We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We were very happy with Caribbean Villas. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. They met us at the airport and gave us a quick tour of the town on our way to the hotel and we really appreciated that - our guide (Javier) was both funny and candid.

It's possible to walk to town and we did so both by road and by beach. The beach is a more pleasant way to go. If it's hot, the walk can be kind of tiring, so using one of their bicycles is a nice alternative.

Rico's is a restaurant that's about a 5-minute walk down the beach. The food is good and the atmosphere is splendid, but the prices are high. If you want to have great food at reasonable prices, there are some options. One is to find the pupusa lady - she's located at a stand on one of the streets in town and will cook your pupusas while you wait. They're very tasty and you can get 4 for $5, which was enough for dinner for 2 of us. Even better is a new restaurant called Lazy Croc BBQ. It is located on the north side of the bridge, on the only road, about a 15-minute bike ride after the bridge. They serve American BBQ and it's the best BBQ I've ever had anywhere. The prices are very reasonable. You may not think you'd want to spend your time eating American food in Belize, but after several bland, expensive piles of red beans, rice, and fish, it's a refreshing alternative. I don't know that you could find the place from the beach, so I recommend looking for it on the road.

Other notes: the Caribbean Villa rooms are not new and the bathrooms are showing their age. Still, they were perfectly adequate.

The tap water at CV is drinkable and tastes fine. Other places on the island don't have potable tap water and it's kind of a hassle always using bottled water. I appreciated it that I could brush my teeth without worrying about intestinal diseases.

The grounds at CV are beautiful. The beach is very pretty, too, but there is a lot of sea grass in the water.

The wifi was consistent and reliable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Barfaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2008

The hotel lived up to all the reviews. It was basic, the bed was comfortable and convenient. The staff was helpful when we need assistance.

They have built a nice deck for their new pool. We did not swim (not warm enough) but it looked nice.

The Sunday bbq was relaxing.

The hotel could definitely use some updating. The shower design needed updating but it was hot and had power.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank auntzurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We spent Thanksgiving here at the Carivvean Villas. We are a family of 5 (3 boys, two are teenagers and one a pre-teen). We stayed in the Lofted Suite. It was perfect. This was our the last place we stayed at on our trip, and were ready for some relaxing and being able to cook our own meals. The place was very clean, staff was great, and you can't beat the view. You can either walk into town, or take a taxi. The dock that is owned by the hotel is a great place to introduce yourself to snorkling, they have created their own little reef at the end of the pier. Also, if you plan to snorkle or take a trip, the company can pick you up at that pier. There is a pool, but we found the ocean a great place to swim. The place does provide beach towels, so there is no need to bring them, like we did.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brlops5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

My boyfriend and I had never been to Belize and weren't sure what we wanted to do or where we wanted to go, so we only booked 3 nights at Caribbean Villas to begin with. After a couple of days we were enjoying ourselves so much that we decided to just go ahead and see if we could book the rest of our nights at CV. We were bummed to find out they unfortunately did not have all of our nights available. We started looking at neighboring hotels but just didn't see one we liked as much as CV. The beach there was bigger and better maintained than almost all the hotels we saw. We loved the little bar as well as the pool which apparently is brand new. The rooms are certainly not glamorous but were nice enough and the price was right! We enjoyed walking back and forth to town on the beach every night for dinner, it's only about 15 minutes or so. On our 5th day we decided to check again to see if perhaps anyone had canceled and we lucked out and were able to keep our room for the duration of our stay. We were elated!!

The only extremely small problem we had that I would clue other visitors to this hotel in on are the bike rentals. We rented bikes twice and had mechanical issues with 3 different bikes! A flat tire, a loose chain, etc. Fortunately we found people along the way who could fix the problems fairly easily (while we enjoyed drinks at the Palapa bar north of town!). The bikes just aren't really maintained at all, however I noticed around town that it didn't seem like ones from other hotels were in any better shape. You might want to try a bike rental shop in town instead. Everything else at CV made up for this issue and we would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoteleskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I spent a lot of time looking for the perfect place to stay on Ambergris Caye and I'm happy to say that I found it! I was so looking forward to my stay at Caribbean Villas and it turned out to be way more than I expected. Graham and his family made me and my boyfriend Dave feel right at home. It was like I was vacationing with family. The bartenders Luis and Tony were great, and the kids (Lucy, Adam and Dave) were great to have around. Watching Dave windsurf (he makes it look so easy!) or taking Lucy snorkeling off of the pier was great fun. The rooms were great as far as location and amenities. Far enough away from the craziness of downtown, yet still close enough to walk or bike to. The place is exactly how it looks in the pictures and now there's a pool!!! You will not be disappointed in anyway with your stay. We are planning a second trip in March of 2009 and already have a large group who can't wait to join us this time in paradise. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darla1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Wanted to share my wonderful experience during my stay at Caribbean Villas. Rooms very nice, location was beautiful. Grounds were very tropical, must climb people perch and take those beautiful sunset photos. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The management make you feel very much at home. Sent b-day flowers to our suite. Excellent setting for a wedding. Their Sunday barbeques were great blenders to meet locals and other guests. We stayed two weeks and loved every minute, during this time we had a lot of time to visit other resorts and we made the right decision by selecting the villas . Our favorite restraurants were Sunset Grill (lobster bisque) is a must and Elvie's kitchen.

We plan to return in March and the Caribbean Villas is where we will call home....Becky

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TexasFirstmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

This was a girlfriends vacation get away. We booked through AMEX and got a terrific deal (air and hotel combined). The rooms are not luxurious, but for overall comfort, they were really nice and clean.
The hotel staff was friendly and upon arrival, our driver met us at the airport and asked if we'd like a quick tour of the downtown area, which was really helpful to get your bearings straight away. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the heart of town. So if you're in shape and like to walk, that was a plus. However, if you're not, you'll want to rent a golf cart to get up to town.
The hot tub was nice and would've been great at night, but the mosquitoes are very aggressive and made getting out after hours a nightmare without a good DEET spray.
They were in the process of building a nice beach bar when we were there; that should be a nice addition. I understand that a pool is in the works as well. But the beach set up they have is nice and we enjoyed laying in the hammocks or sitting on the loungers. As some reviewers wrote, don't be surprised by the fact that the beach here is not like most. You have to go elsewhere to snorkel, even at the 5 star hotels. Stepping into the surf on the beach is a bit disconcerting... it's clear where there is no sea grass, but even so, it feels like you're stepping into a mud bog. Very strange sensation for a beach lagoon. But it's beautiful none the less.
There is no room service, but that's not such a big deal. You're in proximity of a couple of good places to eat.
They have a launching dock where the tour guides come to pick you up and drop you off. It's not out of their way so they're happy to pick you up from this hotel dock. They also offer windsurfing lessons and Hobie cat lessons. This is particularly entertaining if you're just watching. I had fun just watching newbies trying to figure all of it out.
The only major complaint was that we woke up one very early morning to the sound of dripping water that was coming in through the roof during a very heavy rain...so be forewarned, don't put your bags on the floor. And there is no closet space in the room we stayed in; everything had to be hung on hooks that were provided in the room. So there's very little space to spread a lot of stuff out once you get there. You kind of have to live out of your bag, so to speak.
Housekeeping did a good job of keeping the rooms tidy. It was the quintessential Caribbean bungalow feel. Good overall.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DallasBlanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,054 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
402 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £91 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing