We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to San Pedro- Loved this place!”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time to San Pedro- Loved this place!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Blue Tang Inn in San Pedro, Belize (1 week ago) for our one year anniversary and it was amazing! It was my first time to the island and we were looking for a fun, mid-to-higher end quality spot on the beach without spending a fortune and this was the perfect spot! The staff was very welcoming and our room was like a mini studio apartment. It had a fridge, full kitchen, seating area with a roundtable to play cards or have snacks as well as a big comfy bed. The cleaning service came through everyday as well and did a great job. The Hotel had a nice smaller pool, a shaded seating area practically on the beach and an awesome roof deck with a few lawn chairs. The views were amazing! They also served complimentary breakfast by the pool every morning which included a delicious waffle maker, cereal, coffee, juice, toast, etc. They even provided us a complimentary cab as we checked out which was unexpected! I would highly recommend this spot if you're looking for a little more space (in the room) for a decent rate and right on the ocean. This is a perfect spot for a romantic getaway as well as for smaller families. Next time we go, we're definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Kristina, thank you for this wonderful review of Blue Tang Inn! So happy you enjoyed your stay the Inn and our service! Thanks for sharing these great photos, too!!
-Kristin Lamoureux
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    124
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
114
234
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Blue Tang Inn was an incredible place to stay: clean and modern rooms; friendly and helpful staff; the best views of the ocean and lagoon; Wonderful beachfront; easy access to the town and nightlife; and the best sailing, fishing, and snorkeling trips available on the island! I highly recommend the Blue Tang Inn and will be back next winter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njp1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thanks for the great review, Nick!!
- Kristin, Fanny and Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed at the BTI from 3 Mar for a week. Absolutely wonderful hotel. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially Allan. He will arrange absolutely anything for you and he does so efficiently with a smile. I had room 18 - Great views over the beach and ocean. Make sure that you watch the sun rise/set from the roof balcony. This was a perfect place to stay in AC. It's on the beach and a minutes walk from all the restaurants downtown. Truly convenient. We dove for a week at Chuck and Robbies which is 2 mins walk on the beach. This place is HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: Room 18 and the "owner's suite" are probably the best rooms. Try and get a room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duiker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you so much for this Fantastic review!! We really appreciate when our guests let us know what they loved. And we share your comments with the entire staff.

Thanks,
Kristin Lamoureux, Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Second time to San Pedro, first time to Blue Tang, but not the last! The resort is modern, well run, safe, and has a great location. Rooms come with full kitchen which is great if you want to cook a meal or two in but frankly, with all of the great restaurants within a 5 minute walk my kitchen just got a bit of microwave action. The rooms are well appointed and clean, and housekeeping does a great job as well. Front desk staff from reservation confirmation to departure was just terriffic!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max2lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

After our stay in the jungle it was a welcome sight. The staff is so helpful. A special thanks to Allan who made it all possible. I wasn't sure how much diving I wanted to do so he arranged a refresher course for myself and my husband. I wasn't comfortable enough for the Blue Hole so my husband and daughter decided to dive that the next day. Allan suggested I do the dive in the marine reserve which was perfect. At the last minute we decided that we wanted to go to the Myan ruins and Allan made sure it happened. We are very grateful because it is a trip we will remember forever. My husband enjoyed that Wet Willy's bar which was on the pier directly across from the Inn and that he could eat the ceviche every day at one of the local rest restaurants. The upper deck is wonderful to enjoy for sunning or viewing the spectacular sunsets. We hope to come back again to enjoy the diving, food and friendly people of Belize.

Angela F.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Staff were friendly. Rooms were clean and had kitchenettes. Right in the beach close to bars, restaurants and town. After looking around the price was perfect for what and where you were. Air conudtionung was cold abd beds were comfy. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel7604628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Tang Inn in Belize. Friendly staff and very helpful. Good tips for places to eat, things to do. The rooms and the grounds were kept very clean by friendly staff persons. We found plenty to do, including just sitting around the pool or in the hammock after a couple hours of snorkeling. We particulary were fond of walking across the beach area to the Wet Willys (a suggestion from Alan) for lunch or dinner, or just a beverage. The breakfast served every morning in the pool area is a great bonus. Looking forward to going again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms good for anyone with "stairs" issues. If you want to sleep in late, bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing