We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We go to San Pedro several times a year and have stayed in various places. We really liked the location of the Blue Tang. It is far enough away from the night clubs that it is quiet at night. It is close enough to everything that a 10 minute walk on the beach gets you to most destinations. It is located on a quiet stretch of beach on the edge of town. Behind the hotel is a local neighborhood. On the weekends, local kids jump off of a neighboring dock, and others play soccer on the adjacent beach. Certainly it is possible to find quieter places, but we love the people of San Pedro and enjoy seeing their kids being kids.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had a nice kitchenette and a wonderful whirlpool tub just right for warming up after a long day of diving. Our only complaint was that the bed was a bit squeaky. The linens were clean and the housekeepers were unobtrusive, but thorough. The AC was flawless.

Check in was very efficient and we were met at the San Pedro air strip by the hotel's driver. We left Philadelphia at 6am and were diving that afternoon. What more could you want?

The pool was under construction during our stay, so we did not use it. The roof deck is a great look out, but there is no shade up there at all, so we visited it only briefly to avoid being burned.

Our room did not have a view, but the view from the balcony outside our room was fabulous. The reef breaks about 1/4 mile from shore in front of the property.

There is not bar or restaurant on the property, but several are within a few foot steps of the gate.

Overall, Blue Tang has a great vibe, nice accommodations, and represents a fantastic value.

Room Tip: I might shy away from a room that is on the ground level along the public street. It might be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the nice review of your stay at Blue Tang Inn. We so agree with your comment, "we love the people of San Pedro and enjoy seeing their kids being kids." - That is definitely what attracts us year after year to San Pedro and why we love the location of Blue Tang Inn!

Thanks again for your comments. We appreciate it.

Kristin Lamoureux
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    122
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
111
225
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I can't say enough about the staff at Blue Tang. They are an excellent working team and went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. Fanny, Alan,Eric ,Nelson,Adolfo,Milo,Blanca, Imelda and Carmen were caring and very attentive to all our needs. We will be forever grateful to them. Although we did not meet the night security, we are thankful that he was there for us. The facility is very comfortable. Although the plunge pool is small, it afforded a cooling off. We would not hesitate to stay there again. We miss it already. A special hug goes out to Fanny who was very considerate and understanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monaSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysboro
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Wife and I went to San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize in 2003. Yes I know I am ten years plus late on this review, so take it for what it's worth. We had a fantastic time on this rather small island. You can walk from one end to the other in a few hours, or rent a golf cart and cover everything in an hour. People are very friendly and welcoming, english is the spoken language, most of the time. Snorkling with the nurse sharks and sting rays was a blast. Beach is narrow in some areas. Loved getting up early to watch the fisherman leave in the boats and return later with the days catch. Quaint little fishing village, not all touristed up with trinket shops and the like. Blue Tang Inn was a little dated at the time, but still very clean and staff was excellent. We also had 3 nightly concerts performed by The legendary Jerry Jeff Walker, just outside the hotel down the pier at Wet Willies Bar. You just can't beat that type of entertainment. I would go back in a second if the flights were a little easier to manipulate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldnway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

There is no other hotel in San Pedro that compares to the Blue Tang Inn. If you stay at any other place you are missing out on the best of the best. Every employee, from management to maintenance, is congenial and gracious. The property was clean, inside and out. Book it, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: From unit 12, you can see the sunrise from bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have nothing but Kudos for the Blue Tang. The Inn has a beautiful setting on the beach and is within walking distance of most restaurants and shops in San Pedro and even the airport for more dedicated walkers. The building itself is charming and well maintained and my room was clean, quiet, and spacious. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful and their recommendations of local restaurants, shops and services were spot on. Highly recommended to all.

Jim Hawthorne

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Blue Tang Inn the first week of February 2014. Allan Lima and Kristin Lamoureux were very helpful and accommodating in helping us select the perfect room for us. It was the largest on the property with the most privacy. Actually, the room is a suite as it has a full kitchen. We had a view of the ocean and of Sand Piper Street (a little side street). We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and watching the sunset and the activity along the little street during the day and in the evening. Allan was extremely helpful in helping us book snorkeling trips and sailboat trips. He also recommended some excellent restaurants. Everyone who works at the hotel is friendly and helpful. The pool is very clean. What else can I say? We had a wonderful stay and nothing at all to complain about!

Room Tip: Suite #11 is the most private and the largest room/suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We loved our stay--beautiful room, beautiful setting, beautiful view. Easy to walk to fun places and great restaurants. Helpful, friendly staff. We drove all over the island, and are totally convinced--this is the best place on Ambergris Cay!

Room Tip: Spend a few dollars more and stay in the Owners Suite--it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgkukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of Blue Tang Inn! We always appreciate hearing from our guests what they loved best!

With sincere thanks!
Blue Tang Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing