We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a GREAT honeymoon here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed at Caribbean Villas for 2 weeks on our honeymoon and had a GREAT time! We never thought about meeting new people on our trip, but we met several different people that we hung out a lot with and it made our trip even better. We ended up splitting different activities with our new friends and that made it more affordable too. The beach bar was a great place to meet and hang out with new people. We felt very safe. We had a great time snorkling and swimming at the end of the dock. I guess our only wish was that it was just a little bit closer to the center of town, though it's not too far of a walk, and not much of a difference than the other good places to stay. The staff, especially the bartenders, were really helpful with ideas of where to go/eat and what to do. It was really great to have the bar, that also has some food, onsite if you didn't feel like walking into town. Our favorite thing was the Pina Colodas at Caribbean Villas' bar; the best drink we had our whole vacation!
We went the first 2 weeks of November '08; the weather was perfect and the prices were cheaper then too!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screennamekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Caribbean Villas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2009

We arrived late January via Tropic Air. Javier met us at the airport and gave us an entertaining golf cart tour of downtown San Pedro on our way to Caribbean Villas. He pointed out restaurants, bars, shops, grocery stores, golfcart eating potholes, etc.
CV is an attractive, quiet resort. We stayed in a Pelican Perch suite; 2 bath, 2 bedroom loft with a spectacular beachview from a roomy 14 foot veranda. There's 2 hot tubs and the new pool is small but adequately handled the number of quests in the 12 units during our stay. Weeks when there's entire wedding parties or people packing 8 in a suite...then maybe not. Coconut trees are everywhere on property (sorta unnerving to watch people relaxing in a beach chair under a fully loaded coconut tree - so look up before you plop). Also lots of almond trees, I got cold-cocked on the head by a falling almond (better than a coconut so no complaints).
Place was built in 1991 so has been used but everything in our condo worked and was clean (more than I can say for everything at my house). The staff and service at CV was excellent. The lock on our patio door wouldn't, CV office immediately sent the maintenance guy up to replace it. Office has a safe to store stuff like passports or money, keys, etc before you go on snorkel or dive trips. CV is located an easy 15-25 minute beach walk (depending how fast you motate) south of all the 'action' 'in downtown San Pedro. A couple of construction & unlite zones makes it advisable to take a flashlite on your first nite's beach foray into SP till you learn the route.
Note - if seabreeze blows from the NE, you WILL hear what-ever band is playing up the beach at Coconuts bar at night, if breeze outa SE, no problem. CV's inland jungle walk gets no sea breeze and does have mosquitoes, so keep moving on the paths.
Catamaran beach bar at CV has decent burritos, especially if your flight arrives later in day, are tired of traveling and don't want to start exploring til daylight. Was also a great place to watch Superbowl 09 barefoot in shorts instead of bluejeans & sweatshirts like back home. Drink Beliken but try a Dirty Banana. Note - Beliken brewery uses the thickest glass in their bottles I've ever seen. Sorta disappointing when you think you still have some brewski left only to find 1/2 of the bottle weight is glass, but this is one time I can say I drank my weight in beer while on vacation.
Mirana's a small grocery store a couple blocks to the left of CV entrance. Had warm corn tortillas in a blue beer cooler by door. Island Supermarket on way to downtown has huge selection, but you will pay half-again as much. Plus sore arms from carrying groceries alot farther if you don't rent a cart. Georges Kitchen several blocks to the right, opened at 6 and had good breakfast.
Rained one day but we had a deck of cards; so not exactly a perfect day in paradise, but still paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I'll start with the good: Caribbean Villas is an attractive resort. It's located an easy 10-minute walk south of the frenzy of downtown San Pedro, nestled in mangroves with a large, nicely manicured beach and chairs, hammocks, dock, etc. for relaxing in the sun. The beach bar is a cute thatch roof hut that serves drinks, snacks and delicious breakfast at reasonable prices. We rented bicycles -- old, but sturdy and didn't give us any trouble -- for a ride up to the north part of the island (watch out for mosquitos). The hotel also has a healthy stock of equipment for windsurfing, sailing, etc. and an instructor to help the guests, but we didn't have time to partake of that service.

The bad: Our room was on the ground floor and the screens were poorly fitted or warped, not providing full protection from mosquitos. We also got several bites from "no see'ems" (sand flies) while sleeping, which I don't believe can be prevented from better screens, but can likely be reduced if not staying on the ground floor. I would agree with other reviews that the room was not very clean, but not very dirty either. The bedspread was old/pilled, and the bathroom fixtures had caked on residue. There is a bright light outside, right over the doorframe, which attracts tons of bugs at night, making it easy for them to sneak in when you open the door to quickly slip inside.

A neutral tip: If you are heading from the hotel to an early flight or boat, bear in mind that if you request a wake up call or taxi arrival, they'll probably be on "Belize Time" and occur 15+ minutes late.

I would stay here again, but insist on a second floor room.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank puresummerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We were blessed to get to spend Christmas 2008 in Belize at Caribbean Villas. I love; no, I ADORE Caribbean Villas! Waking up every morning to the sounds of tropical birds chirping. Walking through the enchanting little jungle right there on-site! Seeing and hearing tropical flora and fauna; hermit crabs, lizards, beautiful birds, trees and flowers during the day; and fireflies in the evening! (The first time my husband ever got to see fireflies!) Searching for iguanas, and finding three after Tony the bartender so kindly showed us where to look (up in the trees)! Snorkeling right off the dock, and swimming in the beautiful ocean! Eating the best beef burritos in the world at the Catamaran Bar under the stars, sipping on Belikin Beer, and relaxing with fellow vacationers and the best bartenders, Louis and Tony! Going on wonderful tours to Lamanai one day and snorkeling the next at Hol-Chan with “Seaduced” -- all arranged by the wonderful staff of Caribbean Villas staff (Leon, Ampi)! I haven’t even mentioned our room! Our room had everything you could ask for and was charming, comfortable, and clean! And a beautiful ocean view, to boot! Caribbean Villas is within walking distance to everything, but everything you need is in this beautiful oasis in paradise!

“They say your heart never leaves once you’ve been down to Belize.” How true, Jerry Jeff Walker! My heart yearns to be back there – eating burritos and sipping Belikin Beer under the stars at the best place in the world!

Thank you Leon, Ampi, King, Tony, Louis, and Helga for making our vacation to Belize such a dream come true! Thank you to the owners of Caribbean Villas for creating and keeping such a special place!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jawsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This place is awesome! The staff is wonderful and friendly and very helpful with all arrangements. Caribbean Villas Hotel is just far enough from the center of town to be nice and quiet, yet it is just a lovely stroll down the beach to the town. I loved the pier---go out there and see the sun rise and watch the brids and fish. This was our first time to the Caribbean and we are already making plans to go back next year--both the hotel and and the town will grow on you. Outstanding value all the way around!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fishies16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Stayed here by walking in off beach, after coming from other horrible hotel. Staff, rooms, everythihg was super at this place. Great location, can walk into town (via the beach). Rent bikes, arrange for any snorkeling or diving. Rooms were very nice we stayed in unit on bottom floor with kithen, walk in rate was great. We will definately come back to his place if we come back to San Pedro.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yacht_vayacondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We were there for our sisters wedding, she stayed at another location with other folks and they all wished they were with us at our place. We had the best place in the world. The people made us feel like family. The mornings with Mary at breakfast she is an amazingly sweet person we love her, and lunches with Tony he is a wonderful soul and a great bartender too!! Louis is a wonderful man and a great resource for things to do on the island, he is a very kind sweet man. Dont forget to ask Javier for a tour of the downtown area and a how to find and eat an almond. That was a great experience. What A Guy.... We found out that Lily in the office knows eveything....she is a wedding planner, yup Lily is a WEDDING PLANNER, I wish we would have known for our sister, LILY is amazing. Sandra is a wonderfully sweet person and she kept our rooms clean, clean, clean... there were 8 of us in room #6....You could bounce a quarter off my bed it was made so tight. I never had to worry about leaving items in my room, I never felt unsafe around anyone there. It rained most of our stay and we enjoyed our stay just the same. We loved the bar area and my two kids did two they played cards and we all just talked and hung out their instead of the room. Cudo's to the Carribean Villa's Staff
Kristi & Kevin Rookey & Family January 10-17 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank krookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,049 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
148 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
533 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £57 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing