesome views of the water, great service, ( thx Jack, Edwin, Vidal, and Mark ) And the food was very delicious. Great job Chef Rommy and his team did in such a small and cramped makeshift kitchen.
The beach was great and lounge chairs were plentiful ( of course there were very few guests .)
We kinda missed having a beer on the beach, so the waiter told us about the local groc. store, we rented a golf cart and bought a bunch of beer, and problem solved.
The dive shop staff were great and friendly. I always felt comfortable and safe while diving with both Turiano, and Ernest. We even got lucky and saw two dolphins, while diving, one of which wanted to play.
We also did a day trip to the mayan ruins ( Lamanai ) which was well worth it, It was not only educational but also alot of fun as they combine it with a riverboat tour and a visit with crocs. monkeys and other animals, with any luck maybe even a toucan.One can eliminate the long boat ride to Belize City and back and cut the van ride down to about 8 minutes, there by allowing more time at the Lamanai site, by flying to Orange walk landing strip for only $ 40 more. we did that and would highly reccomend it. booked it at Amigos del mar pier.
All in all we loved our trip to Ramon's and will be back again.The staff was wonderful and they all asked and called us by name the entire trip. Ramon had breakfast with us at least 3 mornings ( what a nice man. ) And the owner, Richard , was always talking to us and even gave us a tour of the new kitchen and restaurant area, as busy as he was, he always had the time for his guests!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loungelizzards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing