We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute inn”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Pete, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very cute inn”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed at the Blue Tang and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was great and friendly, especially Pablo. There were issues such as the noise from Wet Willies and people being loud about 2 a.m. but that isn't the fault of Blue Tang Inn. All it took was someone in the house across the street to yell "move on" and all was quite again. The tub in room 10 does feel like it will give way, but when we went into other rooms down lower to check them out it looked liked they were being redone. It just takes time when your on a island. The pool was clean and kept up, and rooms kept clean with fresh towels and sheets. The breakfast consisted of fruit, juice, coffee, and one of the following fresh waffles, french toast, banana bread, scone type biscuit, and toast. The breakfast was always out when we got up, and you will get up early in Ambergris Caye (THE SUNRISE STARTS ABOUT 5AM). I would certainly go back and stay at the Blue Tang, and Dive with Chuck and Robbie they were really great.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    126
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
118
236
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My friends and I enjoyed our recent stay at Blue Tang. The location was great. We were glad we had the pool to relax in. Some of the staff could of been friendlier but it didn't bother me much. We were in room 11 which was very big and had a kitchen. AC worked great. Beds were comfortable. It is within walking distance to restaurants, grocery store and dive shops. I would return to Blue Tang and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

This is a charming little hotel with an in town location and good price is perfect. It is like really being at the beach instead of in a high rise on a patch of sand. The hotel garden is pretty and the pool is wonderful
for cooling off . The rooms (at least the room we had) was complete with
well equipped kitchen and there are two good grocery stores just a block away. It is like a big old colonial beach house along the shore. The staff is efficient and pleasant. The continental breakfast leaves a little to be desired so you might want to supplement it with yogurt or some sort of cereal or eggs. The price was very good and the staff efficient, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blithspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We have returned to San Pedro going on 11 years, our first two years were
spent at Rocks Inn (now known as Blue Tang Inn) it seems that every time we
visit the new owners have added something new to improve what I have always
thought was perfect. The location is close to everything and very quiet and
it is small enough to become friendly with the staff which are always
willing to help in anything and everything you ask of them. I only wish I
could keep my house as clean and neat as the housekeeping staff does at the
Blue Tang. I'm going to mention the beds because as a traveler there is no
place like your own bed....... well I must say I'm as snug as a bug in a
rug, great sleep no pains, thank you for the comfortable beds, your
hospitality and all that make our vacation wonderful.

Hope to see you all next year,
Stan & Flo McWillis

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Belize, where we stayed in room #10 at the Blue Tang Inn. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff helpful. We had fresh towels in our room daily, and beach towels when we needed them. The Blue Tang is also walking distance to some good restaurants and to two supermarkets.

The breakfast was average -- fresh fruit for the most part, but some frost-bitten pineapple was served one morning. Also replenishment of most food items was spotty and slow.
The so-called jacuzzi in our room was non-functioning, and the tub felt like it would give beneath us. Also, on more than one occasion, the water in the shower smelled terrible. The advertised private balcony wasn't much of a balcony, and the ocean view was mostly blocked by trees. The pool was also tiny, and there wasn't a beach in front of the hotel to speak of.

Our biggest disappointment, however, was the location. Most nights we were kept up or awoken several times during the night by the loud music from Wet Willies (local dive bar), taxi horns blaring and drivers talking loudly (the taxi drivers congregate right outside the hotel nightly) and barking dogs, noisy carts and motorcycles.

There were several other hotels we found while we were in Ambergris Caye that were quiet, cute, clean, unpretentious and cost half as much as the Blue Tang. Unfortunately, once you make a reservation at the Blue Tang, you are locked in, so we couldn't leave. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, which we were, look into some of the hotels on the north end of the island.

We will be returning to Belize, but not to the Blue Tang Inn. Also, we will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank rojo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We had a third floor balcony room with a view of the beach. The room was clean and cozy and the staff was very nice. We went though the hotel to book a fishing tour and a snorkle trip. Both were great. Continental Breakfast in the morning with a view of the beach was great, and we also liked the deck overlooking the town . Location was great for riding the caye caulker water taxi. The hotel is close to tons of restaurants and bars, but still quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We have been visiting Belize for 8 years. The past 7 years we have stayed at the Blue Tang Inn. It is always wonderful. The staff is always great, from housekeeping to everyone in the office we have always been treated like family. Over the years we have got to know everyone and I believe that everyone has got to know us a little. The
fact that the staff generally stays the same makes it very nice. When I am making our reservations; it is nice to be able to put a face with a name. I would never dream of staying any place else.

The Blue Tang Inn is located in the perfect spot in San Pedro. It is within a short walk to the grocery store and all the delicious food found on the island.

The thing that my wife and I look forward to at the Blue Tang is breakfast by the pool each morning. Just the thought of that makes me want to book a flight to Belize.

Out of all the places that we have been fortunate to visit, Belize and the Blue Tang is the only place we return each year.

Thank you and all the rest of the staff for making our stays memorable. Don't change a thing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffyColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,041 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
530 reviews
3.5 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing