We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anothere great week @ Blue Tang Inn”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Just got back from our fifth year of spending a week in San Pedro. Stayed at the Blue Tang Inn again and, as usual, it was great. Clean comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and a nice private pool area. We love the location - just north of town so you can walk to everything, but far enough away to be reasonably quiet. And our favorite dive operator, Robbie at Chuck & Robbie's, is a short walk up the beach. Already reserved rooms for next year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allrightguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Blue Tang Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

Our first trip to Belize for a couple of "oldie moldie's" included four nights in Ambergris Caye. We had enlisted the help of a local travel agent to book hotels and inter-island flights for our stay and her first suggestion was the Blue Tang Inn on Ambergris Caye. It proved to be a great choice.

San Pedro is very small - main downtown area only a mile long or so. The Blue Tang is located at the north end just a short distance from what they call the, "cut." It sits right on the beach, which is well maintained. It's a three story hotel (with a fantastic viewing deck on what would be the fourth floor) with 14 rooms. My wife, after viewing the pictures of the rooms on their website wanted one of the best suites available - that would be suite #10 (which we booked) and suite #15, both situated on the third floor. I took a peek through the window of suite #15 (there were no guests in the room at the time) and I believe the layout of #10 is the best.

We were not disappointed in any way. The room was fantastic! Gorgeous, vaulted ceilings of Belizean hardwood, hardwood floors, full kitchen with everything you need, dinette area, huge king bed plus a futon and a very large bathroom, air conditioning and two ceiling fans. There were plenty of "nick-knacks" decorating the room that made you feel right at home. Plus, there was all the deck space outside that was terrific for having a drink and taking in the wonderful views. No TV (could rent for a daily fee) and no telephone - we didn't miss either. There are two huge, sliding windows that face the ocean, and when opened offer wonderful tropical breezes and fantastic views. In fact, you only have to set-up in bed to see the ocean waters and view the fantastic sun rise above the reef in the early morning.

They serve a complimentary continental breakfast that was great. You could get some fresh fruit, rolls, make yourself a waffle (not everyday) or maybe a "fry jack" and some very tasty coffee with the best cream I've ever had. We could choose to enjoy the light breakfast by the pool and mingle with other guests or take it upstairs by our room for a better view of the wonderful sights and enjoy our time together by ourselves.

Allan and Fanny, the managers, are very accommodating, as are the rest of the staff. They took the extra effort to put together a special half-day snorkel and sailing trip that we wanted (we didn't want to go on a full-day trip) on the hotel's private sail boat. David and Pablo (employees) saw that the trip was exceptional for everyone.

Can't go without mentioning Wet Willy's. It sits at the end of a long pier just in front of the Blue Tang. It's a well known local bar and eatery known for "Taco Tuesday's" and the infamous "Ladies" night (Wednesday or Thursday), where the gals get 'free' rum shooters. I asked the owner, "Ok, free rum shooters. Just how many do they get?" She answered, "As many as they can ask for." Ladies night is a "big" local thing and goes on until 1:00 am or so. So, be prepared - it gets loud.

Most of the action is south of the Blue Tang Inn - it just depends on how much you want to walk. There's many places - restaurants, bars, shopping - in easy distance. Just a block away there are two, large grocery stores that have about everything you might need - which in our case were "liquid" refreshments. I would suggest you get a golf cart (main mode of transportation - we chose Carts Belize - note: they do limit how far north you can go because the road is quite poor and very rough) for at least one day to explore both north and south to get a good feel of Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HubieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have stayed at The Blue Tang twice and both times have been great! The rooms are a very nice size, with a well-stocked kitchenette, and are immaculately clean. The best thing about Blue Tang? The Staff! The service is excellent. Allan in the office will arrange all kinds of fun activities for you, the ladies that clean and put out breakfast are so friendly and helpful, and Pablo is the gem in the crown! The highlight of our last trip was going out on Pablo's sailboat on a marvelous snorkeling trip. I will definitely stay at Blue Tang on my next trip, which can't come soon enough!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvbelizeTroy_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

One of our favorite hotels on Ambergris, we have been to the island many times and repeatedly stay at the Blue Tang. The rooms are large and clean with kitchens, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the air conditioning works great! The rooftop deck is a great place to enjoy a beer and the morning breakfasts are simple but tasty. The pool is small but just fine for cooling off.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgettravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed here for 9 days, 2 days in Room 7 which was kind of mildew smelling and and Room 5 which was next to the golf cart path and the want-to-musician that plays the guitar at midnight and the drums at 7am.. I think the rooms on the other side (except of the first level where you can hear the workers talking, would have been quieter). They were redoing a few of the rooms, so maybe Rm 7 was on the list. Otherwise, the rooms have pretty much everything you needed...blender, can opener, frig, toaster etc. The upstairs deck was also great to hang out for your private cocktail hour. The pool was small but nice and if you like Corn Flakes, the breakfast would be ok although they usually have waffles too. Kristin was very helpful with booking the trip and answered all my questions right away which was impressive. I would recommend waiting til you arrive though, to book activities though as you can just walk out your door and get about 10-15% less, especially if you book 2 or more activities with the same dive/snorkel shop. Plus the weather was cold the first 2 days so we were glad that we hadn't planned & paid for anything. The thing about this hotel that bugged me is that they tried to upsell you on most everything. The kicker was at checkout when they suggested that you leave 10% of your bill! That was ridiculous...$180 to have the beds made & room cleaned. Of course we didn't leave that.

We loved the night snorkel but we did not like that you had to follow the guide around during the daylight snorkels. You don't have much time to take pictures. That didn't work very well when you have more then 4 people because when the guide stopped to point out something, you bump into each other if you weren't paying attention....I think e we would where try further south in Placencia if we return although will need to research if it is like that too. We also did the Bacalar Chico trip which was okay but one of the stops was on a very trashy beach. Luckily one of the guides had a friend at another part of the island and that was a very nice place to stop. Not sure why they sent to that first place. Be sure to bring bug spray, as though no see um's are at the first place and also at the museum where you stop for about 15 mins to pay the park fee. The 3 places we stopped to snorker were good but we thought we were going to Mexico Rocks and that didn't happen. Maybe are misunderstanding...we used Seafarious and they were right on time and I think is was worthwhile. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank just1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleKristin, Owner, Marketing Director at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2010

In response to this review, the management at Blue Tang Inn would like to clarify a few points.
1. Blue Tang Inn is located in town, which is convenient and fun. If there is noise outside our guest rooms at night or in the morning and our guests notify our staff of this issue, we will address it immediately. We understand the importance of a good night's rest.

2. Blue Tang Inn front desk will assist our guests in creating custom packages ahead of time for those that want to have a basic itinerary to go by. Or, we will make activity reservations for you once you are staying at the hotel. All pre-arranged activities can be cancelled 24 hours prior to the date of service with no charge. We have selected activity suppliers that provide consistent good service that meet our guest's expectations and provide wonderful experiences. We charge the rate that each supplier gives to us with no add'l fees. If a person chooses to go out on their own and negotiate with a supplier, then we cannot guarantee their experience. And the supplier is free to offer whatever special price they want to. The advantage of booking through the front desk is that we do the arranging for you, we work with great suppliers, we will negotiate any issues on your behalf, we will charge your room so you can just pay at check-out.

3. Staff suggested gratuity vs. service charge
Most hotels in San Pedro charge a mandatory 10% service charge at the time of reservation.
So instead of just adding 9% hotel tax, they charge 19% on top of the room rate to cover both tax and service charge.
Blue Tang Inn made the decision that we want our staff to provide excellent service and give you a reason to tip them.
So we only charge the 9% tax and give our guests the option to tip whatever they want. Because we don't add the service charge, we must let our guests know that gratuity was not included. We "suggest" 10% as many guests ask us for a guideline.

Sincerely,
Blue Tang Inn Owners/ Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I could not say better things about our 4 day stay here between Xmas & New Year. The rooms are large (we stayed in #9), spotless, excellent A/C, hot shower w/ good water pressure, and fresh towels provided every day. There's a good kitchen area in each room, in case you ever feel like cooking or eating in, or just stocking the refrig. w/ Belikins for drinking on your balcony! We had large amounts of laundry that they did on our first day (we were in Miami & Belize jungle for the 5 days prior to staying here and went thru multiple changes of clothes/day)...they returned our clean clothes to us 3 hrs later and the price was $7.50 USD, which I thought was cheap! There are 2 supermarkets (one has an ATM) within 2 min. walking distance of the hotel. The grounds are spotless, and there is a great rooftop deck w/ plenty of seating and great views of the ocean & town. The location of the hotel is also perfect - on the quieter north side of town, right on the beach, and a short walk to everything. We felt safe walking on the streets/beach around the hotel late at night. Security from the various hotels patrol the beach area, and the San Pedro police dept is 2 blocks from the hotel.

For activities, everything can be arranged by the hotel. We did the Holchan/Shark Ray Alley snorkel one day and the manatee viewing/beach BBQ (incredible food provided!)/Caye Caulker snorkel/shopping in Caye Caulker. Another day, we just rented a golf cart from the hotel for 1/2 day and puttered around the town to browse galleries/stores, eat lunch at Caroline's Fine Dining (our best meal in San Pedro!). There's also an art gallery owned by a California transplant one or two doors down from Caroline's that has a good selection & very reasonable prices. The town is very small - you can walk from one end to another in 10-15 min, but there are a ton of stores/restaurants in that small area.

After the day's adventures, we'd retreat back to the hotel & drink Belikins & listen to the ocean/enjoy the breeze on our big, personal balcony with an ocean view. A couple of nights, Lunar, the hotel cat, joined me on our balcony. He'd curl up on my lap for hours while I read my book. I'm normally not a cat person, but this is one awesome cat!

Restaurants where we ate during our stay here, besides Caroline's, were Jambel Jerk Pit (great), Celi's Deli (great breakfast), Caramba (my husband enjoyed his meal, but I thought was just OK), My Secret Deli (cheap local place w/ wonderful food!), Waguruma (HUGE portions, w/ big-as-your-head burritos!), as well as some food stands on Front Street for cheap & delicious eats. Fido's has a good bar scene and a great jewelry shop & art gallery on the premises. If you visit San Pedro, don't forget to order a drink called the Panty Ripper, as well as rum punch! Then of course, there's Belikin, which is always in abundance!

Included in the price of the rooms are continental breakfast and pick-up/drop-off from the San Pedro airport. Ruben was our driver - what a sweetheart! The staff here is excellent - all of them, from front desk, to housekeeping, to groundskeepers, to security. Special thanks to Allen for booking our activities, recommending restaurants and for making everything go smoothly, and to Kristen, who was awesome with making our hotel reservations and patiently answering the many questions I had. The staff at Blue Tang were truly the friendliest people who made our stay extra-special.

At the end of our trip, I actually got choked-up b/c I'd miss the people and the place. I'd absolutely recommend the Blue Tang Inn to anyone and I know we'll be returning here soon! We would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TX_Longhorn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

MY mother, sister, family friend and I initially planned to stay at the Blue Tang for 2 days, as we'd rented a house on Caye Caulker. We found Fannie, Allan, Don Pablo, Victor, and all of the ladies to be kind and extremely helpful. After reluctantly checking out and heading to Caye Caulker, my travel mates were mortified that Caye Caulker has geckos (geez!!) on the island, in the house, and therefore demanded that I call Blue Tang and inquire about any vacancies. Allan and Fannie found a room on the first floor for us, and we truly felt as if we'd returned home!! Blue Tang is on the North end of the island, without much of the noise that comes with the speeding vans, and golf carts of San Pedro. If you rent a golf cart, request the gas powered, as the electric is too slow, and the locals are terrible tailgates. :)

I will be returning to Blue Tang and Ambergris Caye!!
Crystal James and family
Long Beach/Santa Maria/San Jose, California

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJsurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
533 reviews
3.2 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing