We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing setting & staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I definitely recommend Portofino for anyone who is looking for a little all inclusive get away. My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite for 5 days and we could not have made a better choice.
It was remote but they have a free boat to take you to town if you like. The food is amazing! We are vegan and they catered to us very well. Alex is a great server and so friendly, he and the rest of the staff could not be more polite, hospitable or funny.
We used a kayak and some of their equipment to take a 20 minute paddle to a spot near the reef where we could snorkel, that was tons of fun and amazing.
Even if you don't stay here, come for dinner or lunch one day and enjoy the beautiful view and awesome food! LOVE LOVE LOVE Portofino! We will be visiting again!

Room Tip: In May they run a 30% off special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabbyStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

I stayed at portofino for 5 days this april, and had a wonderfull experience.
I stayed at the beach mansion wich had an amazing view of the beautifull clean kept beach and ocean. the room was spacious and clean, and when i arrived it had flowers everywhere (even in the toiletbowl). I came to portofino for some rest and good food and thats exactly what i got and more. Sandra and Jan were great hosts and work hard to make your vacation as good as possible. the restaurant serves great mushroom lentil burgers my favourite for lunch, and their eggs benedict are addictive. their staff is very friendly and attentive, also have alot of local knowledge and can answer all your questions about belize. Sandra had recommended to go deep sea fishing, wow what an experience.
All and all portofino provided me with an amzing vacation and a feeling of a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemarlijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Located about 20 minutes by boat from town, this resort has exactly what you need for a uber relaxed beach vacation. Their restaurant is fantastic, but for those that want a little variety, there are other resorts near by. The roofs are thatch, the furniture is locally made, the rooms are super spacious, and the feel is 100% heavenly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizeanfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We visited the Portofino for our wedding anniversary and the staff made sure we had a wonderful experience. They made all the arrangements for us (transfers via Tropic Air & Mo, the boat captain) and everything went so smoothly! They arranged all of our excursions (a snorkeling trip to Mexico Rocks with BBQ lunch, a trip to the Xunantunich Ruins & canoeing in Barton Creek Caves, and a sailing trip to Caye Caulker with snorkeling stopts at Hol Chan & Shark Ray Alley). For our anniversary, they arranged a couples massage for us as well as a special dinner on our treetop suite patio. It was all absolutely fantastic.

We stayed in a treetop suite (Jasmine) and it was fantastic. We had placed an order in advance with the Mata Grande grocery store... so our mini-fridge was stocked with cold water and beer upon our arrival. The room had a flat screen TV & DVD player (and movies can be signed out from the front desk - but who wants to watch movies in your room when you're in paradise!). The lobby has a computer with wireless internet access for guest use - so if you can't completely unplug from real life, you can check your email. The pool is great - whether you want to sun yourself on chairs in the shallow area or swim out to the deep end!

More than anything, the staff at the Portofino made us feel very welcome & completely relaxed. We were greeted with fruity drinks upon arrival (by Orville) & given an orientation to the property (by Lorraine). In the restaurant, Alex's big smile greeted us each morning and he provided absolutely excellent service. We even ordered breakfast room service two of the mornings and Alex was just as attentive in bringing breakfast to our room as he was in the restaurant. Above all - Gwen, at the front desk - made our trip truly a joy. She was eternally patient with my many questions before the trip and her smile and customer service focus made me happy to see her each day.

We highly recommend the Portofino and look forward to returning to visit in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLC_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

We truly have a wonderful team here at Portofino and we are so happy to hear that they were able to provide you with an unforgettable anniversary.

We will be looking forward to having you with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed at Portofino for 12 nights and it wasn't long enough. The staff was professional, friendly and fun. Orville and Rafi were fun bartenders. Lorane and David were excellent at arranging day trips snorkeling and fishing. The salt water swimming pool was refreshing and fun. The food was wonderful, especially the conch cerviche.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luce08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Thanks for your comments.

It is always great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We spent 12 nights at Portofino and didn't want to leave. The staff were all very professional with a personal touch. The food is good and the ceviche is great. We had an upstairs room set back from the pool which had a great view and offered a lot of privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluerangersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team is very dedicated and loves when our guests are able to enjoy the personal details that is put into ensuring that their stay is just perfect!!

We look forward to welcoming you once again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

From the time we arrived at the airport in San Pedro we were greeted by a smiling Mo, who transported us to Portofino's boat. We had a nice 15 minute boat ride to the resort where we were greeted by the beautiful and smiling Lorraine who took care of all our needs the entire stay. We stayed in the treehouse Sunflower which was very clean and spacious with a king size bed in a 24x24 room, which also had a large deck, hammock and overlooked the pool and the beach. If you want rest and relaxation and great food you will love Portofino. If you want to go to San Pedro they will arrange the boat trip, if you want excursions to the ruins, or snorkeling or diving they will set it up for you. We were there to dive. We spent five days of diving with Ecologic Divers. They were very professional, safety oriented and a lot of fun to be around. Nitrox available. The water temp was 82 and vis was 50-80 ft.
The owners of Portofino, Sandra & Jan van Noord were great to talk with and treated us like friends. What we liked best was the way we were treated and cared for at the resort. The food was excellent with a great choice and specials every night. Lobster, filet mignons, snapper, prawns and much more is the norm. Orville was a great bartender and always had a cold beer waiting for us. We will definitely recommend Portofino to our friends and family. We just left Portofino for home May 10th 2011. The weather is great in May.
Bob & Sherry Jenkins

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimtownDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Many thanks for your wonderful comments! We are a team here at Portofino, and we are thrilled to know that we were able to make you feel at home. It gives us great pleasure to be able to share our little piece of paradise!!

We look forward to welcoming you again for some more diving and Belizean hospitality!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 55 in San Pedro
917 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 55 in San Pedro
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 55 in San Pedro
1,002 reviews
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 55 in San Pedro
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £211 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing