We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great trip”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great trip”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Blue Tang was perfect! It's small and quaint, with a really nice staff! All of the people we meet on San Pedro were very friendly, but Allan and Franny and Alfonso and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. They hooked us up with a really great dive operation named Chuck and Robbies, and we really got a lot of great dives in while we were there. The Blue Tang is very low key, so it was fun and relaxing at the same time. If you're looking for a snooty, fancy hotel this is not for you, but if you want a comfortable, clean room right on the beach with a really nice staff this is the place to stay!
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    126
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
118
236
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Blue Tang Inn is small, charming, clean and has a great location on San Pedro. Allan and Franny are wonderful hosts and they are definitely to people to book your tours with. They know the area well and we had no problems with any of our snorkeling or other tours. We even went out on the sailboat owned by Blue Tang. The kitchens in the rooms make it easy with children.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay again when visiting and diving or snorkeling in Belize.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After landing at the airport in San Pedro, called the Blue Tang, and someone came and picked us up. Found out we could have walked there, but you really don't want to walk the streets and beach with your luggage in tow. The hotel is clean, and the entire staff is friendly and courteous. Had some good recommendations for tours and restaurants from the front desk. We wanted some local cuisine and there are plenty of choices. We were close to a lot of conveniences like a grocery store, pharmacy, and ATM. Although it was the rainy season, one morning our 1/2 day snorkel tour was cancelled, and we just sat and relaxed. Belize is a great place for couples with all the water activities. Going to the mainland takes about an hour on boat, so know that when planning trips to see the Mayan sites. If you land at the Belize airport, you can take the local airline and takes 15 minutes to San Pedro. By boat, 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Overall, we highly recommend the Blue Tang Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuyMuySuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Not once did we feel like we were strangers. Allan, Fanny and Kristin really do make you feel like you are welcomed. The rooms were good sized and clean. Love having kitchens in the rooms. So you could have some of your meals in the comfort of your room. Also loved laying by the pool and hearing the local children playing in the ocean. I like taking an afternoon nap in the sun, but not in the sand. Robbie & Chucks Dive operation and Wet Willy's Smokehouse were a great recommendation and would go there again. When you travel, you are never quite sure what to expect, YES I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks for everything Allan, Fanny and Kristin. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: There was no bad room. You pay extra for the better view. Better views are in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at the Blue Tang for our SCUBA trip with our dive club. The office staff were excellent for checking in, help during our stay and the checkout process. The flights from Belize City were arranged, and even though our flights were delayed, the staff stayed to pick us up and make sure we got to our rooms. The hotel is right on the beach, a very short walk to a great bar and restaurant, and walking distance from the dive shop at Chuck and Robbie's. the rooms were clean, air conditioned, and had a full kitchen. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TuxMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Blue Tang Inn and Scuba Diving in Belize!! What a wonderful opportunity for our small hotel to host your Dive Club!! It is very important to all of our staff to provide our guests with wonderful service. Great to hear you felt taken care of!
Thanks again for sharing your comments.
Kristin Lamoureux
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, fl.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I had spent several weeks researching Ambergris Caye and San Pedro before I made my trip. I read many reviews of various hotels but in several cases the red flags were flying at full mast. I then found the Blue Tang Inn, was impressed with the reviews, and decided to book with them. I can tell you that the rooms are very comfortable and there are three great outside workers that spent each day cleaning the pool and surrounding area and providing security for the hotel and assistance for anything a guest needs. Victor, one of the workers, even climbed a palm tree to get us a coconut which he cut and served to us. The area is quiet and directly on the beach. I have a disability with my back and have to be careful with the things that I can do. Allan and Fanny, who both work the Inn’s front desk, spent a lot of time to assist me in booking adventures that I felt I could do. They are all wonderful people and we now consider them our friends. Yes, we will go back and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 on the top floor which got the ocean breezes, but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsteelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We love the title of this review!!! How Sweet It Is!!!
Blue Tang Inn staff are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the nice comments.
We'll share with the entire staff- Fanny, Allan, Victor, Eric, Blanca, Tino, etc...

Kristin Lamoureux
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Our dive club stayed at Blue Tang Inn from June 9 - 16, 2013. The rooms were clean and, more importantly, well air conditioned. The staff were all great. Our dive shop (Chuck & Robbie's) was just a short walk up the beach, which was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again and would happily recommend Blue Tang Inn to anyone visiting San Pedro, Belize.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,041 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
530 reviews
3.5 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing