We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
111
73
24
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
73
24
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amigos del mar simple hotel in town central location sitting on the balcony mins walk away caribbean waters bag of ice recommend this hotel to anyone rooms are big take out third floor the cleaning crew awesome hotel within walking distance living area golf cart
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Stayed there 2 nights with my sister. The bathroom smelled like sewer gas and some other cleanliness issues. Gunk and dead flies in window tracks; they hadn't been cleaned in awhile. Also coffee table had cracks in the glass and table on balcony had a big chunk out of it. View and location was good for a few days but liked hotel further out better. Also had ants in kitchen and we didn't have food out.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This hotel is very clean and comfortable. The view is very nice and the price was reasonable. At night however it was quite loud - the hotel washer and dryer went all night long and unfortunately was right near our room. Would recommend to someone on a trip to san pedro - but would recommend a second floor room as to avoid some of the noise..

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YUMorYUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Mayan Princess did not disappoint! We enjoyed the central location where we could walk along the beach to most of the restaurants and bars. Considering its location, we never felt that the Hotel was noisy. We rented a golf cart for 1/2 day only and walked all the rest of our week in San Pedro.
The hotel is clean and spacious. The kitchen is adequate for making a meal or a snack, with all the appliances one would need on vacation.
The living room was nicely furnished and upholstery was clean. TV was in good working order with any channel you would need.
We loved the balcony where we could watch the world go by. The location of the hotel provides constant "harbor" activity between the scuba boats at Amigos del Mar, the water taxis coming and going, the fuel barge making its delivery and personal yachts anchoring up. People-watching along the beach, which seems to be a major thorofare for tourists and locals alike, was always interesting.
We took our own bug spray for the room and in the evenings when leaving for dinner, we would give the room a good spray and we never had a problem with any bugs.
The reception staff were nice, not overly friendly, but would answer whatever was asked of them or find an answer for you. The maintenance left a bit to be desired, however, when confronted with a problem, they were quick to resolve any issues, reactionary vs preventive maintenance.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast provided by Mayan Princess. It was good and enough to start the day. Sitting on the balcony enjoying breakfast was a treat.
We would like to return to Mayan Princess and to San Pedro!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The room was spacious and clean. They had everything...fully stocked kitchen, tv, ac, nice sitting area, patio, good location. Our bed was very comfortable. We got a really great rate and it was worth every penny. The only issue we had was the shower head. They came to fix it right away and replaced a part, but it was still horrible. The room was great overall though so it didn't bother us that much. It was quiet at night. They also gave free continental breakfast which was very good (rolls and fruit). Even better was the free internet!! There was a computer in the lobby for all guests to use, it worked great. We would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The Mayan Princess isn't ritzy by any stretch and I've heard that the rooms vary a lot (maybe individually owned?). Our unit, #21 on the third floor, was more than adequate. The furniture and accessories were in good condition, the housekeeping staff kept it very clean, and it was roomy enough with a sitting area, large porch, kitchenette, and bedroom/bath area.

We loved the setting.....looking straight out over the ocean which was just a few feet away....and never had any problem with noise. Not only were we glad that we stayed in town but were glad we stayed as central in town as we did. This is a great location if you want to mostly walk to everything. We rented a golf cart and made good use of it but covered a lot of ground on foot too. Walked to mainland express ferry, dive shops, most restaurants. The hotel has a bit of golf cart parking too.

No internet access in the rooms which we found hard to get used to but there is an old computer available in the lobby and you can take your own laptop down there and use the wireless if you can find a place to sit.

The staff was friendly and accomodating.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PluffMudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews