We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise south of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My fiance and I stayed at Banana Beach for 9 nights in February 2010. This was our third trip to San Pedro, but first trip to Banana Beach. I would definitely stay here again when we return (and we will!)!

Our room was a large suite, with a full kitchen, 2 beds, and a couch that pulled out. The kitchen was fully equipped with cooking materials, which we used every day. The bed wasn't amazing, but it was more than adequate. A few bugs crawled around our bathroom, but nothing to complain about really. House keeping was fantastic, washing our dishes and leaving fresh towels every day.

The pool is a good size, and very clean. The only downside is the deck slowly loses sun thoughout the day, and after noon only half of the deck receives sun. The beach front chairs were a wonderful alternative. Towards the end of our stay a large group arrived that staked out ALL of the beach chairs early in the morning, and kept them all day, so we mostly stayed by the pool during sun hours, but used the ocean chairs to read or relax with a drink in the evening.

Our room came with free breakfast coupons, which was AMAZING! You had the same options each day, but I looked forward to breakfast each morning. Delicious juice, and yummy yummy belizian breakfast! A huge bonus.

The location was really great. We had never explored the south side of town, and enjoyed trying some of the restaraunts near by. There was a grocery store close by that we walked to each day for water and snacks. We went running and biking all over, and enjoyed the quiet. We both enjoy walking, and didn't mind the stroll into the main part of town whenever we wanted to go out. Its between 1.5 and 2 miles, I think.

Above all the service at Banana Beach is outstanding. Particularly the mid day bar staff by the pool. The bartenders took time to learn our names, where we were from, etc., and talked to us each day. Also made delicious drinks!

I will definitely be staying at banana beach again! I already miss it...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2010

Travelled to San Pedro with a group of family and friends. We had an amazing time. The management at Banana Beach out did themselves ensuring that everyone had a fabulous time. We definately will return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GizzmoRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We spent Christmas with our grown children and spouses at Banana Beach. It was truly one of the best christmas days we have ever had. We even had our morning champagne brunch like we have at home, except no work for anyone, we ordered from their restaurant the night before and it was delivered to our room right on time Christmas morning by a very cheerful staff member. We were very impressed by all their staff, they try to make you feel right at home. They have a great martini bar on site and a wonderful restaurant El Divino. We ate there several times, breakfast , lunch and dinner and all were wonderful.The staff can help you with all tours and trips you may want to take, and very helpful with ideas and recommendations. It is located on the north end of town, and you need a golf cart to get into town, but that was a favorite of everyone to be the driver to go into town. It is quiet and relaxing and if you want loud and noisy just a short drive into town. They have 2 pools and a small beach, and are always around to help you with any of your needs. The rooms were very clean and comfortable..I would highly recommend this to anyone who is visiting the island , you won't be dissapointed...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetolenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I just recently returned from an awsome vacation in San Pedro, Belize. Staying at Banana Beach is simply the best. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the pools are great & you are just steps from a couple of the best beaches in the area. The management and staff at the hotel are simply the best in their fields...........they are so friendly, will do anything for you and greet you with a smile, joke or maybe a Spanish lesson for the day (tho they all speak very good English). El Divino, restaurant & bar on site, has an awsome atmosphere, great food and exceptional wait staff and bartenders. It would be a challenge to find better on the island, especially for the quality, quantity and price. The ''breeze-way'' bar is now open daily, it is a great added service if you are lounging by the pool or out on the beach and need somthing refreshing to drink !
The front office staff are gracious and helpful, always a smile and cheery greeting for everyone, Monkey Business Travel Shop is equally helpful for all your island tour needs or to rent a golf cart.
All in all...........just simply the best ! I can't wait to go back to San Pedro and to Banana Beach :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettabelizeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Banana Beach is lovely. It is a boutique style hotel that offers a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The staff is fantastic and very personable. Not only do they look after every need you might have while at the hotel, but they offer great advise when heading out for the day to explore more of Belize - ah, Belize. The restaurant in the hotel, El Devino, is fabulous and has left me and my family still craving some of the dishes offered. It also offers an extensive wine list. We will return to Banana Beach!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskatchewaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The people that work at banana beach are as accomidating as I have ever seen before, just ask them to do whatever you need, and watch them go! Very little language barrier. Kinda fun to experience. Good resturant....both of the pool temps were a little colder than used too, but it was SO HOT while we were there that they felt good......should have booked for a longer stay

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Datura4771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We recently thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Banana Beach. It has everything that you could possibly need right there on the premises. You could virtually arrive on this island knowing absolutely nothing about it, take a 5 minute taxi to the hotel and everything you need to know would be waiting for you. A great travel shop that offers every tour , golf cart rentals, gifts, internet and every other extra. If you need a massage or a pedicure, it's right there in their own massage hut( Helen is the best).The landscaping is stunning, and the rooms have all the amenities, although with all the great restaurants around the island, they make it hard to resist. We stayed in a 1 bedroom courtyard suite with a kitchenett, the rooms are similar but if you prefer a bath tub and oven you should specify when you book as some of the rooms have a shower and some have 1/2 kitchens(stove top).The hotel and rooms are kept extremely clean with daily maid service. Il Devino is the restaurant on the property where we enjoyed most of our meals because the food was soo good! We loved this place and will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidaBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
815 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
292 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £72 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing