We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Caribbean Villas hotel is located just south of the main part of San Pedro town. Very easy to get 'downtown' when you want to. Our room (#6) is on the 2nd floor and is the closest to the water's edge which gave us fantastic views of the beach, boat pier and the Caribbean... beautiful. The room, a lofted suite that could sleep up to 7, is a little outdated with in-wall AC's (one up and one down) and there were a few ants roaming around (bought a can of bug spray and took care of that), but the furnishings were nice and comfortable. The deck was a great place to hang and relax. Tours picked us up at the boat pier and they have bicycles you can borrow for free. We road the bicycles most every day right up the beach all the way to the toll bridge at the north side of town. The on-sight restaurant / bar was great. A very limited menu, but good food at a great price and very nice staff. All of the staff there were very friendly and helpful.
Well priced and very comfortable. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed here with my family for 5 days and it was awesome. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about tours and your way around San Pedro. We relied on their recommendations on places to eat out and most affordable tours. If they refer you to Reef Restaurant in San Pedro for authentic cuisine, please don't venture their it is a terrible place! It is recommended to many tourists for unknown reasons, it not worthy a dime and your time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We found Caribbean Villas Hotel to be fairly priced and comfortable. We stayed in a lofted suite. While some of the layout of our unit seemed awkward as first, we became very comfortable after we got used to it. The air conditioners were old window style units and one of them made quite a racket when it would cycle off. It was quite hot during our stay without much breeze, but the ac did keep the room comfortable. The housekeeping did a good job and all of the other employees were friendly and seemed to know who we were after a day or so. The location is nice. It offers the quiet of the resorts north of the bridge with no pesky tolls and bumpy dirt road. The full kitchen is very convenient, especially because of the full sized refrigerator. The pool was small, but very clean and the crowd on the beach and at the bar were very friendly. We will likely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

11:30pm, flying ants are everywhere; on the bed, floor, walls, and lights. After killing a dozen, we realize more are coming in from a gaping hole hidden behind the armoire (see photos). There is no way to contact anyone from the hotel. The only contact we have is a 3rd party security guard who contacts his supervisor to contact the owner. Hours pass, the flying ants are now getting into our luggage. We hurriedly pack our things and get our stuff into the living room away from the ants.

Finally, the security says that they never got a hold of the owner because they don't have a valid phone number for him! Security douses the bedroom in bug spray but now the bedroom is filled with fumes and we are forced to sleep in the sweltering living room with no a/c. The sofa bed is thin as a cracker and has dead bugs in the folds!

The next day we return from our pre-booked early morning snorkeling tour to find that housekeeping had "cleaned" the bedroom. It still reeked of bug spray, there were dead bugs on the floors, counters, and sheets! The sheets hadn't been changed and were smeared with the guts of the bugs we had killed the night before. We asked for that night to be refund and a room change. The manager never left his office to speak to us and only relayed half-hearted apologies through the front desk. We were told a room would be cleaned for us in an hour or two. It took them 8 hours! They refunded half a nights stay.

They also charge double for golf carts. Book directly through Moncho's near the airport.

Room Tip: There are no guarantees that you will receive the room type that you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank L9mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a good time at the resort. The place wasn't located downtown, but we tried walking and it wasn't that bad. It took us about 25 minutes to get to the center. A cab ride is 8 minutes. The reason why I said "confusing staff" is that it was low season and it was hard to book tours. Not enough people all the time. We had to go see them at the welcome desk every time to find out if the excursions were on. They did not call us to confirm... But that alright. They found us options and we were still delighted. Breakfast was included which is fun. Otherwise you have a marvelous little bakery at about 2 minutes walking. A big convenience store is also available at 2 minutes walk. DON'T DRINK THE WATER I think my wife and I got sick of it. Buy your own water and DON'T PUT ICE IN YOUR DRINKS... Rookie mistake. For the excursions, they come and pick you up at the resort. On and all very nice experience. I would recommend this place, but plan excursions yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Caribbean Villas in late June. It was the start of the 'rainy season' but for the week we were in San Pedro, it only rained once. If you visit during the rainy season, bring insect repellant, preferably something with 100% Deet. Trust me, you'll need it.
The hotel is well kept up and the rooms are clean. We stayed in a suite with a kitchenette for half the time and in a regular room for the other half. The suite was nice and spacious but the room was a bit tight. Both rooms come with breakfast (served at the outdoor bar)and look out onto the beach.
The entire staff was quite friendly and polite. They have free bike rental which was great since the walk to town in mid-day heat was long.
The grounds are rustic and have lots of trees for shade. The pool was clean and had a nice deck around it.
Their beach was nice and every morning they were out grooming the sea grass from the sand. For the price, it was a great place to stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank flyeveryday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I recommend Caribbean Villas for the value it provides. We stayed in one of the loft suites (room 14), so the kids had a sleeping loft upstairs with two twins and a queen and their own bathroom, we had the master bedroom downstairs, and there was a living/dining and small kitchen (moneysaving to cook and eat in most of the time!) as well. The balcony had outstanding views. The room was, by American standards, fairly basic, but we were not looking to be nitpicky, and if this is you, you will be happy here.

The grounds are beautiful as well, and we enjoyed the pool with the kids. Free hot breakfast was also provided each morning. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, even not charging us extra when I messed up the date of our arrival (I put a day earlier by accident on the form and didn't realize it til we arrived). We got lunch at the hotel a couple of times, and the food was surprisingly good. We went on a couple of tours the front desk arranged for us, and enjoyed the convenience of doing so.

One downside is that there is no laundry facility on site, so we had to send our laundry off to a place in town, which did about two loads for us for about $25 US. Also, the bed was not terribly comfortable, but it was manageable.

Overall, especially with the special code we got for it being the low season, the place was a really good deal, and we would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Loft suites are larger and have more private balconies overall, from what I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nolatoabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
10.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,063 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
403 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
357 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £79 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing