We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room on the island!”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best room on the island!”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We have stayed at the Blue Tang for 6 years in a row, and have never had anything but a stellar time! The staff is excellent, accomodating and gracious. The sail boat, the Sirena Azul, is wonderful. The coffee and breakfast in the morning is a welcome treat, and we always look forward to returning. This year, we stayed on the top floor, and the sunsets were superb!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    124
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
114
234
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Excellant location in town yet private and comfortable, especially for group travel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMM60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We landed in San Pedro with no place to stay and no expectations. We stopped by several inns and hotels in our search and were pleasantly surprised by the Blue Tang Inn. So much so that we extended our stay for 5 days!!! The staff and management were superb, never missing a beat, and everything was perfect. Great location, amazing ambiance, and spectacular memories. Thank you to all that made our stay in San Pedro, Belize a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrwII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This place is just a bit north of downtown San Pedro, but everything in town is within walking distance, maybe 5-10 minutes. The hotel has complimentary airport transportation service which is really nice. And it is right on the beach! The restaurant next door, Playa Chel, is a great place for lunch, we ate there twice :-). We got a junior suite (room 8) and were pleasantly surprised by how roomy it is. There isn't a tv in the room, you can pay $5 US a day for one, just ask the front desk. Although we didn't use it, the kitchenette is a nice feature.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silly_traveler_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

If you don't like the big hotel's than this might be the place for you. Small quiet clean inn right on the beach with very friendly helpful staff. We stayed on the lower level which was nice because we didn't have to go up and down stairs frequently but room # 1 is right on the street which we didn't know would be so busy so the lights from the golf carts came into the bedroom window. So I would advise a different room. Our room was $84.00 a night at the end off the off season in October. The room was a nice size with a full kitchen. Second and third floor rooms are higher priced. We also discovered the nice balcony on the rooftop that is equipped with tables, chairs and lounges which we would frequent in the evenings with a glass of wine and watch the spectacular sunsets. If you factor in the continental breakfast served every morning by the pool then the room costs become even less if you had to go out for breakfast to a restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This was my second stay at the Blue Tang Inn, I have to say I really felt at home there, I guess what I mean is it's not the kind of hotel that feel's like your basic standard hotel! My room was great with kitchen small dinning area all done in a beautiful hardwood. The air conditioner and all the appliances worked great the bath tub had Jacuzzi jets and shower worked great! I was there during the Hurricane the hotel was totally safe and all the staff were there with my girlfriend and I to see to it that we had everything we needed. The staff make you feel that they really care. I have looked around the Island at all the other hotels and some are newer but twice as much and not as romantic. There is a roof top balcony that gives you a 360 degree view that is unbelievable for sunsets! I can probably go on and on about this place but you need to see it for yourself! Thank's Kristen, Allen, Fanny, Pablo and all the staff for our a really great stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We spent there a week in August. Front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating.
Our room did not have a view (#8) but we did not care as we spent most of the time outside.
Room is very nice, spacious with a little kitchen, large fridge. Air conditioning and ceiling fans worked very well. It was cleaned daily. There is a breakfast every morning which is very nice. The swimming pool is really small.
The hotel is right in San Pedro, just steps from restaurants, shops and dive shops.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing