We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for us”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here in June 2014. Everyone was kind, helpful, easy to work with. (Paul setting up the trip and Tanya during our stay)

It was very clean and comfortable and easy to set up a snorkeling trip and a tour to Lamanai.

My favorite part is the location! In my opinion, you can't beat this location. It was close enough to easily walk to the main part of town, restaurants, shops, etc. but just far enough for that quiet, peaceful setting when you want it. The beach was literally just outside our room and I could see the sand, ocean, and palm trees from the couch. I went to breakfast at the little bar/restaurant barefoot. And when we went on tours, we were the last ones picked up and the first ones dropped off.

And all that at a reasonable price. I spent some time on tripadvisor before choosing where to stay and Caribbean Villas was everything I had hoped.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glori17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    258
    68
    22
    10
See reviews for
150
373
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

After spending 3 days in the mainland, we traveled to San Pedro for the last 3 days of our vacation. Great place to stay and worth the price, so in my mind a good value. The staff is all nice and helpful and the room clean but simple. I do wish some warning had been given about the new construction on site but it did not bother our stay. Most interesting how all islanders liked to share with us how the property had traded hands three times in their memory.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is located very convenient (15-20 min walk or 10 min bike ride) to the center of San Pedro/airport/water taxi/restaurants. The property territory is very nice and clean, and the personnel is super nice. It is right on the beach, and has a great pool (small, but not crowded, also very clean).
Now, the bad:
- There is a major construction going on right on hotel property - they are expanding. This is very loud and not relaxing at all. Hammers could be heard 8am-4pm daily.
- There is no management on site between 7pm-7am. If something happens - you are on your own.
- Bar closes around 9pm. There is no food prepared after 4pm (kitchen closes).
- Breakfast is mediocre - I preferred to eat elsewhere.
- Beach is not swimmable - very shallow and sea grass is everywhere (although this is true for the whole caye)
- I never got my complimentary rum punch...
- On one of the nights my room was attacked by termites - these are nasty flying insects, looking like a cross of an ant with a bee. It was terrible - termites flying everywhere, on a bed sheets, on pillows, in the bathroom, in the kitchen. Now, see #2 - there is no management on site after 7pm. I had to WALK in the darkness across the town to find the manager at another hotel (remember - there is no manager on duty; also no way to call for a taxi; manager would not pick up the phone when called). It gave me a major headache, frustration, and wasted 3 hours of my vacation time late in the night to 'resolve' the situation. I was finally placed in a small downgraded room for the night - no apologies, money refund for a poorer room and all the trouble from the management, or at least some compensation like a free drink.
The room was cleaned and I was able to return the next day - however, I kept watching for insects. Not relaxing. Scary. Bad experience. I understand that this is tropics, and there are insects - however, I never had any problems in my travels before. Do NOT stay in buildings made of wood.
- Rooms (kitchens, bathrooms, etc.) are begging for renovation.
- I was staying in a loft - the 'balcony' was not a balcony, but a terrace connected to a public staircase. It was not private, and I was hesitant to even leave my belongings (towel, swim suit, shoes, etc.) there to dry.

I would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerdatugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is relatively small condo hotel which is still growing. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was nicely furnished and spacious. Good hospitality and service. Onsite booking for most activities possible without any sales pressure. They arranged pick up and drop off from/to the local airport. The beach side restaurant and bar are cozy. Drinks are overpriced as may be the case with many other beach bars. The landscape is really beautiful and they setup the beach chairs for relaxing and taking naps. We stayed here during 9-12 May 2014 and enjoyed our stay.!

Room Tip: Lower floor may be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arvind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Caribbean Villas was very comfortable and the staff arranged a couple of excellent excursions for us. There was a pool for those times when you wanted to keep cool in fresh water. It was not too far from town but far enough to be quiet and relaxing and scenic. Good restaurants just a walk down the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room fronting the beach- your own patio for watching the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at Caribbean Villas the past three years when we visit Ambergris Caye and surrounding areas. It is perfectly located - 1 mile south of San Pedro, easy walk or bike ride to go in to town. Very nice beach, excellent water sports access (sailing, sea kayak, kite surfing all available right on the beach). Rooms are perfect for people looking for a good value, good room - not luxury. We are always very active and are only in our room for sleeping and getting ready to go out. The bar is great - lots of locals (local fossils!) and guests mingle there - the Sunday beach beach BBQ is very fun. The staff members that have been there for years are awesome - Leon (at the bar) is great, and the office staff are excellent.

Only down side - there is new ownership and some new staff. There is construction going on to build new rooms and the bird sanctuary was destroyed. We are huge fans of Caribbean Villas and hope the changes will not change the "small, local, barefoot luxury" vibe of the place.

If Eric is working the bar - avoid him. He is rude, incompetent, and seems to cause issues with other members of the team.

We will look to go back next year and see how the changes are unfolding.

Room Tip: beach facing rooms - like #5 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgrindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Caribbean Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for you feedback. We always strive to provide a high level of customer satisfaction and are pleased that you had a good experience overall. We are also very pleased with our staff, and the particular staff member that you had issues with has since moved on, and is no longer working at our Beach Bar. Regarding the hotel expansion, while there will be more rooms available when you next visit, it is our sincere goal to maintain the friendly, laid-back "vibe" of Caribbean Villas Hotel and too continue to provide our guests with the best vacation experience possible while they stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Caribbean Villas for onewhole week. We were very pleased with the accomodations and the staff was cheerful and made us feel right at home. Whatever we wanted, the staff took good care of us. Our condominium was very clean each day. At night we slept very well. This is not a new place but it is well cared for. We would return again,
The staff helped us with making recommendations for dinner and we were not disappointed with their suggestions.
The beach is clean and beautiful, lots palm trees to keep us cool.
All in all, we had a wonderful experience at Caribbean Villas and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a reasonable price with lots of amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed in the one bedroom suite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattyjan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,042 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
530 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Property: Caribbean Villas Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing