We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Honeymoon Spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capricorn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Capricorn Resort
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
California
1 review
“Wonderful Honeymoon Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Last July, my husband and I went to Belize for our honeymoon. After a lot of research and email we decided to stay at Capricorn. We were both really glad we did! Capricorn was great. As soon as we got to Ambergris, we called Capricorn to be picked up from San Pedro. A short boat ride later, we were greeted with the most delicious drink imaginable. To make things even better, there was a loaf of the best lemon bread I have ever tasted (waiting in our room for us). It was accompanied by seasonal fruit....so yummy! We ate dinner at the restaurant that night. My husband and I loved the food. The drinks were also wonderful (I suggest the basil gimlet). Everyone was so helpful and friendly.
The next day we rode complimentary bikes into town for some Papusas (so good). We biked around and took in the sights. We also booked a snorkeling trip to Shark Ray Alley. We used the bikes again the next day and had a drink at all of the bars along the coast. Palapa Bar was really fun.
When it was time to leave, check out was a breeze. We boarded the Capricorn boat to go back into town to catch a ferry to the mainland.
Everything was great! When we go back, we won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabtage133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    18
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
drewgrew2
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed at Capricorn for our honeymoon in January 2010. Our cabana was right on the water's edge and was perfect for us. A close water taxi ride to town and to other resorts/restaurants. The owners were great and gave the place a real personal touch (only three cabanas means lots of care and feeding by the staff). The restaurant was the best part...GREAT food.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewgrew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

Capricorn resort was the perfect getaway. It truly was paradise. There are only three cabana's so it was very relaxing. The staff were absolutely fabulous. Kit picked us up in San Pedro upon our arrival. We were greeted with the most delicious banana bread I have ever eaten and rum punch. It doesn't get much better than that after a long flight from the Pacific Northwest.
Capricorn Resort has a wonderful restaurant. Even if you are not staying there it should not be missed on your visit to Ambergris Caye.
The staff assisted us with all of our tours, making arrangments and providing us with the vocher. All we had to do was ask.

We rode bikes into town that were available to us as guests at Capricorn.
It truly was a lovely place to visit. I hope to go again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettywoman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
negraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

This was our second stay at Capricorn. It is a small(3 cabana) resort with the best restaurant on Ambergris Caye. The staff is most accomodating in every way without being intrusive. Just ask & it'll be done or booked. We stay in the beach front cabana which is close to the restaurant but privacy is not compromised. The room is large & well taken care of. The restaurant is tops. The staff at Capricorn has been there, for the most part, many years which is a testament to the ownership. They know what to do to make your stay there wonderful. If you like "all inclusive" this is not the spot for you. If you like laid back vacations with excellent service in a private setting, check out Capricorn.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huskerNegraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed at the Capricorn Resort for 6 nights in early March. Before I write the review, I need to qualify it by saying that we were sick the entire stay and it was colder than normal for that time of year. Both of those things probably impacted our stay, but neither was the fault of Capricorn. We stayed in the front Beach Casita and as far as location goes, it couldn't be beaten. The front steps were literally 30 feet or less from the water, the palapa with lounge chairs was even closer, the restuarant and bar were about the same distance to the side of the cabin. The main room to the cabin was roomy with a king bed and two lounge chairs, nice island decor, a high Belizean wood ceiling, and water views from all windows. The front porch was also comfortable and scenic with two small chairs and a Mexican hammock. I was comfortable in the bed, my wife found it a bit hard, but that's a personal taste thing. Our only complaints about the room would be a couple of things we did not know about ahead of time: salt water (stinky) shower and no toilet paper could be flushed. The latter wouldn't have been a big deal if we weren't both sick from food we'd had inland.

Staff were very nice and helpful. Since they have only three cabins, they soon learned our name and all we had to do was ask for something and we had it. Make sure to try Byron's vodka basil gimlet. I appreciated that they left us alone except when we went to them for something. We even met one worker on his day off on Caye Caulkner. He introduced himself, we would not have recognized him, and had a conversation while waiting for a water taxi. Genuinely nice.

We can't comment on the dinners for which they are well known because we didn't eat much due to our illness. That was a major disappointment, and based on one breakfast I did have, I'm sure eating dinner there would have added to this positive review.

One final note about Ambergris Caye - if you are expecting a typical beach where you swim from shore this isn't it. Most everywhere we saw on the Caye, including Capricorn, had a lot of seaweed that prevented it. However, in some ways the picturesque long docks with seating and hammocks at the end more than made up for this. Just know beforehand and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTraveler057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We had the king size room. Being right next to the beach is not necessarily a good thing when that means listening to people ride their motorcycles 10 feet from the window at all hours. Using the edge of the beach next to the water is how most people not using a golf cart get around this part of the island. The food was pretty good but over priced. Most of the staff were not very friendly and seemed irritated when we asked for anything and we spent a TON of money there. The hot water is pretty non-existent and lasts maybe a couple minutes. This made me miss my shower at home SO bad. The water pressure was also terrible and would alternate between barely trickling out of the shower head for 2 minutes to 15 seconds of high pressure, repeat until you give up on taking a decent shower. The room smelled moldy. It was definitely bearable but was not nice enough for how much they charged. The bedding was very uncomfortable and there were not enough pillows plus no headboard. They are far from secluded. It's not as busy here as in San Pedro obviously but there is plenty of foot and boat traffic all around. Their bikes are rusted and in very bad shape. We gave up on trying to use them after the bike broke the first day we were there. That was a lovely 2 hours of wasted time walking that piece of junk back. The beach front they had was not remotely enjoyable due to foot traffic and it was covered in sea weed. Rotting sea weed STINKS by the way. Maybe they should take the time to actually remove the sea weed completely instead of just raking it around.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amaterasu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed 6 nights at Capricorn in the Coral Reef Cabana. The rooms are simple, comfortable, and are decorated with local Belizean handiworks. The staff are plentiful, very helpful and more than willing to help with anything you might need. Food at the restaurant is on the more expensive end, but was the best food we ate while in San Pedro. Amenities included in the price were a plus: access to snorkel gear, kayaks, bikes, free water bottle refills, beach towels, mini fridge in the cabana. Capricorn only has three rooms, and it is not a luxury resort, but for the price, you cant get a better value. We were greeted on the dock with a smile and a rum punch, and given an overview of the hotel, staff, services, and the area by Kit. We had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gull2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#41 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mata Rocks Resort
Mata Rocks Resort
#28 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Resort

Property: Capricorn Resort
Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Capricorn Hotel San Pedro
Capricorn Resort San Pedro
Capricorn Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing