We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Blue Tang Inn”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Everytime we come back to the Blue Tang Inn, it feels like we are coming to our second home. The staff is excellent! Every single one of them. Allan and Fanny can make anything happen!! The hotel is extremely clean, the breakfast that is available every morning is great!! The pool is always clean, Eric cleans it each morning!!
The location is very good, close to many many things, bars, supermarket, beer truck, just great.
We always stay in Suite 6 and enjoy our "private" balcony very much!!
You cannot go wrong staying at the fab Blue Tang Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swebb10392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Blue Tang Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was in Belize with 11 others for an adult only church mission trip to Holy Cross Anglican School. This hotel was a good choice - withing walking distance of both the school to the north and the downtown area to the south and within our budget. The accommodations were great - each unit had a full kitchen with all necessary utensils including a blender and coffee maker. There were either one or two queen beds (very comfortable) in each room, a futon and a kitchen table and chairs. No TV but we didn't want one. The air conditioning and the shower worked great, no lack of hot water. Each floor has a water dispenser available so you don't have to keep buying bottled water. The pool was nice and clean, lots of deck chairs. They provide breakfast every day from 7 to 10. (coffee starts at 6:30) It includes coffee, juice, milk, cereal, yogurt, fruit (mostly watermelon) and either waffles or pupusas (a soft, puffy tortilla folded in half with chicken and cheese inside). There is a small deck on the roof which offers great views. The setting is picturesque as the hotel is right on the beach. There is a quiet, cool courtyard. The only drawback is that some of the rooms are on a side near a bar so it can get loud on weekends. But some ear plugs helped the people with that problem (room #2 for example). Allan, the desk person, was extremely pleasant and helpful. He knew how to take care of everything - golf carts, reservations, etc. Our group has been to the island twice before and this place was by far a better choice. I had room #7 on the second floor in the middle facing the ocean. Beautiful view in the morning. We didn't have any noise from above or below or next door. Note - there is no elevator so think about that if you want the third floor. The hotel faces east so you can see the sun rise but you would need to be on the rooftop deck to see the sun set.

Room Tip: Room #2 is on the first floor and faces the side road and a bar - too noisy. Room #7 is on the seco...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizatutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was my second stay at the Blue Tang having been there in April 2011. I loved it! The staff is courteous and helpful. The grounds people work hard every day so that everything is well, cared for and clean. The room I was in this time was quite large with a king bed. There was a full kitchen so I could cook if I wanted to. I didn't! But it was great to have room for drinks and water in the full size fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. Remember though this is not a 5 star resort but a wonderful Inn. It does remind me of a sixties accommodation. There is no TV which I think is a plus. They provide plenty of bottled water (bring your own bottle to fill up for the day) so I never had to buy water. It is towards the end of town, making it easy to walk all over yet not noisy. There are snorkeling trips run from the Inn (didn't do one this time) and they also have golf carts you can rent. The Inn is right on the beach and there is a pool where they serve breakfast in the morning. I will return again when I go back to Belize next year. Everything is easy at the Blue Tang for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara115de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Blue Tang Inn in SanPedro and Enjoyed the roof top view of both the Sunset and Sunrise. I have to say the staff was the Best and treated me with serviceand great respect. The service was excellent in the hotel and I happen to be there when the Owners Bruce and Lisa was there. As well as Curt Fisher and Debbie. It was such a pleasure sharing with them and Bonus!! they allowed me to sail on the Wonderful sailboat, "Punta Azul"
All in all a great stay and encounter with the Barrier Reef!!
Ernie Chris

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

On sunday,February 10,2013, we were met at the airport in San Pedro by Rueben to take us to the Blue Tang. He was very helpful in explaining the area of San Pedro for us, this being our first trip to Belize. When we arrived we were met outside by some of the staff at the Blue Tang and warmly welcomed. Check in went smoothly and we were escorted to our beautiful room overlooking the Caribbean. We had looked at the pictures online but they never done justice to what met us. Needless to say, we were impressed. Fanny and Allan were very accommodating and helpful. Hats off to all the staff for a job well done. We were lucky enough to meet the owners while there and enjoyed their company also. Wonderful time and beautiful place. We are looking forward to our next stay here. Put this on your bucket list and do it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous stay at the Blue Tang Inn. The location and views from the the 2nd and 3rd floor ocean facing units were incredible (loved seeing the water, we live in the desert)! Fanny and Allan, the on-site managers, are extremely helpful and efficient. Fanny even made reservations for us on Tropic Air. The inn has their own specially designed sailing boat which offers snorkeling trips and sunset cruises. The boat's 2 man crew couldn't have been better, one guided us snorkeling to unique areas, pointing out different fish, and making sure we were safe while the other tended to the boat. Had a wonderful three days. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean on the 2nd & 3rd floor have lovely views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucs0nSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for a week and for a first timer to the island it was the perfect location. We could walk everywhere we needed to go and when we chose to venture out a little, they have golf cart rentals. The room was just as pictured (we stayed in #14) and even had a nice very of the ocean out the side window. There wasn't a tv and we had to pay $5 a night for one but I see a flat screen is now in the description.
Beach was nice and there is a small pool to cool off in. Overall, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Owners suite is VERY NICE! Room 14 has 2 windows looking out to a well lit shared hallway, made it t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchnrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
533 reviews
3.2 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing