We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portofino Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caye Casa(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Phoenix Resort(San Pedro)
US$463
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
482
130
51
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
130
51
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexico rocksaction diversvip suitewater taxigreen parrothandmade soapshoneymoon suitein towndive shopambergris cayeboat captainfishminute boat ridethatched roofmiles north of san pedrogolf cartgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I would recommend Portofino hotel and San Pedro as a vacation spot to all my friends. Food, pool, rooms and landscaping are all fabulous. The dive shop right in front of the resort is the best in town for exceptional service and a truly unforgettable experience. Only downfall of the resort is it is a 15 min water taxi ride to town. There are only a few free rides per day offered by the hotel so "if you miss the boat" it's $11 USD one way to town. Make sure you take a day trip to Caye Caulker and go to The Lazy Lizzard bar. Local people in San Pedro are amazing. Everyone is so nice. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annikaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the island and your stay with us. Thank you so much for the recommendation as well. We would love to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at Portofino mid January for 7 wonderful days. We felt so welcomed as we got off the boat that brought us from San Pedro to the resort (captained by Mo), met by Raphael at the door of the office with complimentary drinks (he makes an excellent Pina Colada!!), waited on in the restaurant by Flor, John, and Ivan, and had our tours to the Mayan ruins, cave tubing and jungle ziplining, AND a day of snorkeling, fishing, and a beach barbecue all booked by David and Lorraine! What an absolutely warm, helpful, and pleasant staff! The entire resort is gorgeous; we stayed in the beautiful VIP suite, with the immaculate pool just steps away from our front door, and the beach just steps beyond. The food at the restaurant was excellent; we did eat some meals at some other local places, but Portofino's restaurant was our favorite. We highly recommend Portofino Resort, and we will be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad to have been able to share our little piece of paradise with you! The Portofino Family looks forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We travel several times a year and to many international locations. Rarely repeat any, but will repeat this location.

Location: Looking for quiet, private, lacking noisy children (only 17 suites) and away from town PERFECT. 6 miles north from San Pedro so walking to town for mayhem is not easy. Water taxi is $ 11 o/w however the resort has a boat which goes to town 2-3x a day which you can hop on. If you wish to hang in town, then stay closer to town. For us, San Pedro can be seen in a few hours. We looked at all the resorts during our beach bike cruise and defiinitely chose the RIGHT option.
Staff: Superb! Personable and will adjust what they offer to meet YOUR needs.
Restaurant: Steps to the water with great views. I was thrilled to see they also had a vegetarian selection menu. Complimentary continental breakfast-fresh fruits and homemade bread. Dinner menu $17-30 but well worth it. Exceptional sauces and flavors. We did not travel to any other rest location as this was perfect for us. Also play smooth jazz which was perfect with the caribbean trades gently blowing at the elevated dining area. Small and quaint.
Rooms: Side by side thatched cabanas that have caribbean views but the pool sits in front of the view. We booked last minute and stayed in the suite below the Honeymoon Suite. Closest to the water without a pool view. We were concerned over noise but knew the location would be ideal. 20yrds to toes in the water but be aware, the structure is simple frame and thatched roofs. You will hear others. Location with large glass double doors facing the caribbean was gorgeous. We lived in Hawaii for 20 years and really enjoyed this spot.
Dive Shop: at end of pier. VERY accomodating with whatever you desired. With lower number of guests, they can afford to be.

If you want true island feel and the total sense of relaxation, do not hesitate. If you want party and town, stay near town. Taking the water taxi is very enjoyable. We rented beach bikes from town and you can ride along the shoreline. The dirt road to town would not be recommended. Big pot holes would make a golf cart uncomfortable. Also, as soon as we got close to the road/marsh, the mosquitoes had a feast. No problems with mosquitos at the resort at all. They spray and we had stiff trade winds.
Owner lives on premise (Dutchman) and he is lovely to talk with.
My only recommendation (and I would usually have many suggestions) is to put a mattress pad on the bed. Only to have a sheet against the actual mattress was not very hygenic in my opinion.
We are considering at the end of this year. The country is planning end of Mayan Calendar festivities. What a great place to be to experience what will be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Overall, we had a fantastic week at Portofino. Our cabana was small but lovely and comfortable. On our arrival, we were offered a welcome drink and an introduction to the resort before we went to our room, which had fresh flowers tucked into every nook and cranny. The bed was a bit hard, but better too hard than too soft, and the housekeeping staff kept our room spotless. The caveats: The food was only so-so, a bit uneven, but the service was wonderful. The resort is right on the beach, but you can't swim in the ocean because of the seagrass, and the water beyond the docks is a water-taxi highway. The best part: Belizeans are the most wonderful people! They just can't do enough--I felt like a princess all week. Would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Depending on price, half a cabana is like a big hotel room. Full cabana is airy and lovely. They also have condo-type accommodations.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGandCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Portofino Beach Resort is a wonderful place to stay on Ambergris Caye. We chose this resort to have a destination wedding and it couldn’t have been more perfect. The resort was very clean and comfortable, and we spent 7 perfect days in paradise. The staff was absolutely marvelous, patient, and helpful and they treat everyone like old friends making you feel like there’s nowhere else you’d rather be. They covered all the aspects of our wedding and even despite a torrential downpour immediately before we were supposed to begin (it was a beach wedding), completely soaked they still pulled off a more perfect ceremony than either of us could have ever hoped for. Even if you’re not getting married there is more than enough to do. Any activities you would like to do they can arrange for you, from tours to Mayan ruins to scuba diving, cave tubing, zip lines, the list goes on and on. They also offer kayaks and snorkel gear free of charge which you can grab and paddle right off the beach and out to some of the best snorkeling in the world. If you’re not looking for adventure or just want to have a lazy day, there are plenty of chairs and lounges around the pool and on the beach to stretch out and relax in, all just a few steps from your door. Additionally, we loved the location of Portofino, not right in the middle of all the crowds but still just a short water taxi ride away San Pedro and all the attractions it has to offer. We were very sad to have to go as watching the sun rise and set over the Caribbean is an amazing sight of which we will never tire, and as we left we felt as if we were leaving good friends behind.

Room Tip: The Tree Top Suites are fabulous
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyAndMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Weddings are meant to be a very special day. One to remember for the rest of your life. We are so delighted to have been a part of that special day and we wish you both a lifetime of happiness. Thank you for your review and wonderful comments about your stay with us. The entire family at Portofino looks forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews