We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach, privacy, great food and exceptional service”
Review of Capricorn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Capricorn Resort
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
“Beautiful beach, privacy, great food and exceptional service”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We searched nearly all resorts on the north part of the island and chose Capricorn for its smaller size, prime location, complimentary activities and on-site restaurant/bar. With only three cabanas, six guests total at a time; we were pleasantly surprised with the exceptional level of service from the staff of 15 and were always able to get what we needed in a moment's notice.

The Capricorn is located in lovely Paradise Cove, and we were greeted at San Pedro airport and whisked away in their own boat. Upon arrival, our Host/Owner Kit greeted us with a nice cold rum punch; the first of MANY during our stay! Besides having one of the best restaurants around, the staff was extremely helpful in coordinating day trips and tours for us as well as airport transfers. With complimentary bikes, kayaks and snorkeling gear we never ran out of things to do during the day.

Overall we had a great time and found the privacy, quiet and seclusion we were looking for; in addition to having easy and affordable access to activities which rounded out our trip. If you're looking for a small, off the beaten path resort with great service, we strongly recommend the Capricorn.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWhite2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    18
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at Capricorn Resort for our honeymoon. It was an incredible experience. We had heard good things about Ambergris Caye, in Belize, but hadn't really been referred to any specific resort. There are a lot of resorts on the island, but we are totally glad that we picked Capricorn.

The first thing you hear about is their restaurant. And everything good you hear is 100% true. The food is AMAZING. Fresh produce, fresh fish, and you will not leave hungry. The portions are so generous, it wasn't until the 4th night that we were able to save room for dessert, which was ridiculously good key lime pie. I've found that at many resorts, the food is pretty uninspired buffet fare. Well, Capricorn is truly delicious food, every day and night. Many people on the island know this, and the restaurant is pretty crowded at night. That being said, if you are a guest staying in one of the cabins at Capricorn, there is always a table ready for you. We were there on Valentine's day, and despite there being a ton of reservations, we didn't have to make one, and were seated right away.

That to me was the best part of Capricorn. They only have 3 cabins, meaning no more than 6 guests at a time. However, there are 15 or 16 staff, which means that by your second day there, everybody knows your name. My wife has a number of food allergies, which can make dining out, and traveling, a little difficult. But at Capricorn, every staff member knew her whole list of food allergies by the second day, and we never had any issues with allergic reactions.

Capricorn is perfectly situated on Ambergris Caye. It's on the north side of the island, which is a little quieter than San Pedro, the main part of town. That being said, it's only 3 miles to town, and makes for a great walk, bike ride, or a short ferry ride. Very easy to get into town if you want a little more activity, but nice to be on the quiet side. The first few days of our trip we just wanted to relax on the beach, and Capricorn is built for that. After a day or two of lying around, we started taking their bikes out, taking their kayak out, and did some snorkeling. Anything that you want to do, you can just ask a member of the staff, and they will make it happen. The individual attention and service is the best I've ever had.

We totally loved Capricorn. A lot of resorts will say that when you come you're a guest, and when you leave you're a friend. At Capricorn, they mean it. It made for a truly beautiful, fun, relaxing, exciting honeymoon. The whole time, we kept talking about 'when we come back again.' I highly recommend Capricorn Resort. It was our best vacation ever.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thibodaux,la
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Unbelievable service!! Picked up at the dock & boat ride to Capricorn--Greeted with Rum Punch & a greeting that we'd be taken care of & that we were!!! from arranging a private snorkel trip to spa service & wonderful food!! No complaints & it's located in North Ambergris Caye--so getting away from the crowds is a plus. hammocks blowing in the wind!!

as they said, Arrive a guest & leave as a friend

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grace59Thibodaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We absolutely loved this resort! We travelled with another couple and when we arrived we were told that there was a staff of 15 to meet our every need. And they were right! They were friendly, warm and very helpful. When we left one of them said " You arrived as our guest and left as our family". We loved the relaxing atmosphere, the view was terrific and Kit and his family could not have been more accomodating. Anything we wanted to do was arranged for us. We walked up and down the beach and felt like all of the other larger resorts were not for us. No comparison. The rooms are simple, clean and air conditioned if needed. We would return here in a minute. We have travelled to many Caribbean areas and this was the perfect place to unwind, destress and have fun as well. We highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a little piece of Paradise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peppermint6749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

What an amazing place. The cabana huts are literally on the beach to give an amazing sounds while going to sleep. The owners are the nicest people you can possibly meet and there is a phenomenal restaurant / bar located on the premises to satisfy any food craving or drink you are looking for. Last and certainly not least, the staff is top notch with nothing but smiles to offer. Don't think twice about staying here. Very clean, friendly, convenient, and away from the traffic nonsense that the other hotels have. My wife Gauri and I thank the owners for their hospitality and travel planning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview Heights, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The staff at this hotel were amazing... accomadating every request and giving out a lot of extra info on the area that would have been left untouched by others. There are only 3 little cabana's so the majority of the people are patrons enjoying a meal at their top notch restauraunt.
The rooms are simple, no tv's, good sized shower. Its not a fancy new place with tons of amenities in the room, it is a simple place to lay your head at night. My only reservation about the place was that our room could not be locked, which initially threw me a little off guard when I asked about it. But after a day there I got used to it and the staff was always there a few feet from the room.
As for internet they also had wi-fi but it was difficult to reach in the rooms occasionally and was not high speed, but it was good enough to check emails and conduct short business.
Simply if you are looking for a quite getaway with great staff and not many people around, this is definitely it. The views are incredible, hammocks on the dock, awesome staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Capricorn for our anniversary this year and this place could not have been any better. For starters, the Capricorn only has three cabanas which is to our preference. We have never cared for the large all inclusive resorts. It's just not our thing. The Capricorn was perfect from the minute we arrived. Their driver was at the airport to transport us to the water taxi. And once we arrived at the dock by water taxi you were just amazed with this little resort. The Capricorn also has one the top rated restaurants on the island. You absolutely cannot leave the island without having the stuffed grouper from the Capricorn. The Capricorn has a small bar but don't be fooled by it's size. We had some of the best rum punch from this place as any that we had on the entire island.
Many thanks to the Capricorn and their staff. We had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.0 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.7 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mata Rocks Resort
Mata Rocks Resort
#28 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Resort

Property: Capricorn Resort
Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Capricorn Hotel San Pedro
Capricorn Resort San Pedro
Capricorn Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing