We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let's do it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“Let's do it again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband & I stayed for 6 days at Portofino & each day the accommodations were great! The cabana we had was beautiful & the staff from front desk to waiters were very friendly & helpful.
The only downside is that the beach at the resort is not really swimmable because of the seaweed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 715SeaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review.

It was indeed a pleasure to have had you as our guest and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your recognition for our team’s excellent service and overall experience is much appreciated.

Because of the proximity to the reef some areas along our beach do have sea grass. There is however, a beautiful swimming area just off our pier.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    118
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
429
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here longer than I really wanted to due to a package deal. The place is generally nice but remote. That means paying a premium for meals and drinks. Decent pool but the beach isn't swimmable due to sea grass and shallowness extending well beyond the pier. When the wind is down there is a strong fish odor and it gets buggy. Staff is generally friendly and helpful, the honeymoon suite is roomy and romantic with king size bed, mosquito netting, a/c, rain shower, balcony and hammock. Restaurant is nice with generally excellent food, but prices are high. Overall a decent place to stay if you plan on excursions to reef, but 2-3 nights only. Otherwise there isn't enough to do there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences of Portofino. We promote that our resort is 6.5 miles outside of town and only accessible by boat. This does offer some seclusion and makes some of the costs of the restaurant and bar.

Unfortunately what we offer and the remote seclusion of the resort may not be to everyone's liking, but some do find it accommodating.

We do make an effort to make everyone feel comfortable and welcomed.

We thank you for sharing your comments on the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

this place is fine but not great. we found the people who work here to be a bit surly and not very accommodating, which was rare and surprising given that everywhere else we stayed in belize had the nicest people in the world. one of the front desk people was friendly at first but then seemed pretty put out when we had simple questions about like the ferry schedule and such.

we were annoyed about a couple things. for instance, they say they have bikes for you to use but they only have two for the entire resort. we had four people in our group so were never able to use them.

they also say they have snorkeling equipment for guests to use. they do, but only for use snorkeling off the dock. they won't let you take it out for a day excursion. not a huge deal but kind of strange -- makes you feel nickle and dimed.

a bunch of other minor things added up to make you feel like you were paying too much for what you get. for instance, when we arrived there were loads of people standing around but no one ever offered to help carry a bag, from the boat dock, to reception and then on to our cabin. the guy who drives the boat never offers to help in any way when you're trying to step into or out of the rocking boat with your backpack on your back.

we randomly got turn-down service. i don't really care about it but why do it sometimes and not others?

we also thought it was a little weird that when we got dropped off down town when we were leaving, we ended up walking (again, carrying our bags) to the airport. it's actually really close, not much more than a city block and we're perfectly able, but it was strange given that other people we talked to at the resort had a golf cart waiting to take them.

the rooms are pretty sweet though -- we stayed in the lower level of one of the colonial rooms. comfortable beds and a nice bathroom with nice soaps and shampoo.

we had a lovely lunch and a nice dinner. and the pool is awesome. quite big by belize standards and really deep. and cool that they put chairs in the low end so you can sit in the water. it was also the perfect temperature -- much cooler than the sea which is lovely but warm so not all that refreshing on a hot day.

we walked down to matachica a number of days for breakfast and dinner (very good food). some of their rooms are spendier than portofino but others are pretty close. i didn't stay there but suspect it's a better bet than portofino.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backabeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review on the resort on trip advisor and I hope you would allow the opportunity to respond.
As to the concerns about the rental of the snorkeling equipment, the dive operations services guests of Portofino as well as other resorts. We restrict the use because the diving operation has their own equipment for rental and we wouldn’t want for gears to get mixed up and the like. While it seems odd that it is within the same resort, for management purposes the equipment is tracked separately.
Our staff are an integral part of the resort and are like family to us and saddens us deeply that you felt this way. After your review about the manner of the resort staff we are having regular meeting and checks on all our staff to ensure that the service and attitude is on par with the relaxation we want our guests to feel. We do sincerely apologize for this and it is not the way our resort operates. This is a very important issue for us. We have since contracted the service of a taxi provider to ensure our guests don’t have to wait around or carry their luggage to the airport. We are on a constant monitoring and training to ensure that this does not reoccur.
Thank you again for sharing your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was the second trip to Portofino for my wife and I in six months. Yes, Portofino truly spoils you. The staff is second to none and takes care of your every need and want. Jermy, Loraine, Roy, Elida, Orville, and others on their staff help to make Portofino the quality escape resort that it is. The living quarters on the beach are positioned to view a perfect sunrise each morning and a perfect sunet each evening. The housekeeping staff maintains your living space beautifully clean and refreshing. The food at the restaurant is exceptional with a key lime pie that will tickle your taste buds. Portofino truly is a great escape. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your review. Our staff are a key component to our resort experience and we are pleased to hear how happy you are with kind and good hearted nature.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. We knew this place was going to be great after reading the reviews but had no idea how amazing it really was in person. Like everyone said you are greeted with a cold towel and tropical punch drink that they add rum to (if you want). After traveling all night and most of the afternoon we were in much need of a refreshment and it made us feel really special. The service is impeccable, we truly did not meet one staff member who did not go above and beyond for us. They will help set up any trip and activity you want to do and the dive shop at the end of the pier was the same way. The resort is much smaller which gave it a more intimate feel. It is super clean, they are always out raking the beach and cleaning the pool. Our cabana was #4 and was very comfortable, right next to the restaurant and lobby. The wireless was not working in our room which wasn't a big deal because we wanted to disconnect from reality for awhile. The fresh flowers and hand written notes on leaves left on the bed were a very special touch. We decided to eat our meal in our room one night and they actually brought in a table and chairs for us to eat at. It was a hard adjustment coming back to reality and the trip went by so quickly, we already decided we are saving up to come back someday. San Pedro is a very special place that holds many memories and adventure to last a lifetime!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review

We are glad that we have made your destination honeymoon extraordinary and equally so when guests appreciate the thought and detail that goes into the service of our team. We strive to create special touches for all our guests and make every guest stay memorable with our services.

Wishing you and your husband an everlasting happy marriage and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I were expecting a great vacation but were instead blown away by this place. I am forever spoiled now and only Portofino will do. The staff seemed caring and helped us with whatever we needed. Even coming back to our suite was a wonderful surprise as it was made up so beautifully each time and made us feel very special, something I'd never experienced before. Compared to the other resorts we seen or visited we would both agree we picked the best place on the island for us, worth the money and I can be very critical about spending dollars. If you like fishing you will not be disappointed. We went out twice with Action Divers at the resort and Clinton our guide did an amazing job with the variety of fish we caught, which the resort cooked for us.The snorkelling and fishing were definite highlights, even though we had to leave our piece of paradise for a brief time.

Room Tip: We thought we had the best room in the place. Trust me #2 is all you need to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaK233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us.

Your recognition for the team’s excellent service and the overall experience is much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belize city
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Portofino Resort is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the busyness of life. My weekend retreat was short but relaxing and enjoyable. The entire Staff is excellent - very warm, friendly, hospitable and helpful. The Sunflower Room is super romantic - my comfy bed offered a restful sleep; great shower; make sure you try the Lemon scented soap; that was my favorite. The Food was fantastic - I had Almond Crusted Snapper and it was delicious. Super fast internet kept me connected when I needed to be. The night ambiance is truly romantic; star gazing from my private balcony was very meditating. This was a perfect getaway to unwind and relax. Thank you Sandra, Jan, Lorraine and the entire Portofino Team for your authentic island hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belizeconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a positive feedback of our resort!

It was indeed a pleasure to have had you as our guest and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did. Your recognition for our team’s excellent service and overall experience is much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
1.2 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Property: Portofino Beach Resort
Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing