We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, beautiful spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing, beautiful spot!”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This is a great spot to stay in Ambergis Caye. The suite we stayed in was clean, spacious, and looked right out at the BEAUTIFUL ocean. There are only about 13 rooms so it is very quiet and relaxing. There is a cute bar area by the pool to enjoy their famous rum punch or belikin beer. The staff was very helpful in setting up excursions or recommending restaurants. The location is not great, it's about a fifteen minute walk into town, however, you can use the hotel's bikes for no charge and cabs to or from town are about $4 US.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagotraveler2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    254
    63
    22
    10
See reviews for
148
370
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye was a delight! Too bad we could only stay for 6 days. It did give us the chance to sample the locals and the lifestyle on this tropical island outpost of Belize. We stayed at Caribbean Villas, a quaint but decent facility with rooms designed to make the most out of very little space. The resort boasts a bird watching tower but be careful! It's in dire need of maintenance. Staff was great and overall, three stars.

The resort had a man-made reef at the end of the pier. Note: You can snorkel off of anyone's pier. They are all accessible for public use. The further you get from shore, the better it gets. We toured Hol Chan. A MUST for all. Sea Turtles, Spotted Rays, Horse-Eyed Jacks, Nurse Sharks and Stingrays all on one snorkel trip. Also worth the trip was Tres Cocos. Not as much variety of fish but we did see 3 dolphins on the way there. A great amount of Elkhorn coral dots the snorkel area.

We would always breakfast at the hotel but lunches & dinners were at the local restaurants. Heads up, you don't expect much in the way of great Italian food in the Caribbean, but the owner of Pinocchio's is from Rome. It's a great family run business and the chef/owner is the one in the kitchen. Also high on the list is Blue Water and Rico's. Best value for the dollar hands down is Carambas in downtown San Pedro. They have a good variety on the menu all at a fair price.

Please stay away from Reef Village time share folks. They completely insult your intelligence with their offering. The bird dog pitch man will give you a scratch off card. The majority of them have three palm trees, which qualifies you for the BIG prize after you listen to the 90 min. presentation. Don't waste your day unless you really like time shares.

The people of San Pedro are the best. Always quick with the greetings and friendly smiles. The locals we met were happy to talk and share details of their island and life in Belize. It's amazing how open everyone was. The merchants do a great job in trying to sell you without being obnoxious (unlike Jamaica or Mexico).

In our quest for our next home, Belize will be one countries we put on the "must return" list. Only one drawback to Belize...more effort must be spend on containment of litter. Plastic cups & bags are not friends of the environment but you'll see plenty of trash floating about.

Helpful?
Thank TheKrajnyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed in room #5 for two nights. A basic no-frills room. We did have a nice view of the bar, pool, and ocean. We loved the pool and spas and the dock is a wonderful place to relax. The complimentary breakfast is small but delicious.

The staff is very helpful. They booked us a snorkeling tour, and when it got canceled twice, the quickly called around and found one lonely tour guide who would take us out. They also arranged a taxi to take us to the water taxi dock.

The Villas are slightly out of town which makes for a little bit of a long walk, but it's nice to be so secluded from the other resorts. Definitely rent the bikes! So fun!

The only thing that turned me off was the staff claimed they had upgraded our room for free like they had done us a favor, but in reality, we paid for the room we got. I think they were just trying to impress us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We all had so many great adventures! We did the famous snorkeling trip, which was great, but then we snorkeled right there under their pier and saw dozens of amazing sea creatures. We ended up snorkeling there every day, for free and on our own schedule, before or after any of our outings. And then we'd take a dunk in the pool too.

The 2 story villa gave the grown-ups and kids a little space from each other, and the kitchen and dining area allowed us to save a little money and make our own breakfasts and lunches when we wanted. And then there were plenty of nice restaurants for eating out, some overlooking the water. And the view from our room was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uyedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The location is great if you want to be a bit far from the action, and don't mind a 15 min walk into town. The beaches in this area are a bit prettier and quieter then the ones closer to San Pedro. The value of the place is great, and the rooms are big. Our AC broke during the middle of the night, and they had repair guys working on it within 15 minutes after we told them about it the next morning. It was fixed within an hour! That was really great. We knew they try hard and do a good job at keeping people happy. The wifi access was pretty good compared to other hotels we stayed at in the cayes. It would be really great if the suites/rooms came with a few cooking basics, like cooking oil and a few spices, because those are things that we didn't want to buy for a short trip, yet it seems that most people who use the kitchen would use these things when they cook, and these items don't go bad quickly, so it would be a cheap investment for the kitchens. Just a minor suggestion.

The bikes and hammocks were fun and a great asset to the hotel.

The windows were charming in a rustic way, but not too functional at night when mosquitoes are active. We ended up moving to the bedroom (the only room with AC) and closing the door to keep mosquitoes out, which was a bit of a shame given that we really enjoyed the spaciousness of the whole suite.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My husband and I just got back from Belize last week, and we absolutely loved it! Caribbean Villas was the perfect place to spend our vacation!
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the resort itself was gorgeous. Unlike most of the other resorts we saw, Caribbean Villas is surrounded by lush grounds that make it feel very secluded. We loved the view from our room (#7) - we could see the ocean, the pool, the bar (big shout-out to Luis!) and tons of tropical plants and flowers. We especially loved opening the louvered windows and just letting the ocean breeze blow in!
The room was nice, but you need to have realistic expectations - it's a very affordable resort in Central America - it's not the Ritz Carlton. It was always clean, but there were sugar ants in the kitchen (so, we just kept all of our food in the refrigerator). They don't bite, so it's not a big deal - we didn't even mention it to the staff. I think that's just part of being in a tropical location - there are bugs, so get used to it!
Definitely take advantage of the bicycle rental provided - that's how we got around most of the time! And we sort of "adopted" one of the several stray dogs that seem to hang around the resort - he's a red colored dog that we named Carlos (if you've seen the movie The Hangover, then you'll know why we chose that name!)...so if you're in Room #7 and Carlos comes to visit you on the porch, pet him for us!!
We really hated to leave Caribbean Villas, and we hope to go back again someday! I'm sure you will enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyAg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

One of my favorite places to stay in Centeral America/Caribean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Lilly who mans the front desk is wonderful and helped with all our questions, exchanged currency, and even booked a cave tour on mainland Belize for us. She is a huge asset to the hotel and the guests. The hotel is no frills and certainly not a luxury hotel by American standards. By Caribbean standards it is certainly a step above the rest. It is clean, comfortable, safe and well appointed. There is a great beach bar onsite with plenty of cold Belikin Beer and Ten Barral Rum. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown area. You can be in the heart of the San Pedro nightlife in 10 minutes, but you are removed enough so if you don't want to be part of that scene, you can lie on the beach and relax. We did a lot of comparison shopping before we visited caribbean Villas and checked out other hotels while on the Caye. Caribbean Villas is the best value for your money. Can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Property: Caribbean Villas Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing