We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to brag about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Basically I had only booked Corona del Mar, because the other hotels I wanted to stay in were fully booked. The Garden View Room had a view to the laundry matt and other maintenance areas... so nothing really with garden view and the door to the room was straight from the staircase. The location though is great, close to Pinocchio restaurant, with shops and entertainment close by and it takes only 15-20 minutes to walk into the heart of San Pedro Town. I thought that the hotel is pretty run down and definitely needs a paint job. The pool is rather small and not inviting to swim in. The beach area though is really nice and has nice lounge chairs. Staff? Well, housekeeping and maintenance were really friendly, but the ladies at the front desk did not really seem to care. Maybe they did, but were doing a great job in hinding it. The internet in the room only worked for a couple of hours on my arrival day and then gave up. Requests which I had were carried out slow by the front desk, but the maintenance man who fixed my shower was very friendly and quick! Kudos to him (unfortunately I dont know his name). All in all, I think there is better value on San Pedro for the money I spent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marianne_b24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had originally booked two separate rooms, but upon arrival the staff upgraded us to the penthouse suite which allowed all of us to stay together. It was a wonderful suite which included a common area, dining area, full kitchen, washer/dryer room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We also had our own patio area. The staff came to our suite daily to clean, make the beds, and change our towels. There is a restaurant and bar on premises. Breakfast is served every morning, and water and rum punch are available as well. There was karaoke singing taking place on Friday night. It was quite loud since we clearly heard it all the way upstairs, but we didn't mind. The hotel is not located in the busy part of San Pedro which was good and felt more like a vacation. If you walk along the beach for about 15-20 minutes, you will be in the busy area with lots of restaurant and bar choices. Overall, a wonderful place to stay with very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinyAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

...I stayed there overnight when I arrived in Belize in order to check out San Pedro before heading up to the Portofino Beach Resort.

It's an older establishment but it was clean, quiet and just far enough away from the busy section. Staff were courteous, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: Get a beach facing room, not much to see looking out towards the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here Jan. 25 - Feb 5, 2014. It was our 4th trip to Ambergris Caye and 2nd time in a row to stay at Corona Del Mar. Both times, ocean front room. Love this place! Frank is awesome! Always around to lend a helping hand, give a kind word and just put a smile on your face! He loves to play horseshoes on the beach with you. He say's: "I'm not very good! But I LOVE TO PLAY!" Truly love this guy! Kenny and Margie at the bar are great also! Kenny even took us to the Chicken drop and showed us the ropes! The front desk staff always helpful and friendly. You feel part of the family when you stay here. Nice bar. - convenient to charge to your room. Room has decent size "mini fridge", a microwave, a safe, desk, big screen tv (rarely if not ever used!). They replenish your water jug each day when they clean the room. ONLY thing I did not like is the wireless internet. Unfortunately I have to do some work while on vacation and I had to spend way too much time messing with the internet connection (or lack of) I HOPE they can resolve this. hint-hint.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TricW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

After a ridiculous amount of research, we chose Corona del Mar for our 4 night stay on Ambergris.
The hotel is one of the closer resorts to San Pedro- easy 15-20 minute walk from town, but far enough to be away from the hustle bustle.
Our pool view second story balcony room was large and comfortable with 2 queen beds, safe in room, fridge, and hot shower, as well as a/c. From Our large picture window we could see the crystal turquoise waters of the sea.
We loved the small pool, free wi-fi, friendly bar & restaurant on site, and especially the large water front sandy beach with plenty of hammocks and comfy beach loungers.
Off the private dock one could swim, fish, or snorkel, or just read and enjoy the view.
Helpful fellows at Ruff n Tuff worked diligently to find the perfect half day snorkel trip and sunset cruise with Lady Leslie. Big Frank kept the rum punch flowing and the lovely free breakfast went a long way to stave off eating out.
Belize was slightly more expensive then we expected, but not too bad.
We would definitely return!

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank cathigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I didnt stay at the hotel I walked upon the bar while taking a stroll down the beach. Kenny the bartender was great. the food was average. nice views & the temp was very cool under at the bar area. variety of people

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GeauxGyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Clean room. Reasonable price. Friendly staff. It was nice to be on the water and within walking distance to downtown area. It was also nice to grab some toast and fruit every morning before we headed out for the day.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idahopatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#30 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#33 of 55 in San Pedro
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 55 in San Pedro
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#38 of 55 in San Pedro
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#36 of 55 in San Pedro
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#22 of 55 in San Pedro
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments, your home away from home. A nice beautiful 15 minutes walk along the beach to town. Not too far from town but yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy our free rum punch and fruit punch all day long. Once you are here, leave everything to us. We guarantee your vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Hotel And Apartments
Corona Del Mar San Pedro
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing