We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation of A Lifetime!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hol Chan Reef Villas
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Belmopan, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vacation of A Lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

As the winners of the photo contest on Facebook my boyfriend and I were mesmerized on sight at the amazing structure and great effort of the detailed interior design of the hotel and it's room. We arrived on a Wednesday to wonderful managers sue and Joel and left on a Sunday after the Popular Costa Maya Festival. We were placed in an amazing suite(4A) that was definitely worth all the stair climbing. It had all you could think of that you would want in your dream home;marbled counter tops, wooden cupboards, tiled floors and convenient a/c's in each room.The friendly service and care the managers provided for their guests was unbelievable! These wonderful people go the extra mile to assure an unforgettable experience! If a sour note is hit,this place will take you back into heaven with one glance at the glistening sea and cool breeze.Outdoor activities such as bike riding, paddle boarding and kayaking are few of the many amazing things Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas has to offer. Definitely heading back next summer for more activities and the best sleep you wont believe you were living without, because seriously we have never felt so rested! Before we left, we could not leave without a proper thank you to the managers. Hope you enjoyed the pie Sue! Enjoy your stay, have tons of laughs and take loads of pictures! You'll need them to prove to others that there is heaven is a place on earth:)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just came home from Hol Chan Reef Resort where we spent our last week of a two week vacation. We stayed on the 4th floor in a condo that had everything we could hope for. Joel and Sue the property managers really made this last leg of our vacation the most memorable. They arranged everything for us including food when we arrived (homemade brownies were a big hit) as well as beer and breakfast items. They arranged our excursions which included snorkeling and fishing and the last day Sue arranged a scuba day for our sons. They also arranged a golf cart for when we arrived and a taxi when we left. We were extremely happy overall and really would recommend this resort to our friends and family.

Room Tip: no elevator yet so consider this before you choose a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank battis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Hol Chan Reef Resort 2 summers ago and it was a great place for our group of 6 adults. Looks like they've added on since our visit. We had great neighbors next door from Georgia and our upstairs neigbors Becky & Steve were also from Texas however they moved to Belize. Lucky them. Anyhow they showed us around and we had a great stay. The management company hooked us up with a local lady that cooked a wonderful seafood meal. Our group liked to dive and the dive masters would come pick us up at the dock in front. No need to drive in to town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the unit on the first floor in front of the pool and with was like our own private pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat5469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had the opportunity to visit Ambergris Caye, Belize for 9 days in May. We stayed in a 2400sqft, beautifully appointed condominium in the newer building of the Hol Chan Reef Resort. An elevator is being constructed. As of our visit, the elevator outer structure and the bridge(s) connecting both buildings are complete but no elevator is present.

Being from California, we are not used to much heat and humidity. After a full activity day, it was always nice to return to the condo and open all the doors and let the cool ocean breeze flow through while sipping a local beer. Ceiling fans and individual A/C units in all the rooms make for comfortable sleeping at night.

The resort has three onsite pools and BBQ's fronted by a white sand beach with four palm-shaded lounges. The resort also has its own dock with shaded lounge chairs and hammock out on the point. They have a number of onsite bicycles and a couple of kayak's available for guests.

Property managers, Joel & Sue are very knowledgeable about "don't miss" venues and are very helpful with reservations and suggestions to make your stay a very pleasant and memorable vacation.

They arranged for our reservations for our snorkeling & scuba trip to have us picked us up and returned us to the resort's own dock. One of the highlights of our stay was visiting the mainland for a boat tour to climb the Mayan Ruins of Lamenai.

No wetsuits needed. The ocean water, inside the barrier reef, is amazingly warm and clear. Abundant fish, turtles, rays and other varieties of fish make for great photo opportunities. After our dive, they took us out to Shark Ray Alley where we actually swam with the sharks! Turns out that "nurse sharks" are not very aggressive as long as you do not try and "pet" the toothy end ;)

The town of San Pedro is a short 3mi trip by golf cart or ATV. You will not find any mega, big name chain stores or restaurants. Numerous small eateries, restaurants, bars, art vendors, wood carvers, and souvenir shops front the narrow town streets.

Room Tip: High floors have better ocean breeze. A/C is there for when the winds abate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

First floor of paradise, the ocean front views of the mangos, beach and pier are like out of a movie. Condo unit is well equipped with all the kitchen and household amenities for a week long stay. Very private, most traffic is by golf cart or bicycle. Many easy tours available for snorkeling the coral reef, fly fishing for bonefish, tubing through caves and exploring Mayan ruins. The back porch poolside entrance was all too convenient. On site property management and frequent household cleaning made for a carefree vacation. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLBenderMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Hol Chan in the beginning of this year with some of my husband's family. The units are excellent. The place is nice and quiet, was very relaxing, just sorry we had to cut it so short. We had a great time and hope to come and visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We really can't say enough wonderful things about our stay at Hol Chan Reef Resort. It was beautiful, quiet, relaxing but there was plenty to do for an active family with two teenagers. The resort was very quiet and well maintained, our room was beautiful, the two pools were perfect for the kids and lounging, and we had kayaks, paddle boards and bikes available to us at anytime throughout the week. The short, albeit bumpy:) ride into town on the golf cart was great for trying different amazing food every evening and doing a little shopping/sight seeing. Sue and Joel did not steer us wrong with both restaurant recommendations and excursions. We did the snorkeling trip, reef fishing and beach BBQ. All were fabulous and we saw so many beautiful marine creatures snorkeling. Our fave was the beach BBQ which included snorkeling at three spots. I have to say the only thing that was a downside for us but not necessarily bad was not being able to walk out from beach to water and play in the waves but ...the paddle boarding, kayaking and pool made up for this. Also, being close to town and feeling safe enough to run, bike or golf cart there really gave us a different island/ beach experience then we have ever had when so often all there is just the beach and some overpriced touristy restaurants and souvenir shops that you have to drive to. We felt like we got to experience a different culture and foods and everyone was so friendly. We even accidentally overpaid at one restaurant and the owner came out and found us to refund our overpayment! We have to thank the resort managers Sue and Joel again for their hospitality and recommendations. They were always available for our multitude of questions and we really felt like guests in their home. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Actuary69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.9 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#25 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
13.1 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hol Chan Reef Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hol Chan Reef Villas

Property: Hol Chan Reef Villas
Address: 3.5 Miles South of San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Milo's Hotel)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier, 5-star rated destination in Ambergris Caye, Belize, Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas combines the solitude of private, luxurious accommodations with convenient proximity to restaurants and nightlife closer to town. While staying with us, you'll enjoy 3 amazing pools, complimentary kayak and paddleboard access, personal concierge and tour services, and luxurious, spa-like accommodations with everything you need to relax, unwind, and enjoy your Belize vacation! Located 3.5 miles south of San Pedro town, Hol Chan Reef Resort and Villas offers an elevator and two incredible rooftop decks that will WOW you with unobstructed, 360 degree views of the southern part of the island! Additionally, the very close proximity to two of Belize's PREMIER tour destinations - Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark / Ray Alley - means you don't have to go far for some of the best snorkeling and scuba diving in the world! For extra convenience, our onsite tour company will pick you up directly from our dock! Guests of Hol Chan Reef Resort and Villas love our close proximity and easy access to the heart of San Pedro town, while appreciating the relaxing, peaceful atmosphere that being far enough away from the action avails! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hol Chan Reef Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing