We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories that will last a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. We knew this place was going to be great after reading the reviews but had no idea how amazing it really was in person. Like everyone said you are greeted with a cold towel and tropical punch drink that they add rum to (if you want). After traveling all night and most of the afternoon we were in much need of a refreshment and it made us feel really special. The service is impeccable, we truly did not meet one staff member who did not go above and beyond for us. They will help set up any trip and activity you want to do and the dive shop at the end of the pier was the same way. The resort is much smaller which gave it a more intimate feel. It is super clean, they are always out raking the beach and cleaning the pool. Our cabana was #4 and was very comfortable, right next to the restaurant and lobby. The wireless was not working in our room which wasn't a big deal because we wanted to disconnect from reality for awhile. The fresh flowers and hand written notes on leaves left on the bed were a very special touch. We decided to eat our meal in our room one night and they actually brought in a table and chairs for us to eat at. It was a hard adjustment coming back to reality and the trip went by so quickly, we already decided we are saving up to come back someday. San Pedro is a very special place that holds many memories and adventure to last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review

We are glad that we have made your destination honeymoon extraordinary and equally so when guests appreciate the thought and detail that goes into the service of our team. We strive to create special touches for all our guests and make every guest stay memorable with our services.

Wishing you and your husband an everlasting happy marriage and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I were expecting a great vacation but were instead blown away by this place. I am forever spoiled now and only Portofino will do. The staff seemed caring and helped us with whatever we needed. Even coming back to our suite was a wonderful surprise as it was made up so beautifully each time and made us feel very special, something I'd never experienced before. Compared to the other resorts we seen or visited we would both agree we picked the best place on the island for us, worth the money and I can be very critical about spending dollars. If you like fishing you will not be disappointed. We went out twice with Action Divers at the resort and Clinton our guide did an amazing job with the variety of fish we caught, which the resort cooked for us.The snorkelling and fishing were definite highlights, even though we had to leave our piece of paradise for a brief time.

Room Tip: We thought we had the best room in the place. Trust me #2 is all you need to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizaK233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us.

Your recognition for the team’s excellent service and the overall experience is much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Portofino Resort is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the busyness of life. My weekend retreat was short but relaxing and enjoyable. The entire Staff is excellent - very warm, friendly, hospitable and helpful. The Sunflower Room is super romantic - my comfy bed offered a restful sleep; great shower; make sure you try the Lemon scented soap; that was my favorite. The Food was fantastic - I had Almond Crusted Snapper and it was delicious. Super fast internet kept me connected when I needed to be. The night ambiance is truly romantic; star gazing from my private balcony was very meditating. This was a perfect getaway to unwind and relax. Thank you Sandra, Jan, Lorraine and the entire Portofino Team for your authentic island hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizeconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you so much for sharing such a positive feedback of our resort!

It was indeed a pleasure to have had you as our guest and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did. Your recognition for our team’s excellent service and overall experience is much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We loved our trip to Belize & to Portofino the last week of Sept & the first few days of Oct 2013.
The place looks just like the pictures on the web sight! Jessica, Tristian & Raffael were always ready to serve us with a smile & a laugh. We really enjoyed their company.
The pool was beautiful & probably one of our favorite features! Everyone works hard to make the guest experience fantastic. The house keepers, grounds keepers, & office staff & massage gal should not be forgotten as we felt they were also fantastic!
The food was good (not epic),
Our transfer to & from the San Padro/airport were flawless & just as described on the Portofino web sight!
Over all we were treated like royalty & love it. Hope to be back again sometime!

Room Tip: Cabana on the beach/by the pool is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klpmrp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the warm hospitality of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Mixed review from us for our stay, first the good bits. A lovely location, great layout, good large rooms (we had a treetops suite) and really nice staff who certainly go the extra mile and make you feel special. The beds and linens are some of the best.
What we didn't find up to scratch - firstly was the food, breakfast and lunch just about ok but the dinner just didn't do it. For the several meals we had the fish was over cooked, pork over spiced and masked any taste of the meat. The pasta was boring and a big ball of stodge on the plate. The prices asked for this very ordinary food was way too much and a bit pretentious to call it fine dining to be honest. We had food in SanPedro and a little cafe at half the cost was just brilliant.
Secondly, the prices for most things at the hotel was too high, drinks, trips and food. We still enjoyed our stay but felt a little ripped of by the cost. Sorry Portofino we probably won't be back.

Room Tip: Take a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We have a great team, which we refer to as the Portofino Family, and we are very happy that you enjoyed their warm hospitality as well as the property overall.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the restaurant as much as most of our guests. Everyone is different, therefore likes and dislikes are a matter of personal opions and tastes. We do our best to have as much of a variety on our menu in our effort to exceed our guests' expectations. On the same note, we try to keep our prices competitive in the market and you will find that due to our location, the cost of goods for us is significantly higher than other restaurants located in San Pedro Town. Therefore a comparison to a 'small cafe in town' is rather unfair.

In reference to the prices for the trips and tours, they are exactly the same as what you will find in town.

We are very sad to hear that you felt ripped off, as we always go above and beyond to provide the best service to our guests because we always look forward to seeing our visitors come back again. Our guests are not just another sale to us, we want our guests to remember their stay with us for the rest of their lives as vacations are memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We just returned from Portofino and I'm still in disbelief that I was actually there, it all seems like a dream. Such an amazing place. I came home so rested and relaxed. The rooms, the staff, the pool, the food, and the view could not have been better if I had designed it all myself. As I was posting pictures all of my friends back home kept asking me... is that real? They all thought I had photoshopped myself into a postcard! The beaches are kept raked and clean, the rooms are sparkling clean, the lobby is inviting and the staff is so friendly and helpful with anything that may come up or any questions that you may have. The dive company on their pier is really good too, especially if you have not ever snorkeled or may be a little afraid. They will take their time and make you comfortable before they put you in the boat and take you out. My time there went by way too quickly. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

It was indeed a pleasure having you with us! Thanks for sharing your beautiful pics! We are so happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Portofino Hotel & Resort, Where do I start, I have never met a sweeter couple than the owners of Portofino Hotel & Resort. This is the perfect partnership of husband & wife and business partners for life. The staff is top rate, beautiful rooms and a wonderful choices on the menu. I only wish this was a bigger property because it would dominate the island of San Pedro. I highly recommend this to travelers of all types.

Room Tip: All rooms are good since it's a small property you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filmbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed Portofino! It is always great to know that our dedication to surpassing guest expectations is met.

We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
X'tan Ha Resort
#13 of 55 in San Pedro
661 reviews
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 55 in San Pedro
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £209 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing