We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's a great place to stay.”
Review of Seven Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seven Seas Resort
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it's a great place to stay.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

it's a really good place to stay the help with go out of their way just to help you rooms are cleanand the price is affordableI've stayed there 2 times and I would stay again everything is located up the beach just a short walk a golf cart

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    44
    14
    13
    14
See reviews for
27
85
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis,MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Pros: Great ocean view from the upper rooms, really nice staff (esp. Roberto), very clean and tidy, diving shop on the dock right out front.

Cons: Water pressure kind of low, rooms need updating (vinyl flooring has holes, rooms are looking pretty tired, just a bit run down). Low season so dive shop wasn't alwyays able to run trips every day. A bit north of town (walkable).

Definitely a budget place, but with the fourth night free a good deal for San Pedro. The staff are excellent.

Room Tip: I loved the view from the upper rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakdruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here the last week of June 2013 as part of a scuba diving group. All in all, there were about 10 of us who stayed there, though not everyone stayed for the duraction! No one in the group was particularly pleased with their accommodations, to my knowledge.

Some past reviewers called this place "rustic" or "charming" but a more apt description would include such words as "dated, "tired" and "neglected." The air conditioning, an absolute must in 90 degree temperatures, was a nightmare. In our suite, the AC came courtesy of a solitary small wall until that was directly over the headboard in the bedroom, I exaggerate not when saying that it sounded like a freight train was coming through the bedroom, when running. While I toughed it out in the bedroom, driven out by the noise, my partner opted to sleep on the living room's pull-out bed. Unfortunately, the living room was sauna-like, even with all the windows open. Management told us to leave the bedroom door open to enable the AC and outside air to cool the entire suite. That suggestion quickly proven futile as my partner suffered through the living room's oppressive temperatures. Trust me when I tell you this ... avoid this place like the plague if you need anything approaching silence or a sub-85 degree room temperature in order to sleep. For those who would cut this place some slack based on the notion that you're here for the diving, not for the accommodations, I say "bunk." When an establishment advertises that it has AC, a guest has every right to assume that the AC is both functional and adequate. Nether were true in this case.

On the plus side, the location was terrific and the staff was accommodating and friendly. They even tried to fix the AC wall unit in the bedroom (to no avail). That being said, if we return to San Pedro for the scuba diving, we will not consider the Seven Seas.

Room Tip: Steer clear if you're likely to be bothered by ineffective and noisy AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I spent a week at this hotel. It had a great little kitchen, one bedroom and a living room with a table. We had everything we needed to prepare meals and enjoy eating with a view of the ocean. It was like staying a friends beach front cabin. i really don't care if the bedspread matched the curtains.
When I travel I am more interested in finding an afforadable comfortble clean room and spend my money on excersions.
The staff was friendly and always ready to tell us where to get the best deals on thing like having the laundry done!!
I will return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room that face the ocean have a better view and cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gailcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I traveled to San Pedro with a diving group and accommodations were made for us at Seven Seas. Although the location and view of the beach and ocean were great, the accommodations themselves were not. The bedroom was extremely small and cramped, and ours smelled so moldy that it actually kept us from sleeping well and made us worried that we would get sick. The bathroom, although functional, was also not up to par in terms of cleanliness. On the positive side, all of the staff members we encountered were very friendly and willing to help where they could. There also is a microwave and refrigerator which came in handy for buying groceries to keep in the room. It's a shame this place is so run down, because it could be a lot better if they made some improvements and updates. I suppose for the price and location, it was a decent value, but if you are planning on spending much time at all in the room, look elsewhere! We actually checked out early and switched to another hotel after 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Having travelled a lot for business and fun, this was one of the best hotels that I have stayed at and most definitely the best staff I have had the pleasure of working with.

First off, Roberto is an absolute must have for this hotel. He went out of his way to make our stay totally stress free. Making arrangements for us for a golf cart, (and at a true discount compared to the others), then snorkeling and then finally for some fishing, a BBQ of our catch and then finally a little more snorkeling, Roberto freed up our time allowing us to enjoy the island and it's flavor. Roberto also arranged our flight on Tropic Air to the mainland in Corozal and our taxi's for the entire stay. Always willing to do more for us, he was the travel agent we needed while staying there. He even came in on his day off the day we were leaving to say goodbye and see if we needed anything before we left. Great guy and great service.

The hotel itself was awesome. The little pool in the back was perfect for the kids in the afternoon after some snorkeling. The room was just the right size for us at night since the entire day you are outside, and the balcony area was great. We had a nice little breeze blowing at night with the sounds of the waves crashing into the beach. Perfect for a late night drink before getting to bed. The only problem I had with the room was the lack of a windo for the morning light to come in and wake me up. The window had been covered for privacy but it made sleeping in way to easy.

Our cleaning staff was great. Everyday they would come in as soon as we left and clean our mess up. We are used to cleaning our own stuff on vacations so this was really nice to have them there every day resetting the beds and dishes for us. They were very clean and trustworthy as well.

The location is perfect for this island. One block off of the main street so no noise at night, and right on the beach. One block South is a little shop on the side street to pick up fresh fruit, water and beer at a lower price than anywhere else. Two blocks North on the main street is the main bakery and a little palapa restaurant called Bo's Shack. The owner is a wonderful lady who would make us coffee in the mornings and even made us a breakfast of pancakes, eggs and ham one morning. Price was great too.

A couple of cautions for those of you going there. 1. Mayo's bar is next to the hotel. The noise is not a problem because you can't hear anything once you are in your room, but the bar will take advantage of you. We paid 18 BZ for two shirley temples and two coconut rum and pineapple juice drinks. Down the beach you can go to just about any other bar and get the same order for 10 to 12 BZ.

2. Up North you will come across a little grocery shop called Mata Grande. They have a little bit of everything for those up North since they are the only grocery store around. The prices are fair and the staff very nice. There is however, a small grill next to it that is also theirs. This place is a huge rip off and should be avoided at all costs. Literally!! We were charged 62 dollars, not BZ but US dollars for 6 plates of fish tacos. Three little tacos per plate. 62 BZ maybe, but 124BZ for that?!? Never, ever, ever go there.

Overall, San Pedro is a nice place to visit. The night crowd out on the street in the main park is a little rough and I would not want my wife or daughter to go there alone, but the street food in the park is really good. One really nice thing about the country is the vendors. Once you tell them that you are not interested, they actually say thank you and then leave you alone. I have never seen that before.

Enjoy your time there and tell Roberto Thank you again for us.

I forgot one thing. The bridge over to the North side was being redone so we got to ride on the "ferry". Three guys with a jon boat that had some plywood on it would walk you across the channel. The channel was about 25 ft across and got to about 4 or 5 feet deep. It was very interesting and somewhat sketchy. My wife wouldn't ride it after the first time when I almost dumped our cart in the channel coming off of the ferry. Very cool for the kids though.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and had a great breeze at night. The bedroom had a blocked window for privacy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We spent 10 nights at the resort in February. The website is slightly misleading. All of the pictures of the interiors of the condos are of the larger (543 sq. ft.) units, of which there are only three (the other 3 are not rented out)! Unit C is not available for rental at all, and unit B, which has 6 units, measure only 414 sq. ft., so that is a total of nine units. We had our son with us & when the sofa bed was pulled out, you could hardly move in the living/dining/kitchen room! Luckily, we were able to move over to unit 11 & that gave us adequate space. There's no getting around the fact that the rates are very fair for what you get. The staff is great & will do anything for you. The owner was on the premises, & was a genial host. The location is perfect -- just far enough north of town that it's quiet & peaceful. Yes, there is a road between the property & the ocean, but it's a sand-packed beach road & doesn't get much traffic, so it's not an issue. The pool, while small, is well-maintained & the chairs outside the rooms are padded for comfort. All that is needed is a new website showing the property as it really is, so that people will know what to expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seas Resort

Property: Seven Seas Resort
Address: On the Beach Front | P. O. Box 385, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seven Seas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your condo with private balcony is right on the beach, 30 steps from the Caribbean Sea, in view of the spectacular barrier reef. A few minutes stroll down the beach to the center of town and the restaurants, bars, small discos and shopping. Or rent a golf cart and ride in style. Your suite has a private bedroom with queen size bed, bathroom, living room with queen size sleeper sofa, full kitchen and daily maid service... are you pampered or what? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Seas Hotel San Pedro
7 Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing