We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a good value, but did have a few issues”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Tang Inn and in San Pedro in general. There were a few issues, but we didn't really complain about them to the staff so maybe they would have been taken care of if we had.

The Good: We stayed in suite 14. It is upstairs with a "garden view." The view wasn't great, but the room was a nice size, like a studio apartment, with a kitchen and a jacuzzi tub. The hotel is located on the beach in the heart of San Pedro, which was perfect for us. We were able to walk around town with ease and really get a feel for the city. The bed was firm, which I liked but my wife didn't. The front desk staff were great. They helped us book tours, etc. and always were willing to make suggestions and generally help us navigate our vacation.

The Bad: The room didn't smell great at times. We think it was the water / sewer lines and eventually took care of the problem by leaving a small trickle of water running through the tub. Like I mentioned, we didn't complain b/c we only noticed it at night and generally had forgotten about it by the next morning, but it wasn't a pleasant smell! Also, the fridge and freezer smelled like someone had stored fish there, which is entirely possible. It could have used some baking soda or something, but this wasn't a huge deal.

The wireless internet was painfully slow but hey, you are on vacation in paradise and don't need it all that much...

The only other issue we had was minor. they charge you for snorkel gear and use of the kayak. This really shouldn't go in the "bad" section, but is something to be aware of if you stay here.

The okay: the breakfast. It was serviceable. A little fruit and toast is nice in the morning, but is certainly isn't an extravagant spread. If you want a big breakfast walk a few hundred yards down the beach to Lily's. they serve an amazing breakfast at a ridiculously good price.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would consider the Blue Tang again if we wanted to be in the city. if we wanted a quieter retreat we would probably get a hotel on the north end of the island.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Owner at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2010

Thank you so much for your review of Blue Tang Inn. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff have already been notified of your few issues and are correcting immediately for our future guests.
We are so glad to hear that the front desk provided you excellent service and will pass this along to them.
Sincerely,
Blue Tang Inn Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Blue Tang, but had a few small issues.

First, the good: It's a great location, walkable to anywhere in town. Stores and restaurants are all very close. Our room (#12) was large, with full kitchen, a/c, etc. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Though on the high-end of our price range, it was better than a lot of other hotels we previewed. We enjoyed the local flavor of the room.

The issues? The bathroom and decor are a little dated. Not shabby, just feels lived-in. We also encountered numerous pests in the room (ants in the kitchen, a mysterious swarm of flying ants [?] in the bathroom, and three roaches). Yikes! We didn't have the doors open and are pretty clean, so while we know the tropics are filled with bugs, this was still a bit disconcerting.

That said, we enjoyed the outdoor space (the pool is small, but serviceable) and the ability to traverse the town. Allan and staff provided snorkel and swim supplies, advised us on boat schedules, and arranged our flight off the island.

We preferred our stay on the north island (see our review of Cocotal Inn), but were glad we had a few days to explore San Pedro proper.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BzeMermaid, Owner at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2010

Thank you for submitting your review of Blue Tang Inn and are happy to hear you were pleased with the hotel service. We completely understand that having bugs in the room is not pleasant and are addressing this immediately. We hope you suggest Blue Tang Inn to your friends and family and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Blue Tang Inn Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

It started with tons of email to the hotel, heather helped me booked my stay there, and was extremely responsive and I sent a LOT of emails. We could not beat the location, it was located very close to the center of town, but just far enough away from it so it was not noisy or too busy (not that it was when we were there since it was low season. It was located near 2 large super markets, and just a couple of steps to the beach. There isnt much of a beach in front of the hotel but that is normal for all the properties there. The place is kept very clean. Our toilet was busted the first day we were there but they had it fixed fairly quickly. The front desk closes at 5 but there is always a handyman such as Pablo or Victor around to help with anything. I also highly suggest using them for a sailing trip to snorkel with the manatees (david is great in finding them) most under manatee trips are purely sailing trips and you dont get in the water with them. Even though they dont have one scheduled they will try to work on it for you. I got stung by a small Man-of- war and David was very good with the situation, once he got me near the boat, he swam back to the area to look for what may have done it before he came back to me to discover it was tucked under my arm. All in all a great stay. This is a small hotel so dont expect luxury, but it is clean and well kept and the air conditioner works great! They do serve breakfast but only continental, some toast and cereal and one hote item (Pancakes, waffles or jacks). the swimming pool is small but quaint. Only one small issue was the smell that came from the water but i realize later than it is inherent throughout the island, i am just very sensitive about smells.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I had no idea what to expect, but upon arriving to the Blue Tang, I instantly felt at home. The hotel is warm and inviting, and the staff is simply amazing! Though the hotel is right on the beach, the newly-remodeled pool was a nice break for lounging and having a drink with friends. Not only is the hotel a few steps away from the beach, but walking distance to most restaurants, bars and clubs, and hotel golf carts are a nice option for longer excursions.

The staff was knowledgeable and more than happy to help us plan our daily excursions. Through the hotel, we went scuba diving, snorkeling, and sailing, among other things. The rooftop deck, one of the highest vantage points on the island, provided amazing sunsets each night! The Blue Tang was a truly unique and amazing experience and I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kefreeman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Our second stay at the Blue Tang Inn was just as comfortable as our first. The beach front location is ideal near grocery stores and restaurants. We rented bikes to reach the far ends of the island but most things are within walking distance. Golf carts can also be rented at the front desk of the inn.
The complimentary breakfast was delicious. They provided freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, coffee and cereal. The breads varied daily from; hot fry jacks, pancakes, toast or waffles.
All of the staff members were extremely hospitable throughout the duration of our stay. They have truly thought of everything. We went on a half day fishing trip and decided to cook our catch of the day in our fully equipped kitchen. They even provided plastic ware for left overs. We told Allan at the front desk about our plan to cook and he offered the fully equipped grill at the pool side for us to barbeque. Allan also provided us with great recommendations for tours and local eateries. He has a wealth of knowledge regarding Belizean Culture and history.
Our room was in great condition and immaculately cleaned. The grounds were well kept and manicured. The pool is not a large resort sized pool but it was great for a refreshing dip after a day of walking. With the ocean only steps away I didn’t mind having a smaller pool.
Overall, we had a wonderful time and look forward to staying at the inn again in the future.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ShonAkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I've been in different hotels at San Pedro but Blue Tang Inn gets the thumbs up. Allan was very kind with our room accommodation; we got the honey moon suite, which was very neat, spacious and cozy. the hotel is located very conveniently not too close to all of San Pedro's noisy places so you can actually relax on the roof top terrace, read a book on a hammock or just enjoy yourself in the pool.
It was a very nice stay for my wife and I and we certainly are planning to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed at Blue Tang for a week in Room #3 (courtyard/2 double beds). This trip to Belize was one of the best vacations I have ever had! I would definetely stay here again!

The hotel was in a great location, right on the beach, walking distance to two grocery stores and all the restaurants and bars. Room #3 courtyard room had two double beds, a futon bed (great for a 3rd guest) and a full kitchen with kitchen table. It was clean, spacious and quiet. The pool area was clean and always pretty quiet - good thing about Blue Tang is since it is a smaller hotel, there were no kids or large families.

The hotel has free filtered water dispensers on every floor. I drink a lot of water so this probably saved me $30 for the week since I didn't have to buy my own bottled water. There is a large safe in the hotel room that held 2 laptops, cameras, cell phones, money, etc. Free wifi is available in the rooms, although the signal was weak. The rooftop deck has amazing views and you can see all the way to the other side of the island.

The front desk staff was great! They booked all our excursions for us and added the cost to our bill so we paid all at once when we checked out. Beach towels are available to check out from the front desk and you can get a fresh towel every morning. The breakfast was fresh fruit, cereal, waffles, fry jacks, coffee, etc.

We did the Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley excursion on the Sirena Azul sailboat (the hotel sailboat) and had a great time! The sailboat is beautiful and was the best looking boat out there! I would highly recommend taking this excursion from the hotel vs. the other tour companies. When you get out to Hol Chan, it's all high speed boats with 30 people crammed on them - whereas on the Sirena Azul, there was only 7-8 of us and we got to sail out there and enjoy the ride. For the other excursions, all the excursion boats pick you up right in front at the Wet Willys dock. This comes in handy for those early morning excursions (like to the Blue Hole where you get picked up at 5:00am).

We also rented bikes from the hotel for $10 per day and rode down to Victoria House for lunch, then went up north across the bridge to hang out at the Palapa bar. That was one of the most enjoyable days!

The only reason why I give Blue Tang a "Very Good" instead of "excellent" is because one of the beds was a bit saggy, but other than that, it was a great place! I can't wait to go back and would highly recommend this hotel to my friends!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiffany000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
1,052 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
878 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: £86 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing