We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Banana Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Saskatchewan
1 review
“Beautiful Banana Beach”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Banana Beach is lovely. It is a boutique style hotel that offers a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The staff is fantastic and very personable. Not only do they look after every need you might have while at the hotel, but they offer great advise when heading out for the day to explore more of Belize - ah, Belize. The restaurant in the hotel, El Devino, is fabulous and has left me and my family still craving some of the dishes offered. It also offers an extensive wine list. We will return to Banana Beach!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskatchewaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    145
    89
    26
    18
See reviews for
71
166
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The people that work at banana beach are as accomidating as I have ever seen before, just ask them to do whatever you need, and watch them go! Very little language barrier. Kinda fun to experience. Good resturant....both of the pool temps were a little colder than used too, but it was SO HOT while we were there that they felt good......should have booked for a longer stay

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Datura4771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We recently thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Banana Beach. It has everything that you could possibly need right there on the premises. You could virtually arrive on this island knowing absolutely nothing about it, take a 5 minute taxi to the hotel and everything you need to know would be waiting for you. A great travel shop that offers every tour , golf cart rentals, gifts, internet and every other extra. If you need a massage or a pedicure, it's right there in their own massage hut( Helen is the best).The landscaping is stunning, and the rooms have all the amenities, although with all the great restaurants around the island, they make it hard to resist. We stayed in a 1 bedroom courtyard suite with a kitchenett, the rooms are similar but if you prefer a bath tub and oven you should specify when you book as some of the rooms have a shower and some have 1/2 kitchens(stove top).The hotel and rooms are kept extremely clean with daily maid service. Il Devino is the restaurant on the property where we enjoyed most of our meals because the food was soo good! We loved this place and will go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidaBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

My family and I stayed at Banana Beach for 8 nights, the beginning of December, 2009. Before speaking of our stay, I would like to step back and briefly describe our preparations. We contacted Banana Beach and indicated we were interested in doing some snorkeling trips as well as a visit to some Mayan ruins and a jungle walk. The staff at BB put us in touch with their affiliated company, Monkey Business, which is actually located on the hotel premises and works in, effect, as an inhouse contracting party with BB. Monkey Business prebooked us on several day trips/excursions, based on our wants and expectations. The end result was we had a fabulous, no stress visit. We didn't have to worry about making our own arrangements upon arrival or searching for reputable tour guides etc. As for the hotel itself, - I travel a lot and have stayed in many five star hotels that did not offer amenities or services any better than what BB provided us. The rooms were clean, bright and pleasant. The restaurant offered a variety of dishes - all very well presented and quite delicious. In conclusion, we have absolutely zero criticisms of Banana Beach. The service was outstanding, the rooms wonderful, the food excellent, and the value for the price we paid - excellent as well. This was a vacation my family and I will look back on many times with fondness. It is our intention to revisit Banana Beach in the future, as schedules allow.

Ps. The attached photos are just a sampling of some the wonderful things we saw and did and also confirm that the hotel's website is honest in its picture presentation. Enjoy !

Submitted: T. Foerstner, Ottawa, Ontario Canada

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChapelHill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Had a great stay at the Banana Beach resort in San Pedro Belize. The new owners were incredible and helped arrange everything we needed to make it a most memorable stay.

Great accommodations and restaurant, the staff are amazing!!!! Ask for one of the waterfront units they have amazing views and everything you need for a great trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank len100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The suite was great. It was nice that they could add additional rooms depending on how many were in our group. We had 8 people, so we got the suite plus 3 additional rooms. Each with their own bathroom and mini fridge. The suite had a full size fridge and full kitchen. The beach was very accessible and getting back to the rooms was convenient. The beach area had some palm trees so those of us who didn't want to burn more, could find shade. This resort had a retaining wall in front but the beach could be accessed on either side quite easily. The staff was excellent and really made us feel at home especially those in the El Divino Restaurant/Bar. Monkey Business took care of any issues we had with the golf carts we rented. Everyone made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBirdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Beautiful place, wonderful food and people. Had a blast! Great place to vacation. Want to go again!!!

Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KDMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing