We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been lucky to stay at several places on Ambergris Caye and Ramon's is the best of the best. It is located in the best spot for proximity to town, airport and shopping. It has top amenities and a great beach and pool. Make Ramon's your choice for your first visit to Belize and Ambergris Caye and you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a room all the way in back, above the road, and it was a little louder back there (road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Ramon's as a place to stay while you were at Ambergris Caye. We cannot wait for the opportunity to have you join us again at Ramon's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    304
    87
    42
    22
See reviews for
222
524
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just a really nice relaxing place. Everything is well maintained and the food is good. The people at Ramons really make this place, very friendly and a lot of fun to be around. We've been to a fare number of places around the world to dive and would say this was excellent. Will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance C, Public Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Thanks for your review and for diving with us at Ramon's Village! Our dive masters and guides are focused on providing you with a safe and fun diving experience along the second largest barrier reef on earth. As a PADI 5 Star IDC Resort, Ramon's Village is perfectly equipped with six dive boats up to 46' in length and on-site tank refills including Nitrox. It is our hope that you will return again soon to stay with us at Ramon's Village and dive with us too. There's so much undersea life to explore in our little corner of paradise that it will definitely take more than one trip to take it all in. Thanks again and we look forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family and I have stayed here a few times in the past. This was our first trip back since they had a fire burn much of the property. Everything was as we remembered it with a few upgrades. The resort is perfectly located, breakfast was very economical if you like local food. My kids had the Pieces of Eight every breakfast we ate here which was 8 fry jacks, beans, and bacon. I always had an omelette of some sort with meat and fry jacks and we never left hungry. Coffee was perfect too.

The grounds were still meticulously maintained, rooms super clean, and staff super friendly.

Dinner was limited menus at times and on the pricey side, so we choose to eat at various restaurants throughout the island during our stay.

Our kids loved the sandy beach and the clean, large pool and the newly renovated bar area with large flat screen was nice to keep up with ESPN and the sports world.

We did our snorkel trip from Ramon's and were treated like royalty. They took great care of us and our kids and gave us our own guide who was very knowledgeable and patient.

Five stars, two thumbs up, Ramon's is an easy decision to make when staying on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside cabana when booking. There are a few which don't have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiffMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your repeat visits to Ramon's before and after the fire. We are glad it still maintained the atmosphere you were expecting. We hope you make another trip to Ramon's in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got back from Belize last night and 7 days at Ramon's diving and relaxing. I read most of the reviews on Ramon's before we booked our reservation and we were not disappointed. The dive staff was excellent, Rick can be a little cold, but warmed up after a day of diving. We did most of our daily dives with Ernest, who was wonderful. The weather was excellent and the hotel staff was friendly and food was very good.
We will most certainly come back to Ramon's and do more diving in the near future. I agreed that the bar area could offer different types of drinks, especially for those of us who don't drink rum but we were told that might change in the near future.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you of your review. We are glad you had an excellent time at Ramon's. We cannot wait for you to join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ramons is a great place to stay! The grounds are beautiful,rooms are nice,clean,and have great air conditioning. We never had a problem with noise,or anything else. The beach is beautiful with plenty of lounges and white sand.
Pineapples restaurant had great food,plenty of choices for everyone. The staff was excellent! Always made us feel like family. Jack (aka Jackalicious),Edwin,Vidal,sorry i can't remember everyones name ,always made us feel so welcomed and comfortable. We always left smiling and happy!
The dive and excursion operators were also fantastic! We had an age range in our group from 51 to 5 years of age. For the ones that dive we had Rayo and Ricky as our dive guides.These two great guys were just awesome! They made us all feel comfortable,were extremely helpful,shared their knowledge of the dive sites and also the island itself. I can't even begin to tell you how great they were!! We also used them for our snorkeling tours.They made my 5 year old grandson comfortable with being in the ocean and seeing the sharks,stingrays and other life. I suggest anyone going to Ramons for diving or excursions request RAYO or RICKY! We are already planning a return trip because of all the great people and guides we had the pleasure of meeting!

Room Tip: The Belizean Princess rooms are across the street but still owned by Ramons village.They are budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ramon's and felt like family, we strive for all guests to have that feeling. We hope your grandson comes to love the ocean and comes back to visit us as a diver and we cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for a week with a very large group of divers. Here are my points

Pros:
1. Amazing location! My boyfriend and I walked along the beach and saw many of the resorts along the beach and would definitely say that Ramon's resort was definitely the most beautiful and very well groomed. None if the other resorts raked up the sea grass EVERY MORNING. They kept the white sand smooth and beautiful.

2. The dive shop and staff were 100% on top of everything and we're extremely knowledgeable and experienced. We never felt like they put us in any Sanger or took any risks (we dove blue hole and many other sites and did shark diving). Loved Riyou and Ricky! Initially I decided I would do do the shark dive but would not get near the sharks when they came to eat the chum. But once we got down there Riyou gently encouraged me to get closer and even held my hand and showed me how to pet the nurse sharks. After that I was all over it!

3. Location! Location! Location! Ramon's is literally like 2 minutes away from the island airport but I promise you you'd never know it. We never heard planes coming and going.

4. Beach front rooms. We were right on the beach! Our patio was about 30 feet from the water.

5. Jack at the restaurant. He's super friendly and knows a lot of real facts about any U.S. state.

6. Service. The staff here tried hard to make us happy. The transportation attendants were super friendly and efficient. The front desk attendants and many of the staff in the restaurant could use a little more training in friendly service. They seemed a bit irritated at requests.

Cons:
1. Food. Service was decent, but I've had better. Much better. It wasn't bad but it just left a lot to be desired. Breakfast, however, was bad. It was a very small menu and just wasn't good. Lunch was a little better but also left a lot to be desired. Dinner was better than lunch. The steak on a stone is good if you know how to cook since you cook it yourself at your tavle. Pretty cool. Small menu as well but to be fair we noticed that all of the restaurants on the island had small menus. Plus, being an American I am used to everything in excess lol.

2. Maintenance. There is definitely a smell to the water, both the belizean bottled or bagged water and the bath water.
Lack of poolside or beach service. They only had drink service at the pool but no food service even though the restaurant is literally a few steps from the pool but none of the waiters will take orders or bring food to the pool area. Also, if you wanted a non alcoholic drink at the pool then you had to go to the restaurant and find a waiter to order a drink. There is absolutely no food or drink service on their portion of the beach. Ramon's would make so much more money and make many more patrons happy if they'd offer food drink service on the beach.

All in all, the diving and look of the resort was amazing. We would come back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dlori300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here 10 years ago for our honeymoon based solely on a friend's recommendation and we just LOVED being here. We could literally step out of our cabana - style private room into the sand and onto the beachfront. The view is spectacular from any spot. We have been dreaming about returning for another "honeymoon" and a year ago went to look at booking, only to find that a large portion of the resort burnt down in an electrical fire. We were devastated. However, they immediately began rebuilding and for our visit 3 weeks ago, you would never know that there was ever any fire. It's BEAUTIFUL and the best spot that is central in San Pedro. The staff is awesome - I had a mani-pedi in a cabana beachside - the best ever! Drinks are fabulous and the food menu is great. Prices have gone up considerably in ten years, but that is true for the whole island. We want to come back in 4 years when our youngest is able to swim well and I would not hesitate to stay here again with our young children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
First, I would like to say CONGRATULATIONS on 10 years of marriage! Second, I would like to give you our most sincere thanks for visiting our resort again. After the fire our staff worked day and night to get the resort back up and running so that guests could once again enjoy the beauty of Ramon's. We would love to see you come back with your children in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
7.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing