We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, service and drinks.”
Review of Capricorn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Capricorn Resort
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We are at a neighboring resort and have walked to Capricorn every night for food and/or drinks. Maggie is the best! Soto and Clive are behind the bar and the waiters are all awesome. Loved the stuffed grouper! A must have!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank smfgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was looking for a nice, quiet and relaxing place and Capricorn delivered. Kit and the staff were marvelous, the food is great and the location is close enough to town and all that has to offer and far enough away so that it was a nice island get away. My cabana was nicely decorated and good sized - the hammock on the porch has a nice view of the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Being Lonely Planet fans, my partner and I read the review for Capricorn and thought that "elegant" and "upscale" sounded good, so we booked. While the somewhat hapless staff were super friendly and the beach bikes were a nice touch, there is NOTHING elegant about this place. It's mid-to-upscale backpacker at best. The cabins are shabby, the bathrooms are completely rundown and infested with roaches and vermin and the shower doesn't work well, the sheets and blankets smell strongly of sulphur and the fans and A/C are so noisy that they're the only thing that works to drown out the loud party sounds from the bar that's a few feet from the cabins. The food? About 4 times what you pay on the south island AND not that good. We can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-PaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

With only 3 cabanas the Capricorn afforded us a chance to get to know and connect with the charming and always ready to help staff who run this establishment. We spent 5 fabulous nights here. Our cabana just feet from the lapping waters edge with comfy chairs and hammock on the porch provided many lovely coffee-sipping mornings and cocktail evenings. We stayed in the Coral Reef which has a king size bed and a definite rustic feel. If you are seeking modern/US condo accommodations , this is probably not for you.
The restaurant food is fabulous - fish tacos, breakfast burritos and signature stuffed grouped are all a must, even if you are not staying here. But the true magic of this place is the staff - Clive, Adam, Ricky, Joseito, Dessere, Maggie and everyone else who made our stay so special - we thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sreifel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just left the island yesterday stayed just down the road from Capricorn and had lunch there several times and one evening dinner with a large group of friends- every meal was excellent, food quality was fantastic - recommend the Capricorn salad with either Chicken, Shrimp or Lobster (take your pick), service is very welcoming and friendly and even when we arrived after lunch service one day they kindly re-opened for the four of us., Location is spectacular, right on the beach with beautiful views. Highly recommend a visit to this beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Good food. Like many places on the island were out if a dish here or there. The stuffed grouper special was killer. Stayed for dessert, chocolate rum cake should be renamed "death by chocolate" it was a huge portion. The service was excellent and ambiance on the beach great. A cool ocean breeze keeps the majority of the bugs at bay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank RunJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Loved the welcome rum punch, loved the location, loved the lack of cheesy resort feel. Their concierge service and staff were stellar. The food at the restaurant was good. Thumbs up to the basil julep. The features of the room were what I needed (Coral Reef cabana), but there were two detriments I must note with the hope that they are fixed. The air conditioner was ineffective, and there was a strong sulfur smell in the bathroom. Some can live without the AC, but some sleep hot and cannot. I'm sure there's an explanation for the smell, but it doesn't matter. It's a rude, burn in the nostrils smell. It can't be in a nice place.

Room Tip: The Coral Reef cabana has the best location on the beach, but the A/C was ineffective and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
185 reviews
2 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
153 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
300 reviews
2 mi away
Playa Del Sol Free Snorkeling & Fishing
4 mi away
La Perla Del Caribe
La Perla Del Caribe
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Resort

Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £86 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Capricorn Hotel San Pedro
Capricorn Resort San Pedro
Capricorn Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing