We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, landscaping, pool, and views--good price--awesome choice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Perfect location, landscaping, pool, and views--good price--awesome choice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2008

We agonized over where to stay on Ambergris, and finally narrowed the choices down to Coral Bay and Caribbean Villas. We chose Caribbean Villas cuz they offered us a GREAT deal on their 1-bedroom suite, Room Number One, which was perfect. HOTEL: There are two buildings, plus the office, set diagonally to the beach. It looks like there's a room over the office as well. One building has the pool between it and the beach, and the other building (where we stayed) is RIGHT on the beach. There are no closer units to the beach on the South side between Mata Rocks and San Pedro proper--we walked the beach to that distance and compared all the other hotels to CV--we were so pleased with ourselves! :)
ROOM: Nice room with wooden shutters on windows, AC in bedroom (which we didn't need), tiled floors, spacious bathroom with hot water and strong showerhead. Our suite had a full kitchen and sofa and table with 4 chairs. All the rooms have verandas with views, but our view was awesome! We were on the bottom floor, and there was a large group with kids staying over us, and we didn't hear a thing because of the thick concrete floors. We spent a lot of time on that veranda--shady all day!!
POOL: Gorgeous small pool surrounded by chic teak decking, and 2 jacuzzis, and lots of cool teak lounge chairs. The deck is sunny in most places, but there are a few spots of shade which are nice!
PROPERTY: The property itself is large, and lushly landscaped, on 1.5 acres of wooded areas full of birds. The trees block a lot of noise from the street--most other hotels don't have that buffer zone, and the road is really noisy. There were hammocks everywhere--comfy, clean hammocks with great views--and adirondack loungers as well as teak loungers and chairs. The beach bar is thatched and adorable, and has a teak deck on the beachside, but is sand-floored on the inside. Really beautifully done. The thought put into all the details here is phenomenal--kudos to whoever did it! The dock right outside is super-convenient, as tours pick you up from it--you can wait in shady comfort in a hammock for your boat to pick you up!
LOCATION: Yes, it's about a 10-minute walk into town. Bike rentals is $5 a day--super cheap. Unfortunately the roads were recently paved with concrete paving bricks that bounce you terrible whether on a bike, in a taxi, or in a golf-cart. We bought bananas at the grocery and the part that touched the bike's basket was pulverized from all the bouncing by the time we got home! We ended up walking into San Pedro on the beach and returning by taxi ($4). But since San Pedro really sucked, we enjoyed just hanging out at the hotel. After our first exploration of the town--during which we were repeatedly harassed by people trying to sell us food/lodging/drugs/taxi rides/souvenirs, we fled back to the hotel and went into town only to eat--and each time our first impression was reinforced. And my husband is a 6 foot brown guy who can pass as a local! So we were more than happy to be 10 minutes from town.
FOOD: The best meal we had on San Pedro was the pesto pasta at Cafe Picasso--but it was expensive. The second best meal was ramen I'd brought for emergencies. Seriously. We like beans and rice usually, but there are no spices in the ones here! We ate at Wild Mangoes and that was good but overpriced, and the Pupusa Lady at Warugama makes great bean and cheese pupusas (tortillas) right in front of you on the street. We're vegetarian/no fish, BTW.
ACTIVITIES: We snorkeled 3 days in a row. We've snorkeled a lot, in a lot of places, and the snorkeling here was second-best only to Australia's Great Barrier Reef, and in terms of accessibility, better. It's a five-minute boat ride from Caribbean Villas to a fantastic snorkel spot--we went with Tony on a private tour each day because it's the same price as the group tours, he takes you at different times than the groups, so you've got the place to yourself (no stranger's flippers in your face), and you can spend as much or as little time as you want in each spot. He took us to 5 spots. The hotel has his contact info and will arrange it for you, or you can call him from your room. We also went to Caye Caulker--that's La Isla Bonita--what San Pedro was ten years ago when everyone fell in love with it. Now . . . If we come back, we will stay at Caribbean Villas again, and we'll bring boxes of pasta and sauce and other dry goods so we can cook for ourselves here--it'd be tastier! And we won't go into San Pedro except for the ATM there. :)
VIEW: I can't say enough about the gorgeous palm trees, hammocks, pier, sunsets, turquoise water, white sand at this hotel. Yeah, you can't swim off the beach--the water is filthy, full of garbage--I'd never swim off the pier! But it's beautiful to look at, and swimming in the ocean is a 5-minute boat ride away. Just bring food to cook in your room--trust me!!!

  • Liked — The value for the beautiful landscaping, amenities, setting, views, and convenient location.
  • Disliked — The people who walk along the beach selling stuff--but they're better than the ones in town!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    249
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
146
364
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

Just walked by this quaint place, and luckily got a room. The Staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. The place is clean, well-kept and uses quality stuff. You can feel the pride taken in this place.
They even give you a tour of san pedro, to introduce you to the town. they offer cheap bicycle rentals. they even give you alittle tour/intro to all the amenities in your room! The front desk posts daily tours available. You get picked up for water tours straight from the pier at the hotel's beachside. No worrying about were to keep money and all personal belongings , you just leave everything in your room, bring your room key and a towel and get picked up practically rite outide your room. it was sooo easy.
There's a bar with snack food at the beach with a pool and two jacuzzi's. ( And it sounds alittle strange), but relaxing on their chairs and swimming off their pier is a great way to spend the day. And there's plenty of marine life rite alongside their pier, so bring your snorkel gear.

  • Liked — all the little details
  • Disliked — its good that it is located far from town/crowds, but alittle inconvenient at times
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NyCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We were very happy with Caribbean Villas. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. They met us at the airport and gave us a quick tour of the town on our way to the hotel and we really appreciated that - our guide (Javier) was both funny and candid.

It's possible to walk to town and we did so both by road and by beach. The beach is a more pleasant way to go. If it's hot, the walk can be kind of tiring, so using one of their bicycles is a nice alternative.

Rico's is a restaurant that's about a 5-minute walk down the beach. The food is good and the atmosphere is splendid, but the prices are high. If you want to have great food at reasonable prices, there are some options. One is to find the pupusa lady - she's located at a stand on one of the streets in town and will cook your pupusas while you wait. They're very tasty and you can get 4 for $5, which was enough for dinner for 2 of us. Even better is a new restaurant called Lazy Croc BBQ. It is located on the north side of the bridge, on the only road, about a 15-minute bike ride after the bridge. They serve American BBQ and it's the best BBQ I've ever had anywhere. The prices are very reasonable. You may not think you'd want to spend your time eating American food in Belize, but after several bland, expensive piles of red beans, rice, and fish, it's a refreshing alternative. I don't know that you could find the place from the beach, so I recommend looking for it on the road.

Other notes: the Caribbean Villa rooms are not new and the bathrooms are showing their age. Still, they were perfectly adequate.

The tap water at CV is drinkable and tastes fine. Other places on the island don't have potable tap water and it's kind of a hassle always using bottled water. I appreciated it that I could brush my teeth without worrying about intestinal diseases.

The grounds at CV are beautiful. The beach is very pretty, too, but there is a lot of sea grass in the water.

The wifi was consistent and reliable.

  • Liked — The front porch, the staff
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Barfaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

The hotel lived up to all the reviews. It was basic, the bed was comfortable and convenient. The staff was helpful when we need assistance.

They have built a nice deck for their new pool. We did not swim (not warm enough) but it looked nice.

The Sunday bbq was relaxing.

The hotel could definitely use some updating. The shower design needed updating but it was hot and had power.

  • Liked — Convenience and price
  • Disliked — it was a bit dated
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank auntzurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

We spent Thanksgiving here at the Carivvean Villas. We are a family of 5 (3 boys, two are teenagers and one a pre-teen). We stayed in the Lofted Suite. It was perfect. This was our the last place we stayed at on our trip, and were ready for some relaxing and being able to cook our own meals. The place was very clean, staff was great, and you can't beat the view. You can either walk into town, or take a taxi. The dock that is owned by the hotel is a great place to introduce yourself to snorkling, they have created their own little reef at the end of the pier. Also, if you plan to snorkle or take a trip, the company can pick you up at that pier. There is a pool, but we found the ocean a great place to swim. The place does provide beach towels, so there is no need to bring them, like we did.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — There was nothing that I didn't like
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brlops5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

My boyfriend and I had never been to Belize and weren't sure what we wanted to do or where we wanted to go, so we only booked 3 nights at Caribbean Villas to begin with. After a couple of days we were enjoying ourselves so much that we decided to just go ahead and see if we could book the rest of our nights at CV. We were bummed to find out they unfortunately did not have all of our nights available. We started looking at neighboring hotels but just didn't see one we liked as much as CV. The beach there was bigger and better maintained than almost all the hotels we saw. We loved the little bar as well as the pool which apparently is brand new. The rooms are certainly not glamorous but were nice enough and the price was right! We enjoyed walking back and forth to town on the beach every night for dinner, it's only about 15 minutes or so. On our 5th day we decided to check again to see if perhaps anyone had canceled and we lucked out and were able to keep our room for the duration of our stay. We were elated!!

The only extremely small problem we had that I would clue other visitors to this hotel in on are the bike rentals. We rented bikes twice and had mechanical issues with 3 different bikes! A flat tire, a loose chain, etc. Fortunately we found people along the way who could fix the problems fairly easily (while we enjoyed drinks at the Palapa bar north of town!). The bikes just aren't really maintained at all, however I noticed around town that it didn't seem like ones from other hotels were in any better shape. You might want to try a bike rental shop in town instead. Everything else at CV made up for this issue and we would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The beach area
  • Disliked — The bike rentals
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradoteleskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

I spent a lot of time looking for the perfect place to stay on Ambergris Caye and I'm happy to say that I found it! I was so looking forward to my stay at Caribbean Villas and it turned out to be way more than I expected. Graham and his family made me and my boyfriend Dave feel right at home. It was like I was vacationing with family. The bartenders Luis and Tony were great, and the kids (Lucy, Adam and Dave) were great to have around. Watching Dave windsurf (he makes it look so easy!) or taking Lucy snorkeling off of the pier was great fun. The rooms were great as far as location and amenities. Far enough away from the craziness of downtown, yet still close enough to walk or bike to. The place is exactly how it looks in the pictures and now there's a pool!!! You will not be disappointed in anyway with your stay. We are planning a second trip in March of 2009 and already have a large group who can't wait to join us this time in paradise. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The pool wasn't open yet!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Property: Caribbean Villas Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing