We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal attentive relaxed service is Capricorn!”
Review of Capricorn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Capricorn Resort
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Personal attentive relaxed service is Capricorn!”
Reviewed 16 April 2008

From the moment we arrived, the Capricorn staff was attentive yet you also feel relaxed. They listen and attend to every need. They also know the island well and are very honest in recommending restaurants and excursions. Their food is great, although when lobster is not in season the menu is a bit limited. They cooked fish we caught to our specifications, and also let us know that if we caught fish that this was an option. They get fair prices for excursions and executed reservations for excursions flawlessly (we were doing things every day, so we really tested their efficiency). The room (Cabana #1, closest to the ocean, one king bed) was very comfortable, and especially since we were constantly kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, swimming, jetskiing, etc, we really appreciated the large shower and ample hanging pegs and clothes hangers for rinsing and hanging our clothes to dry. Housekeeping happens invisibly when you are out, so there is never a knock on the door from housekeeping. They look to see when you have gone to breakfast or out on an excursion and then clean your room. When we relaxed, ordered food or drinks and then would wander off, maybe to the beach or the bar, etc, the food and drinks we ordered always found us without us having to alert the staff as to our every move. They have several kayaks which you can take out on the ocean anytime for free. They also have an arrangement with Captain Morgan resort (2 resorts north) for any of Capricorn's guests to use Captain Morgan's pool area. All in all, I could not have wanted anything more!

  • Liked — Attentive friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing, I liked it all
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smekiselse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    18
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2008

We stayed in the cabana which was about 10 feet from the ocean. The room was simple, cozy and nice but the best thing about this resort is the staff and the food. As soon as you step outside of your cabana there is a restaurant/bar full of friendly staff waiting to tend to whatever you need. Whatever you want, you get. You can tell that the people really enjoy working here. Extremely nice people, which makes the experience so much more pleasurable. We tried out a few other restaurants and this one definitely ranks at the top.


Another nice thing about the Capricorn is it only has 3 cabanas which makes it very private and secluded but with everything you could possibly want. We really enjoyed our stay here and definitely would recommend the cozy atmosphere to any other traveler seeking a nice getaway.

Mark&Maria
Calgary, AB Canada

  • Liked — staff, food and private setting
  • Disliked — that we only stayed for 7 days
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

I echo everything that has recently been said in these reviews about Capricorn - we had an amazing time. We made our resort decision in large part based on these reviews so I wanted to give our thoughts:

1. WATER. We did not experience any of the problems will sulfurous water that earlier reviewers wrote about. However, the shower water was a little salty, but manageable.

2. CORAL ROOM #1. We stayed in the Coral room after reading that that was absolutely the best room. Although the room was great and was steps from the water, I think the other 2 rooms were nice as well.

3. COST and LOCATION. The lodging and food seemed expensive but we discovered that everything north of San Pedro is expensive. After doing a lot of research, Capricorn is the best value amongst the nicer resorts north of SP. SP is quite busy (not NYC-busy but similar to a "spring break" kind of place) so if you are looking for a romantic setting I would recommend staying north of SP. I agree with the other reviewer however that the cost can add up taking the water taxi to and from SP, and the walk is pretty far.

4. DIVING. We arranged 2 scuba diving trips through Capricorn which were great! Lots of big animals in the waters near there. At lunch at Capricorn we could see dolphins playing right off the pier.

5. SERVICE. Phenomenal. Good not ask for better.

6. FOOD. Last but not least, the food is AMAZING (but as I mentioned expensive). Everything we had was great - the best breakfast burrito I ever had, traditional chicken and rice for lunch which I ordered several times. I would also recommend this Thai place within walking distance from Capricorn. I was hesitant to try Thai food in Belize but they use local ingredients (e.g. spider crab) and it was one of the most delicious meals we had on our trip full of delicious meals.

  • Liked — Food, service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Capricorn for 7 nights this February. I have to say I spent about 3 weeks trawling the internet to find a place to stay - we were looking for something slightly less touristy than a hotel, more intimate & got it 100% at the Capricorn.

We stayed in Cabana 3, the one furthest from the sea, which was initially a disappointment, but turned out to be a bonus because it was furthest removed from the restaurant so nice, quiet & private.

It had 2 double beds which were comfortable, the room was nicely decorated in a traditional, rustic style & the bathroom was fine (could do with some TLC!)

We arrived a day early & Kit and Jenna were incredibly accomodating & couldn't have been more helpful. Kit organised at taxi to meet us at the airport & collected us himself on the boat to take us directly to the resort.

Upon arrival we were greeted with local rum punch cocktails & freshly made banana cake (yum!). Their resort is well staffed (18 people employed, but not at the same time obviously!) & they got to know you by name very quickly which made you feel very welcomed & special!

Rated as having the best restaurant on the island, it served fantastic food, but found it quite pricey - although so is the rest of the island. Guests are always given a table, no matter how busy. Breakfast seemed well priced compared to other places we tried.

Couple of things to be aware of:

Beach - there is no pool & the waterside not really for paddling due to the grass & seaweed (& rubbish unfortunately) that gets washed up on the shore daily - although they do make an effort to clear it. They do have sunloungers on the beach & this doesn't put you off sunbathing - it would be nice to have a dip when it gets hot! That said, Captain Morgan's resort next door does allow you to use their pool - just be warned they will try & sell you time shares! The jetty has hammocks & sunloungers too, but the sea wasn't that inviting, plus the sea traffic....!

Transport - whilst they have 2 bikes available (back peddle to brake), you tend to use the water taxi to get anywhere which isn't cheap - $7 per person, per single trip - which adds up for one night out! Most people cycle on the beach (yes, infront of you on the sunlounger!), but the road in the middle of the island is very pot holed.

We did visit a couple of other resorts & by far we made the best choice - would highly recommend the Capricorn!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jersey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We just returned from an 8 night stay at Capricorn resort. The resort is perfect for any couple looking for a small, secluded resort where you feel like you are the only ones there.

ROOMS
We stayed in the Coral King Room...literally 10 steps to the water. The room was cheerfully decorated, and comfortably rustic. I say rustic, but this is San Pedro, Belize - for those looking for a US-type 5 star establishment - I don't think you are going to find it anywhere on the island. To us, it was perfect.

The bed was comfortable, and our room had good A/C. Our deck had a comfy hammock and two deck chairs. We had our coffee there most mornings.

RESTAURANT
The restaurant was amazing. We ate at a few other restaurants during the week and decided towards the end of the trip it just wasn't worth it to go out because the food at Capricorn was unbeatable. I highly recommend the Stuffed Grouper, the Filet Mignon and the Key Lime Pie.

STAFF
Everything people say about the staff is true...they were fantastic and most took the time to get to know our names. They were always very helpful no matter what the request. The owners even offered to drive us (by golf cart) to town one morning when they were on their way in to get groceries so we didn't have to wait another hour for the next water taxi.

LOCATION
The location is good. Its about 7 minutes by Water Taxi to get to town, but within walking or biking distance of a few other restaurants and bars. The Water Taxi is a bit pricey, $14 round trip pp, and only runs once every one or two hours so you need to plan your trips to town. If you are planning to go to town daily, you may find the location a bit inconvenient, but we were happy to have the seclusion.

SAN PEDRO
My only complaint about San Pedro (not Capricorn) was that it was much windier than I expected it to be, so be prepared. When we were there, the wind rarely died down. I don't think it bothered most people as much as it did me, but apparently its always breezy. SP was also a bit more expensive than we expected (food, alcohol and activities). However, nearly everything is imported to the island and gas is very expenive in Belize ($10 BZE a gallon) so it makes sense.

Other recommendations for San Pedro: Rondevous Restaurant, the Palapa Bar, the (private) mainland Zip-Lining and Cave Tubing tour (ask Kit or Clive to arrange that for you), SCUBA diving on Turneffe Atoll, and Ecologic Divers (you can't beat hot towels after diving and a free photo CD from your trips).

  • Liked — The small size - feeling we were the only ones there
  • Disliked — Sometimes difficult to get to town
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetodive08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We stayed at this friendly beach hotel/restaurant this past summer and loved it. The location on Ambergris is secluded yet easy to get to town with water taxi. The hotel staff were very friendly, accomodating and helpful to book snorkel trips, water taxis, pick-up and drop off at the airport. The restaurant is on the beach and beautiful - good food. There are only 3 cabins to rent. The hotel has kayaks and bikes to use. Everything about this hotel was quaint, friendly, beautiful... the young owners do, however, need to keep up with the maintenance.

Although I would recommend this hotel the prices are way above what should be charged. The kayaks were in disrepair and the shack that they were stored in was messy with left clothes, bottles, broken paddles etc. The restaurant is good but way over priced as well. The cabin we had, Coral King, was nice but could use a real good cleaning-the fake flowers were getting dusty. All in all, this place is very special but way over priced. For the cost it should be a little more ship shape!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts and staff and the location.
  • Disliked — over priced
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gatopaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

The Capricorn Resort, Ambergris Caye, Belize, Central America
Date: May 20, 2007
Reviewer: Travelers from Waterbury, Connecticut-USA
My husband and I visited the country of Belize from April 26th to
May 5th of 2007. We stayed on Amergris Caye at the Capricorn
Resort and had the vacation of our dreams! This is without a doubt the best of Belize. We stayed in cabana 1-the Coral Reef,
which was the closest to the water, nicely furnished with bright bold colors, comfy king sized bed and local artwork on the walls.
The 3 canana's were nestled into an exotic trpical garden, lovingly cared for by the most friendly and dedicated staff. We can't say enough about the friendly, easy smiling and caring
staff and owners.Kitt, Jenna, Brandon, Brianna, Maggie, Clive,
Miss Maguilla(the head chef), Desiree, Kim(pastry chef), Byron and Joe. If we forgot a name we apologize as all felt like good friends! We felt as if we were taken into their home as if we were family. The restaurant was, by far the best in Belize, we had the chance to experience a few, but spoke with many local people
who all felt as we did, The Capricorn was the best. It was busy every night that we were there. The restaurant is lively, comfortable and charming with food and service consistantly
of the highest level of excellence, and simply delicious!
Steve and I can't say enough about our stay at The Capricorn
and thank them for our wonderful vacation. We would highly
reccomend The Capricorn to all! Steve and JoAnn Ray

  • Liked — the location, the staff, comfort
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Squawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.0 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.7 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mata Rocks Resort
Mata Rocks Resort
#28 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Resort

Property: Capricorn Resort
Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Capricorn Hotel San Pedro
Capricorn Resort San Pedro
Capricorn Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing