We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Vacation EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Best Vacation EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

What can I say about Ramon's Village; it left me speechless.
From the moment we arrived we did not want for a thing.
There was a driver from Ramon's there to take us and our luggage to what we are calling now our home away from home. The staff here learned more than a thing or to from the founder Ramon Nunez who knows customer service.They worked hard to make sure we did not want for a single thing.

As soon as you drive onto the property, you are transported to a "Fantasy island" of lush garden fauna and tropical plants. Little paths dot the landscape to all of the beautiful appointed rooms and suites. Every walk is a nature walk to your next adventure. They also seem to make this the quietest resort I have ever been to.

After you settle in, what next? If its diving, you came to the right place. A five star PADI facility with all of the service to go with it. The diving is incredible. Ramon's has a number of boats ready to take you and your group, large or small out to many sites filled with sharks, coral and water so warm we dumped our wet-suits back in the suitcases for the week. The dive staff doesn't slack either, you have boats going out 3 times a day or if you have special needs, more than that. Lockers at the shop for your gear, a complete rental dept and if you forgot something; they got you covered. We came to love and befriend our dive crew, Edwin and Ricky who I look forward to see on my next trip. You dont have to be a diver, the snorkeling is fab and they can teach you if you want to be one.

The restaurant is wonderful. You will be greeted many times a day by some very special wait staff who just love people. We will never forget some who still warm my heart today, Jack and Vidal we miss you. Let's not forget about the food; excellent, quick, easy and inexpensive. We didn't eat anywhere else but some of our group did and they found many great spots around town. So on property or off, your meals are easy and reasonably priced.

I will leave you with what my wife said on 3rd day (we stayed for 9). We stay at Marriott resorts mainly and she said,"I only want to come here for our vacations; they have everything we need here. Why would we go anywhere else." I have to agree with her, she is always right.

Thanks Ramon's for the best trip ever!
Boomer and Miss Eva

Room Tip: Go for the Beachfront, you're on an island, see the ocean all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer95124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillageBZ, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. You said it all! We are so glad you had such an amazing experience at Ramon's and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    295
    86
    42
    22
See reviews for
215
517
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive, Ramon's staff is there to meet you at the airport with a smile. My boyfriend and I went with our scuba club, so we booked through our local dive shop. Planned 10 local dives and then the 3 tank Blue Hole trip with Ramon's dive shop. We did the breakfast included package, highly recommended if you are planning dives. The dive shop is great, super accommodating and if you are staying and diving multiple days, you can gets locker for your gear. They have dunk tanks too. Little small, hard to wash the big underwater camera. The diving is amazing, only wore my swimsuit and a rash guard it was so warm!!

The rooms are comfortable and clean. Beds are nice, no back aches. A/C worked amazing. We did beachfront, so we had a great view and comfy chairs. Showers are a little small, hard to shave my legs, but water pressure is good. Ramon's makes their own purified water: no stomach bugs here! The grounds are so beautiful lots of plants. The pool was always clean. I think I sat in all hammocks, lounge chairs, and beachfront chairs in the resort. Bring your book!

I'm already planning another trip during whale shark season, so yes, this place was that good!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MeLive2Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and dives. We are happy that we could make your trip to Ramon's un-Belize-able.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great trip. Rooms were nice, grounds perfect, diving and activities were well planned and executed

Met the super friendly "Ramon" , very nice man, wanted to make sure we were having a great time! He remembered my name the next day too.

Property had a bad fire a year ago, 100% rebuilt and all like new!

Great dive resort

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillageBZ, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the resort and Mr. Ramon. Mr. Ramon has a way with his guests and has a superb memory of all who are staying with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a resort, of which most a was consumed by a fire in 2013, and has rebuilt. It is beautiful, on the beach, have a PADI dive center, an excellent restaurant (Pineapples), and a spectacular staff. We met Ramon at breakfast the first morning we were there. He is a very hands on owner, regarding the running of his resort. He is a warm friendly guy who likes hugging guests, and eager to please his guests.

We stayed in one of the beachfront rooms, which were the only rooms NOT consumed by fire. Ramon says they will be updated this fall. The room was comfortable, small, and in need of updating, but, was great since it was on the beach with a small terrace to sit out. Since it is in need of updating, which is planned for 2014, it cannot receive a negative critique. The wi-fi barely worked in our room, and a tech specialist came to check it out, and despite a nearby antenna, getting wi-fi was difficult and intermittent at best. Work emails had to be sent from the lobby.

The dive operation is regarded as the best on the island, and was good. The dive master we spent the most time with was Ryo, who was outstanding. Ricky, was his boat hand, and quite expert in helping divers out of the water to the boat. Ryo and Ricky were really concerned that we have a great dive experience. Both were friendly and extremely helpful.

There were recommendations we verbally gave Rick, the Dive Operation Manager, and left in writing for Ramon. They were: 1) Pre-and post-dive roll call should be taken of divers present prior to leaving the dock, and prior to leaving the dive site, so no one is left behind; 2) the dive operation should have photos of all of the dive masters and dive staff posted so that guests know who their dive master looks like, and enables them to give tips to the right dive master; 3) There should be a secure tip box posted so guests know where they can leave their tips, should their dive master, dive staff is not available to personally give the tip; 4) the Dive shop should also have envelopes available for guests to put their tips, vs having to make a separate trip to the lobby to request envelopes; 5) There should be a secure room where all post dive rinsed gear and dive bags can be placed and dried overnight, so that dive gear doesn't have to be taken back to the room, and divers can pick it up the next day (apparently this is planned). The dive operation was excellent, but, needs tweaking to it a smoother and safer process for divers. One major plus: If you buy a 6-day dive package and don't use all six days, the resort will credit the unused dives, which can be applied to tours on the mainland (zip lining, cave tubing). No where else have we ever seen this accommodation....elsewhere it is "use it or lose it". BE SURE to check your bill before leaving if there were to be any credits to the bill to be applied by the dive shop. In our case it was not done, and made a difference of approximately $500.00! Fortunately, it was quickly and accurately corrected.

The food and restaurant are excellent, and very reasonably priced. It has a variety of foods, and specials for every meal and substitutions were accepted. It would be helpful in the future, if the lunch menu could be a bar menu for those guests who don't want a big dinner or go off of the property for a light meal at dinner time.

The wait staff & service staff are the best anywhere. They are friendly, cannot do enough for guests, are quick to recall guests names, and always are concerned that the meal or experience is the best. Some of the fabulous waiters are: Jorge, Jack (who knows EVERY US state capital, bird, tree and other US trivia), Edwin, Mark, Elisa (hostess) and of course, Andres (the bus boy). The front staff (Carlo and Robert) are very accommodating. What was interesting the day we left was that a couple who had been taken to the airport forgot their cane in the car to the airport was found by the resort driver, Marcus. He was prepared to race to the airport (only a few minutes away), to give the guest his cane, but, the guest's flight had left. Where else would this happen?

The only negative was that the beach which the resort is located is a public beach. We were advised to keep our terrace door locked, and keep all valuables in the in-room safe.

If you are thinking of going to Ambergris Caye in Belize, Ramon's is the place to go. The Staff is fantastic, the food is good, and you cannot have a better time. Ramon's has the reputation of being THE best resort on the island, and we have to agree.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance C, Public Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Thanks for your wonderful and detailed review of Ramon's Village Resort! Our staff and our location in San Pedro, Belize make Ramon's Village a "must stay" for travelers looking for that perfect vacation location on the beach! Please hurry back soon and stay with us again so that we may renew our friendships. Ramon's Village Resort...simply Un-Belizeable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I had the great pleasure of staying at Ramons Village Resort for 9 nights. The resort was a nice oasis unto itself. It was just far enough from San Pedro that the party goers wouldn't spill into the resort, but close enough that it was a short stroll to other restaurants and shops.

The property was immaculate. Ramons employs a great amount of staff to keep the property is pristine shape. Take a walk around the cabanas the flora is fantastic.

All of Ramons staff was awesome. Very friendly and always quick to assist

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance C, Public Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
Thanks for being our guest and for your wonderful review of Ramon's Village Resort! Our authentic palm thatch cabanas surrounded by tropical flora and fauna make for a fun destination vacation experience. As you experienced, our staff is what makes Ramon's such a special place. They work very hard each and every day to ensure our guests experience the vacation of a lifetime. Come back to see us soon and we look forward to renewing our friendship. In the meantime, we hope that you have fond memories of your time at Ramon's and be sure to tell all of your friends about our little piece of paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My BF and I stumbled upon Ramon's by coincidence as my other diving plans fell through. I couldn't have been more lucky! They groom the beach for seaweed. The staff is the NICEST and funniest and most service minded. Mr. T and Raul made sure I had 4 super awesome dives and I was privileged enough to be with a super group of other divers. Great atmosphere amongst guests and staff, great food and beautiful scenery. I was almost in tears when we left but Ramon's was an unexpected paradise that I hope to return to next summer. Lots of hugs to all of you at Ramon's. Nothing in the 2 weeks I spent after in central America rivalled those 26 hours. BR Louise Lindholm

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lulu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are sorry your other plans fell apart, but we are thrilled that we could turn your trip around and make Ramon's a place you want to return to in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

2nd time at Ramón's village what makes it such a great place is location and the staff . best food on the island. walking distance to airport /town. you will not find a better place to stay if you are a diver or snorkeler anywhere.the dive shop went way out of there way to make sure we had a great time the restraint staff was outstanding and friendly we cant wait to go back

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance C, Public Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
Thanks for being our guest and for your wonderful review of Ramon's Village Resort! Our authentic palm thatch cabanas surrounded by tropical flora and fauna make for a fun destination vacation experience. As you experienced, our staff is what makes Ramon's such a special place. They work very hard each and every day to ensure our guests experience the vacation of a lifetime. Come back to see us soon and we look forward to renewing our friendship. In the meantime, we hope that you have fond memories of your time at Ramon's and be sure to tell all of your friends about our little piece of paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
7.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing