We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
111
73
24
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
73
24
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amigos del mar simple hotel in town central location sitting on the balcony mins walk away caribbean waters bag of ice recommend this hotel to anyone rooms are big take out third floor the cleaning crew awesome hotel within walking distance living area golf cart
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Mayan Princess did not disappoint! We enjoyed the central location where we could walk along the beach to most of the restaurants and bars. Considering its location, we never felt that the Hotel was noisy. We rented a golf cart for 1/2 day only and walked all the rest of our week in San Pedro.
The hotel is clean and spacious. The kitchen is adequate for making a meal or a snack, with all the appliances one would need on vacation.
The living room was nicely furnished and upholstery was clean. TV was in good working order with any channel you would need.
We loved the balcony where we could watch the world go by. The location of the hotel provides constant "harbor" activity between the scuba boats at Amigos del Mar, the water taxis coming and going, the fuel barge making its delivery and personal yachts anchoring up. People-watching along the beach, which seems to be a major thorofare for tourists and locals alike, was always interesting.
We took our own bug spray for the room and in the evenings when leaving for dinner, we would give the room a good spray and we never had a problem with any bugs.
The reception staff were nice, not overly friendly, but would answer whatever was asked of them or find an answer for you. The maintenance left a bit to be desired, however, when confronted with a problem, they were quick to resolve any issues, reactionary vs preventive maintenance.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast provided by Mayan Princess. It was good and enough to start the day. Sitting on the balcony enjoying breakfast was a treat.
We would like to return to Mayan Princess and to San Pedro!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The room was spacious and clean. They had everything...fully stocked kitchen, tv, ac, nice sitting area, patio, good location. Our bed was very comfortable. We got a really great rate and it was worth every penny. The only issue we had was the shower head. They came to fix it right away and replaced a part, but it was still horrible. The room was great overall though so it didn't bother us that much. It was quiet at night. They also gave free continental breakfast which was very good (rolls and fruit). Even better was the free internet!! There was a computer in the lobby for all guests to use, it worked great. We would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The Mayan Princess isn't ritzy by any stretch and I've heard that the rooms vary a lot (maybe individually owned?). Our unit, #21 on the third floor, was more than adequate. The furniture and accessories were in good condition, the housekeeping staff kept it very clean, and it was roomy enough with a sitting area, large porch, kitchenette, and bedroom/bath area.

We loved the setting.....looking straight out over the ocean which was just a few feet away....and never had any problem with noise. Not only were we glad that we stayed in town but were glad we stayed as central in town as we did. This is a great location if you want to mostly walk to everything. We rented a golf cart and made good use of it but covered a lot of ground on foot too. Walked to mainland express ferry, dive shops, most restaurants. The hotel has a bit of golf cart parking too.

No internet access in the rooms which we found hard to get used to but there is an old computer available in the lobby and you can take your own laptop down there and use the wireless if you can find a place to sit.

The staff was friendly and accomodating.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PluffMudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

This hotel has by far the best location on the island. It's right on the beach (hopping over a balcony on the lower floor, you would land right on the beach) and in the middle of the town. Everything you need is within walking distance. The rooms are quite spacious and have a small kitchen/seating area. The balconies all face the ocean. My wife and I are divers and this was a perfect location. The hotel was located right next to Amigos Del Mar (the best dive operator on the island). This was quite convienient since we did about 20 dives with them. I've seen in other reviews that the beach was quite noisy at night. We didn't notice it that much. We also didn't notice any loud music or anything from the several bars/restraunts near by.

Now for the down side. All the rooms in this hotel are individually owned. They all look the same, but the up keep can definatly be different. Several of the cabinets were locked up (although we still had plent of room) and the upkeep in our room was severly lacking. Our couch was caving in in the middle and partially held together with duct tape. It rained once while we were there and our balcony door leaked quie badly. The bathroom is also quite small. We did have a few outages where we didn't have any water, luckily it only lasted about an hour or so. Now, all the rooms are not in bad shape. We had family members staying in another room and theirs was perfect. So, it must have just been our luck.

A few other good things........I could actually stand under the shower head (I'm 6'3 and this can be a problem sometimes) and the water pressure was great. It's always good to have a nice shower! Everyone in town is very friendly. Most things are within walking distance, but it would help to have a golf cart (rent it early) if you want to go to other parts of the island. Diving is world class here. If you are a diver, you have to do the Blue Hole. It's a long day (about 10-12hrs), but well worth it for the three dives. Amigos Del Mar has a nice big boat they take you out on (some dive operations use small open skiffs and it's a 2-3hr ride depending on sea conditions). The night dive in Hol Chan is awsome too. San Pedro is by far the best place I've been to. my wife and I loved it so much, we bought a timeshare and will be heading back very soon!

P.S. This hotel does have internet, but you can only pick up wireless in the lobby and it's quite slow.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshr911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mayan Princess - it has a slightly bohemian feel and the location can't be beat. Our enormous balcony overlooking the ocean became our living room for the stay. Great choice if travelling with children since it is so centrally located - easy to run back to the hotel and down to the beach in front.

Staff was very friendly and helpful when it came to arranging tours and providing information. Plenty of restaurants and activities right outside, diving and snorkeling center. The night club a way down the beach was slightly noisy at night, but I guess that's the trade-off for such a central location with a lot of bustle around it. Would recommend this hotel to those who want a genuine feel rather than a more touristy but secluded resort-style hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews