We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for awesome customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our first time in Belize. We chose this hotel for a couple of reasons. One being the proximity to the beach, another being the free rum punch!

This hotel is rustic but perfectly comfortable. The beds were very comfortable, the linens were clean. They had laptops in the office for customer use. The staff make it an extremely pleasant place to stay. Proximity to San Pedro Town (within reasonable walking distance) makes it convenient for exploring the local vibe. You can walk up the beach or down the cobblestone streets and enjoy a variety of shopping and dining experiences.

The staff at Corona Del Mar love what they do and it shows. They do everything they can to make their visitors feel welcome and comfortable. They'll even do your laundry for a very nominal fee.

We loved it and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I just spent 10 days at the Corona del Mar. We had a fantastic time at this hotel. The staff are so friendly and made our stay like a second home. The room was large, clean and comfortable-but the furniture was a bit dated (no biggie). The hotel itself needs a bit of TLC- but nothing that would deter us from staying there. The location is great and we were able to walk just about everywhere. There are plenty of places to eat and lots of things to do. I enjoyed spending time on the warf just watching the sea-life and relaxing. Leroy (Happy Man) from Tuff E Nuff tours is awesome- he really bent over backwards to see that we had a good time. The tours he organized for us were fantastic. In the evenings we would go down to the Sea Horse Lounge for a couple of drinks with our new friends. The food in the lounge is good and very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again while visiting Belize.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcolEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

There is so much to recommend the hotel: the great location, the unbelievably nice people who work there, the incredible value. Everything is just so nice and it really is a fantastic choice especially if you want to just put your feet up and relax. The people who work at the hotel could not be kinder or more accommodating. The beach is beautiful and there is a great swimming spot at the end of the pier. We loved that we could start our day with a beach walk for miles in either direction. My only difficulty with the hotel is that, as a light sleeper, I found the barking of the dogs all night long a little hard to bear. Maybe the whole island is like that since the dogs are everywhere; I don't know whether that is true. Make sure you take earplugs along.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Venicenextyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Just got back from a fabulous vacation. Corona del Mar was the perfect spot for us. From the moment we entered the office we felt at home immediately. Frank escorted us up to our 3rd floor ocean front room with a large balcony. What a view.!!l It was perfect. All the staff went above and beyond and made you feel like family. Mel the cook did a spectacular job with the food even when things got busy. Kenny and Marge made the best drinks in town. LeRoy, aka Happy Man, a rep from TuffENuff tours can set up any excursion from right off the pier at the hotel. Mel, Vikki and others in the front office where always helpful and the maids did a great job. The beach is great, nice palm trees and hammocks for those who want the shade. However its not great to swim in unless you walk to the end of the pier where there is a marked swimming area, lounge chairs and palapa.
Oh and by the way, Frank, makes the best Rum Punch !!! (free in the afternoons)
This is not a 5 star resort but the staff and great guests, who we now feel as family made this the ``Best Vacation Ever``

And as Frank says ``when you come back we will say Welcome Home``

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We just completed our second stay at Corona del Mar. Once again the staff made our visit a pleasure. So friendly. So accomodating. Just so nice! As someone else said, "they're family".

We really liked the addition of a kitchen. The cook, Mel, is fabulous. The dishes she prepares are varied. We especially liked the Coconut Shrimp. We hope she's there next year when we go back!

The dive shop extention (Tuff E Nuff) via LeRoy booked a terrific half day snorkel trip on a catamaran that was very affordable.

We'll be back again next year! Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If you're staying one or two weeks, I'd suggest units 1, 2, 201 and 202. They've been r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhone44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

There are fancier hotels, but there are not better ones. The staff is long term, caring, and personable. Mel in the kitchen is doing great things, making it a cut above the average. Leroy "Happy Man" is the contact for Tuff Enuff Tours on the wharf, and put together some wonderful experiences for us, right from the wharf in front of the hotel. The front desk, bar, and maintenance staff were all friendly, right on the ball, helpful, and honest to a fault. We'll definitely be back. Most of the guests I met were return patrons.

Room Tip: The north building has larger, more modern suites. The south building has smaller, older, but cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay with this hotel and had initially booked 2 nights due to never having been to Belize before and uncertain what to expect. We ended up extending our stay for the entire week. Staff were friendly and we met lots of fun guests who were staying there as well. Our room was clean and spacious with a ocean facing deck. We had a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge and there are several grocery and liquor stores nearby. The location was excellent as it is just a short walk into the action of San Pedro. There is a tour rep located on the pier so it is easy to book your excursions. A massage hut on the beach is convenient. The beach is raked and clean with comfortable lounge chairs.
Frank is the caretaker at Corona and will gladly show you how to play horseshoes. They also rent bicycles from the hotel if you would like to explore further distances on the island.
The hotel does need a bit of TLC in general. A bit of painting and junk removal would enhance the aesthetics for sure, but it is clean nevertheless. Our air conditioner sounded like a 747 but the ceiling fan and the sea breeze was all that was needed for a comfortable sleep.
The Crazy Canucks bar is just a skip away and lots of live music and fun to enjoy there.
We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,304 reviews
3.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: £56 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments, your home away from home. A nice beautiful 15 minutes walk along the beach to town. Not too far from town but yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy our free rum punch and fruit punch all day long. Once you are here, leave everything to us. We guarantee your vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Hotel And Apartments
Corona Del Mar San Pedro
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing