We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Magical Stay at Ramon's Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
wilmington, nc
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Truly Magical Stay at Ramon's Village”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Any resort stay begins with the staff people you meet, and Ramon's Village has taken the concept of inter-personal customer service to its quintessential, and logical, conclusion. Like so many other reviewers, one can't help but dwell on the outstanding staff of this beautiful, idyllic resort village that less than a year earlier was partially burned to the ground. And while it's large, clean rooms and suites, palm-thatched roofs, beautifully appointed Caribbean furniture, soft comfortable beds and pillows, crisp sheets, and clean, white beaches were exceptional in every respect, the staff clearly stole the show in virtually every way.

While all the folks from the long time owner and his wife, Richard and Gina, who we had the pleasure of sitting and talking with on multiple occasions, to Ramon himself, founder and still operational head of his namesake resort, were friendly and engaging and always willing to share an anecdote or story at your table. It was the staff who created an atmosphere so uniquely compelling and engaging that you couldn't help but smile, and even laugh, every time you saw them, or in some cases didn't see them, but heard your name's being warmly shouted to you as you passed by.

They always greeted you warmly, always by your first name, and while some might think this is being overly gratuitous or insincere, or even too personal, one couldn't help but compare them to the staff in other resorts who neither make much of an effort nor even take the time to get to know you, that is other than the proverbial friendly bartender.

However, I would be remiss if I didn't single out one staff member in particular who not only endeared himself to us, but made our eight day stay a most remarkable and unique experience. Jack, who works as wait staff in the restaurant, but actually knows the ins and outs of every aspect of the resort, and the town itself, left an indelible stamp on our hearts and souls. So much so, that my wife actually cried when we said our good-byes. And to this very day, we still reminisce and laugh about his extraordinary anecdotal knowledge of US geography and popular culture.

But Jack's friendly parlor games aside, he had a true and sincere devotion to service and addressing our every need from modifying the menu for a picky eater to giving us tips about what to see and where to go on the island to advising us on the other good (or not so good) restaurants. He was always willing to give his time and energy to ensure we were satisfied, happy and enjoying our stay. You can't train a staff person to do this, it must be felt in their heart, and in jack’s case it was the essence of sincerity. When we met another genuinely friendly waiter at another Ambergris Caye restaurant, and subsequently commented on this to Jack, we found out he use to be an employee of Ramon's! No surprise there!

While we witnessed Jack, and his many other colleagues, including Vidal, Kareem, Mark, Kaedell, Chief, Andres, Steve, and Andy, being friendly and engaging to the other guests, somehow or another, we were made to feel just that little bit more special, which is the very secret to their exceptional style and service -- everyone was made to feel unique and just that little bit more special.

As for accommodation, where do I begin. The well lit rooms (in our case, the 2nd floor International Suite, which I highly recommend) were large and comfortable and with a wonderfully comfortable king bed; large sofa; lounge chairs; dining and writing tables; kitchenette with fridge; large, clean glorious bathroom overstocked with big towels and with great water pressure who could ask for more. But to top it off, one whole wall was nothing but glass windows and doors leading to a wide, ocean-front balcony that stretched the entire length of the building, and with the most comfortable “padded” porch chairs imaginable…perfect for relaxing after a long day in the water and “people watching.” My wife , Pat, would marvel that we could sleep with the three sets of French doors wide open every night and the sounds of the Caribbean Sea below lapping on the beach and the wonderful, cool Caribbean trade breezes (with no bugs) lulling us quietly to sleep. But her particular favorite was that she could stand in the large and generous shower and stare at the ocean while she washed her hair! Who knew!!


But the real reason we were at Ramon’s in the first place was to dive, and the 5 Star PADI Dive Company at Ramon's was First Class all the way. And like Jack, and the other staff, they went above and beyond in their willingness to make our underwater experience as memorable as our above water experience.

The famous Belize barrier reef diving, while always beautiful with visibility extending well beyond 100 feet, was filled with an incredible amount of sea life from herds of Nurse Sharks (acting like puppies around us), Green and Loggerhead Turtles, Spotted Leopard Rays, Southern Rays, Spotted Dolphin, large Grouper, Reef Sharks, Octopus, Squid, to virtually every known reef fish (and very few Lion Fish). However, it was the dive crew aboard "Miss Made," Ernest and "Belly," who really made our 13 dives so truly enjoyable.

They were attentive to our every need, including going above and beyond duty for us. When I realized I had forgotten my dive skin and rash guard, and the only local dive emporium was closed for Easter Weekend (FYI water temps never dropped below 82 degrees), DM Ernest literally gave me his own dive shirt off his back, letting me use it for virtually the entire long weekend until I could buy a new one the following Tuesday. I have dived around the world with many great dive companies, but this was the first time a Dive Master had taken the shirt off his back to ensure I was comfortable underwater.

They have great dive boats, and their habit of assembling, checking and disassembling your gear after every dive, as well as having the divers remove their BCD "in the water" to be hauled out by Belly made getting in the boat a dream for these weary legs. And by weary, I mean I never surfaced from a dive in less than 50 minutes, and for those divers who grumble about "abbreviated" resort dives, this was the exception to the rule in every respect. The diving was very memorable, although even in this pristine environment, one can detect reef decay and in some cases, destruction, and I can only point to man-made reasons why this is happening on the 2nd largest Barrier Reef in the world (FYI I also noticed it significantly in West Roatan in October last year).

Pat and I will definitely return to Ramon's, and frankly, it may be sooner rather than later. Although we still have many dive destinations on our bucket lists, Ramon's was special enough in virtually every metric to make

P.S. Please give our fond regards to Jack, Ernest, and Ramon and all the other staff, both named and unnamed. We will see you again soon!

Room Tip: There are only two suites, and we took one of them. Outstanding comfort and view.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harbormaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    316
    90
    44
    22
See reviews for
231
556
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great staff, wonderful accommodations, felt very private, beautiful grounds, best dive charter. The breakfast was included in our reservation. This is a good choice. There are plenty of good restaurants within 5-10 minutes of walking mainly along the beach. The restaurant at the hotel is nice as well. Perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite. Nice......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XiaoYaoWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasstown, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A piece of paradise! The moment you enter you can feel the stress melting away. The grounds are beautiful, the cabanas charming and the staff makes you feel like it's you they've been waiting for. I can't think of any way we could have felt more spoiled. The boat captains and dive masters were knowledgeable and attentive. The boats comfortable, the day snorkeling and diving trips well planned and not crowded. Don't miss the gift shop - it's the best store on the island and has a lot of unique and cool stuff. We were fortunate enough to be there when the owner's, Richard and Gina, were there and it was obvious how much they care about the resort and the guests. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Upon arriving the first thing we noticed was how friendly the staff was. We had one of the new rooms overlooking the pool from the second floor. We even had a view of the ocean. Breakfasts were very good and so where the drinks. Dinners were hit or miss but all was acceptable. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect. We missed three days of diving and Ramon's was very accommodating. They credited back the lost dive days to pay for other hotel and dive charges. The dive operation was very good. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent 8 days and 7 nights at Ramon's Village. We found them on the internet and through reviews in Trip Advisory. I have to tell you..... No disappointment here.
At landing at the airport, it was a bit of a culture shock at first. Joe from Ramon's was there to pick us up and take us to our hotel. When we arrived at Ramon's, it was like seeing paradise. No kidding!! Beautifully landscaped hotel, with white sand pathways and palapa rooftops and and amazing ocean view. The staff that welcomed us at the front desk were very accommodating. Our rooms were ready upon our early arrival.
It was my husband and I and another couple that traveled together. One of the first people we met from the bar staff was Kaedell. There was an immediate friendship with this young man. Very personable and so friendly. We really enjoyed our week with him! We feel like family with him.
We also became fast friends with Vidal, Angres, Chef, Jack, Steven, Mark, Andy, Kareem and Ramon. I have never had a wait staff that were as friendly as these people!! They made the stay unforgettable for us. We spent much time laughing with them. Ramon sat with us a couple mornings, at breakfast, filling us in on the history of Ambergris.

The accommodations were beautiful. The rooms had been newly built. The pool area was very very nice as well as the ocean front access to the white sandy beaches. The best beach area that we saw on our walks along the beach daily. We were served either on the beach, at the pool or on the patio. Completely spoiled.
We were not ready to go home. We had such an unforgettable time with all these people from Ramon's, we well as other guests we met that stayed there as well.
When it was time to leave, Joe was there, all smiles to take us to the airport to see us on our way.
Thank you to each and every one of you from Ramon's!!!
We will return to visit Ambergrise Caye again had we will, without a doubt, stay at Ramon's Village!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Resort, nice setting, convenient dive center on site, super friendly staff, clean rooms.

We had one of the Belizean Princess rooms: they are clean, cozy and cheaper but you can use all of the luxurious amenities of the resort. Great place!

The lady at the front desk of the dive shop could have been more friendly and helpful, especially if you are a not very experienced. But the dive masters were very nice and relaxed.
We saw a lot of great stuff: turtles, sharks and even dolphins!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snake200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Shortly after our visit to Ramon's last year they had a fire that destroyed the main buildings and close to half of the resort guest rooms. They worked diligently to rebuild and had everything back to 'normal' in just 101 days!
On this trip we were fortunate enough to get to stay in one of the new rooms - the Grand Suite. While we have always enjoyed Ramon's, the new accommodations are even more spectacular. The hardwood floors are fabulous and since we stayed in the bottom unit, the ceiling was hardwood also - just beautiful. We enjoyed a breathtaking view of the water from our room where we had an entire wall of glass windows / doors to allow us to take in the full beauty of the resort.
My favorite part of the new room had to be the shower! What an improvement! The all tile shower with room for 2 (or more) featured one of those 'rain' type shower heads and it just might be the best hotel shower I have ever experienced!
On previous trips to Ambergris we have always made it a point to get out and sample the local cuisine - always looking for something new. On this trip we found the taste, texture and quality of the food at Ramon's restaurant - Pineapple's - to be so dramatically improved over previous visits that we only left the resort to eat one time. We definitely recommend just about any dish that Pineapple's offers up!
As usual the staff was friendly and accommodating - whether is was Kareem or Alex at the bar, Jack or Steve at the restaurant, Einer or Pricilla in the front office, Felipe with the carts or Mr. Ramon himself - they all make us feel like family. In truth, the people are the reason that we have been to Ramon's four times and plan on visiting many more times in the future.
Kudo's to all of the fine folks at Ramon's!

Room Tip: The rooms to the south of the main building are the new ones built after the fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sotexcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
452 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing