We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel-rooms outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel-rooms outdated”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel grounds are lush with tropical vegetation, two pools and a bar by the beach. The suites were spacious and clean but a little dated. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Hotel is located close to small stores, eateries, fruit stands and a bakery. It has a restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating and a shop for booking excursions and golf carts or bike rentals. San Pedro is only 10 minutes by golf cart, and it's a quaint little town with many local grocery, general merchandise and souvenir stores, restaurants, souvenir stands, and no beggars were ever encountered and no pressures to buy. The only disappointment about the island was that in some cases the beaches were awash with algae and sometimes with garbage. The snorkelling was fantastic, with great sites of corals, plentiful fish including manta rays and (friendly) nurse sharks. We were conveniently picked up and dropped off at the dock right in front of the hotel. If you are a dive enthusiast this is the place to be.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vind63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    146
    89
    27
    18
See reviews for
72
167
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After a very rustic and fascinating tour of the interior of Belize, this place was a welcome respite at the end of our trip. The "beach" is not on the water itself-rather it's set up above on a cement platform, but it does provide access to a nice,long beach walk into San Pedro. The rooms were clean, staff was fine, and the location is a nice distance from the long, unbroken string of hotels and bustle of the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We 3 women spent 12 days and 11 nights here and it was fabulous. My first time in Belize and I can't wait to go back. Room was clean, had all we needed, and then some. Our first day of arrivial I was amazed at the help we received getting our baggage up 3 flights of stairs, I think the 2 men that took ALL of our bags, ran up those stairs. Then later that day we came back with a case of water and one of the helpers met us in the entrance and carried our purchases up all those stairs again AND put them away. I felt like we were treated like queens. The waitors and waitresses were the most friendly and manorly and helpful,. Our pool bartender Marlon, was the BEST, I already miss everyone there. The ladies at the desk and in monkey business were also most friendly at all times. Thank you Banana Beach I loved it there and do plan to return. Tell Marlon hello for me :)
Judy Webb, Jennifer Jofre, and Lois Stultz

our stay was 2/24/2014- 3/7/2014

Room Tip: Reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyGurlyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

For the price , Banana Beach was decent without being spectacular- the staff were average, the rooms are nice and the hotel does have the advantage of opening up to the beach. However, the part of the hotel that is on the beach is not so much a beach itself as a cement overhang with deckchairs. If you want to avail of actual sand and sea water you have to walk over to the neighbouring hotel and use their beach- which is no hassle since they are all interconnected. Try and avoid their tour offic eat the front, Monkey Business, to book any tours- the staff is very disorganized and unfriendly and charge higher than if you booked the tours yourself directly wth the diving/ snorkeling/ whatever catches your fancy companies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagheer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent two weeks on the island volunteering at a local school. We needed a suite with a kitchen and hoped to be right on the beach. We found hotels to be very expensive, especially if they had the space and location we were looking for. We have some friends from the states who live on the island, and they assured us that we would be happy with the location and the price was right. We are glad we listened to them. We had a 3rd floor suite with a kitchen, living room area, a bathroom and a separate bedroom area with a king size bed...and the best part, an awesome balcony that looked right over the water. The resort is older, but it smelled fresh and it was immaculate. Our room was cleaned everyday, from top to bottom. If I left dishes in the sink, they were washed. It was spotless when we arrived back each evening. We did have a few issues with hot water, but we talked to the friendly staff at the front desk and it was resolved immediately. The internet service worked very well! The second week it was slow, but the front desk said it was down and they assured us it would be up and working by evening, and it was. Our microwave didn't work properly and when we returned, there was a brand new one there. The resort was so quiet the entire two weeks of our stay. We only ate once at the restaurant, because we were trying out different establishments, but our Ceviche was the best we had on the island. If you are looking for a resort in a GOOD LOCATION, QUIET, REASONABLY PRICED, and has a FRIENDLY STAFF, who listen to you and work hard to make your stay comfortable, you'll enjoy BANANA BEACH!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules7354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you're looking for a five-star resort hotel, this is not it. On the other hand, Ambergris Caye is not that kind of place and I say, "thank God". We opted for Ambergris Caye and Belize after staying in Cozumel and Playa Del Carmen several times. We loved Mexico but got tired of the crowds and were looking for something more laid back. Banana Beach Resort was clean and comfortable. The TV's are old style standard def and the decor is simple. We had an issue with a toilet backing up but the staff was there quickly to fix it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are two pools. Ruby in Monkey Business, the onsite travel agency, will arrange any type of activity or excursion. She was fantastic! For most excursions on the water, there is convenient pickup on the adjacent dock. The hotel sits literally steps from the water. One of the world's greatest reefs lies about a mile offshore. The beach area is nice and never crowded when we were there. We ate in the hotel restaurant, El Divino. While the decor is a little over the top, the food is good. The grilled grouper, the mixed ceviche and Key Lime Pie were all terrific! There are several businesses close by and convenient. Our morning routine consisted of walking to the local bakery called simply "The Baker" for warm cinnamon rolls, croissants and fresh baked bread; a stop at the Super Market across the street for eggs, milk and bacon; and a stop at the local fruit stand on the way back for watermelon and pineapple. About a half block away is a great jerk chicken stand. Banana Beach is located about a 40-minute walk from downtown. You can walk on the street or beach. The beach walk is really beautiful but not recommended after dark. If you do not want to walk, it's a $5 US cab ride.
Ambergris Caye is a great, laid back, relaxing place. It isn't an overdeveloped, easy-to-get-to destination. There will never be cruise ships. If you are okay with the simple comforts, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

No hot water,just luke warm & not for long. Wi-fi was in & out. Tv's was 1990's style. I had to ask for towels & wash cloth. No coffee in rooms for coffee pot, you had to go buy it & it's not cheap. Unless you get a ocean view room the view from other rooms are not any good. I know I stayed in 2 different rooms. There was other peple complaining also! Drinks were higher than anywhere else on the island. I would not stay there again & do not recommend the Banana Beach to anyone!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gary_pruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing