We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 20th anniversery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent our 20th wedding anniversary at the Portofino. In July, the rainy season. We were a bit worried about the weather, but it was perfect the entire trip, even a bit hot one day. The beautiful Island breeze helped with the heat. The resort is beautiful, and well maintained. The staff is helpful and friendly.. It was a perfect couples getaway. We enjoyed everything, except the 6 miles from town. We would of preferred to walk to town, we did take the water taxi in and the Portofino boat a few times. The front desk arranged two different excursions for us, one to the mainland. Everything from pick up to drop off went smoothly. We will come back to Belize for sure!!! If we come as a couple we will stay at the Portofino again, but if we bring our kids, we will find a resort with more activities on site for the kids to do. As a whole, Our trip was amazing and the Resort was Perfect for our needs.. Thank You Portofino!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grahams202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are thrilled to have shared in this milestone of your life. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We understand the distance from town can be complicated but it also makes for a more tranquil environment. We hope to have the opportunity to pamper you and your spouse again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Portofino Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We vacationed to Portofino late July 2014. The location is about 6 miles from the main city of San Pedro, which was nice because it was quiet and beautiful. We were greeted at the airport by staff and they directed us to the boat. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a cool wet mint towel. We were taken to our room and we stayed in one of the beach cabanas. Upon our arrival it was very warm in our room. They only have a small AC unit and the roof is thatched palm tree, so keep this in mind because the rooms do not get as cool as we would have liked it. The evenings were humid in the room and the sheets sometimes had stains on them. We did not stay in our rooms much, but to sleep and shower. The staff was very nice and the overall place was nice. Great pool you will not want to get in the ocean water at this resort, unless you go to the end of the pier and jump in. You are in walking distance to a couple of restaurants and two other resorts. We ate at Rojo, the resort Matachita (which had a great breakfast) and the Jamaican restaurant as well which had a great seafood platter to share. Continental breakfeast was fruit and a piece of toast. The restaurant was decent, dinner plates can be shared between two people. We booked two excursions while visiting. One was through the front desk to see the mayan ruins and cave tubing in Belize city and the other through the adventures on the pier, which you can be flexible in what you want to do and negotiate your price. We loved our tour guides clifton and shelby. They took us reef fishing in the morning and then snorkeling at hol chan and shark ray alley. Shelby caught us lobsters and crabs and Clifton was very knowledgeable in teaching us about the island and catching snapper and yellow tail!

Room Tip: The beachfront cabanas are not really beach front they are have a pool in front. Also, they have a p...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hgritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with our resort here. Our resort is set out of the way to provide guests with tranquility. while this may be advantageous for some, for others it can be a deterrent. We appreciate your comments and hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the resort and the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Portofino Resort for our honeymoon. What a great place to get away and relax. The resort is simply impressive and and the staff are so friendly. The cabana we stayed in had amazing views over the water and the staff went out of their way to make our room extra personable with rose petals and other personal touches. The staff even went out of their way to set up a dinner by the water for us on our last night there. The staff made it so easy to simply relax or do other activities in San Pedro or on the water. The dive staff by the pier were amazing and the snorkeling and diving was amazing. We definitely plan on staying here again on our next trip to San Pedro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dotsonamap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience t our resort and we are extremely honored to have shared in this momentus milestone in your life. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. The people of this wonderful country are truly amazing and their warmth an appreciation are genuine.
We look forward to the opportunity of making your next visit special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Portofino Resort June 7-June 17th, 2014. Let me start by saying that the resort was BEAUTIFUL and absolutely what we wanted for our honeymoon. The cabana that we stayed in was close the water and the bar (!) which made for a great trip. We couldn't have been happier with our accomodations. The people who work there are also great. We loved everyone we met and they were very good at making sure our time was enjoyable. It was very clean and well kept. The resort was very slow when we were there and we only shared it with eight other couples which was nice. I couldn't say more about the cleanliness and ambience of the resort...spot on.

There were three main draw backs: First, by being so hidden it is very difficult to get into town. It's definitely not walkable and biking on the beach is a feat given it is about six miles out. There is a water taxi from the resort but the schedule depends of arrivals or departures and they will not pick you up or take you at requested times. If you have a trip that you want to do at a certain you need to pay for the water taxi from town to get you which is $12 per way per person. Not a cheap jaunt into town and it's definitely worth checking out the restaurants in town.

Second, the food doesn't really change much at the restaurant aside from the nightly offering. It was well worth making reservations at other resorts to have them send their water taxi for dinner. We did eat at Portofino quite a bit quite and it was delicious but after seven days we needed something different. The staff was great at giving good recommendations for where to go in town for an enjoyable night out. We loved their recommendations.

Third, it's hard to get to expeditions from this end of the island. They pick you up (most) to get you where you need to go but it is QUITE a bit of traveling. We did Lamanai and the Jungle River Tour and spent a good four or more hours travelling by boat, bus, and boat again. A recommendation would be if you want to do excursions book a few days somewhere on the mainland and THEN move to Portofino for the best relaxation you can get. I loved being on the beach and could lay there forever but my husband is an active guy and was chomping at the bit for things to do after a few days.

This was one of the best trips of my travelling life so far and I've been to quite a few places. I would definitely recommend going for a loved up peaceful vacation!

Room Tip: The cabanas are definitely the best room option.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. Our staff truly is part of what makes the resort so unique. The people of Belize on a whole are very friendly and welcoming. We also do our best to make our guests feels as accommodated and comfortable as possible.

In all our advertisements and on our website we make it known that the resort is 6 miles from town, which has it's own pros and cons. Being this far from town, we are able to provide the comfort and privacy many people desire however the travelling back and forth for additional meal and entertainment options does become a navigational obstacle.

The services are available, but all of this because of the distance from the main part of town carries an additional expense.

we hope you are enjoyed your stay with us regardless of these few set backs and hpe to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had been on the mainland for a week and were hot and tired. Arriving at Portofino was like a breath of fresh air. We were greeted personally with a cool wet towel and tropical drink. Ahhhhh. It is small so it is very personal. The staff were so friendly and knew who I was and my cabana number without asking . The food was marvelous. Sitting in the shade by the pool and looking at the ocean was wonderful. We rode bikes, and walked the beach. This was a first class hotel and location. I would stay here again , gladly!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is truly an important part of our resort experience and we are glad yo enjoyed the experience.

We hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were greeted by Portofino staff with hot eucalyptus towels once we arrived at the Portofino dock as well as two delicious rum drinks! This seemed like a great start to our honeymoon but unfortunately it didn't last long. Setting up our stay with Portofino we were aware that it was a bit pricey however we had assumed that this meant that the resort provided excellent services (our fault for assuming). We ended up becoming regulars at the resort down the beach, which I think saved us from a ruined honeymoon. The service we were provided at the other resort was phenomenal and we weren’t even guests at their resort!
During our stay we took the complimentary water taxi with a group of 4 other couples into town. We were told to meet back at the dock 8:30pm for our ride back to Portofino. After waiting at the dock for about an hour we finally realized that the boat was not coming for us, we ended up having to find our own transportation back to Portofino, which we all had to pay for.
Breakfast service is extremely poor. Once we were given our food we never saw the waiter again. As we ordered breakfast one morning, we were asked if we wanted anything to drink, we both chose coffee. We told that we could get the coffee ourselves at the self-serve coffee maker near the bar that is available for guests. This would have been fine if we hadn’t paid the extreme amount of money that we did to stay at this resort.
At one point I asked the front desk for two pens/pencils so we could play a board game. The front desk informed me I could only have one pen, since they were “using the other one.” Apparently, there were only two pens on the entire resort?
We watched the individuals that are in charge of the boating/diving activities use the end of the Portofino dock to relieve themselves several times during our stay at Portofino. That was lovely.
The resort allows vendors peddling local wares to come up to the bar and attempt to sell their product to the guests. Unfortunately, this is not limited to cute woven items or wooden carvings. We were offered illicit drugs on three separate occasions while on resort property, sometimes by vendors allowed to roam the property, and at other times by other resort guests. In fact, the scent of marijuana was strong in our bathroom one evening, due to people smoking it directly outside of our hut. We realize that many places worldwide are legalizing marijuana, and we respect everyone’s decision to put whatever substance they want, into their own bodies, but it certainly seemed pretty “low end” for a high priced resort. There are plenty of places in the slums of San Pedro, where you would expect this kind of behavior, and pay a lot less to stay there.
The best services we received were provided by Jessica, Roy, Ivan, and Raul. The rest of the Portofino staff should take some lessons from them. Dinner menu was extensive, and dinner service was well executed, but the cost was prohibitive, expect to spend about $80-100 per night to eat dinner as a couple. The housekeeping staff is phenomenal, and always made sure our room was well stocked and kept very clean. The pool is beautiful and well maintained. Views of the ocean are spectacular.
Overall, Portofino may be a victim of its location. Belize is touted for its beautiful diving, and extensive barrier reef. However, the country is certainly third world, or at best “developing”. The electrical grid is unreliable, producing frequent power outages, at which time, the resort generator is inadequate to power the AC in the rooms. Most of the trash the country produces becomes flotsam on the beach, or is burned directly behind the resorts, in unending, smoldering heaps of refuse. The mangrove swamp behind the resorts is also used to dump tons of resort garbage/plastic, and who knows what else. Belize has not yet embraced the worldwide environmental movement, to say the least. If the country doesn’t clean up soon, it will become “paradise lost”.

Room Tip: A/C in rooms are inadequate, hope you like it hot!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reagan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you want to chill out/relax/do nothing, and money and time are no object for you, Portofino is fine. It's way off the beaten path (you pretty much have to take the complimentary boat ride to and from San Pedro to do anything) and, let's face it - Belize is either a third world or developing nation, depending on who you ask. That means the electric grid is unstable (the power went out twice during our three days there, which meant no A.C. to keep cool). Also, the area is so rustic, there I couldn't even find an actual address for the resort, just "6 miles north of the reef."

The menu options at the restaurant seemed interesting, but the food was just far too expensive for this young couple to afford. Thus, we took the boat to San Pedro in the afternoon, two days in a row, for lunch and an early dinner, to then return on the last complimentary boat ride of the day.

Speaking of food, be advised that the bar and restaurant keep separate bills, even if you order a Coke while at dinner. It's a really odd, obnoxious setup that isn't conducive to keeping track of what you've paid for and need to pay for. As for that, be prepared to get double taxed - once for your food order, then again on the added service charge. Funky, funky.... and upon checkout, the front desk tried to charge us for two drinks we had already paid for. Luckily, they believed us, and I still had the receipt anyway, so always ask for and keep your receipt until after you leave Portofino.

To be fair, the resort does a great job of welcoming new guests. We hadn't even let them know we would be flying into the San Pedro Airport, but the boat captain was there for us right when the plane landed. He hailed a taxi for us, which took us a short distance to the boat dock (maybe a 5 minute ride). From there, he took us to the resort, where we were greeted with lovely menthol-scented towels, our luggage was taken to the room, and the bartender gave us a complimentary "welcome" drink, telling us to let him know when to stop pouring rum in the glass. After that, we were given a choice of locally-made soap. All the flavors smelled wonderful... we were told we would be given new bars daily, but that never happened. Aside from that, the cleaning crew did a great job... the room always felt clean, and they left us nice treats. If they take care of you, take care of them at the end of your trip - we left a tip on the bed a couple times for them, but they always relocated the money. We left them money again when we were heading to checkout.

A couple more things to note.... back to that "third world" thing... it was really nice that Portofino provides some fun things to keep you busy (bikes and kayaks), but it seems like there isn't a single thought of any caution or liability, like there is here in the U.S. During our stay, we had heard from some other guests about a couple of U.S. soldiers who had gone kayaking and had a bad accident near the reef, just a month prior to our visit... the kayak had flipped, one soldier was rescued, and the other has never been found. There was a small craft advisory, due to the high winds, and as the winds were strong during our entire trip, I just recently discovered there was an advisory the day we paddled around for a bit.

Lastly, our room had a big suite upstairs. The neighbors up there were noisy, and their loud footsteps woke us up at 7 AM everyday. That was pretty maddening, not being able to sleep in on vacation at a "resort." Keep that in mind if you decide to book a stay at Portofino.

Overall, I have mixed feelings about Portofino. I'm glad my wife and I got to see what Belize is all about, but I'm certain there are resorts on Ambergris Caye that provide a much better experience.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful, beachfront room, but the noise from the neighbors upstairs was really bad...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctoro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
874 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £172 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing