We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended for budget traveler!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended for budget traveler!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I had a great experience at Ruby's ... I stayed with my boyfriend in a private room with a/c and a bathroom. The mattress was literally the most comfortable bed I had slept on anywhere in Central America. The room was clean and had a view to the ocean. The prices are reasonable, the location is unbeatable, and the staff at the desk will help to organize any tours or answer any questions you may have. They also have a night guard and very good wi-fi... highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    55
    34
    14
    14
See reviews for
7
57
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

If you are going to San Pedro on a budget, Ruby's is perfect. It's right on the beach & is very reasonably priced. The rooms don't have air , but come w/ a fan for each bed & all the windows open. I never felt security was an issue & the personnel were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkingmusic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flores, Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

the prize and the location are probably the strongest arguments speaking for Rubys Hotel in San Pedro. Our room was fairly simple but clean and had fresh towels and a soap bar. The location is the best feature however, being right on the shore at one side and in the middle of the towncenter on the other. No need to waste money on taxi...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salkin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Backpacking often leads you to budget accommodation and I accept that things will be very basic, that's fine. This place is pretty grim even by those standards. My feet were black within 2 mins of being in the room, don't think the floors have ever been cleaned. Bed was damp, towels were riddled with holes. Staff began their duties everyday right outside my bedroom door (ground floor) pulling beer crates and furniture around shouting and joking at 6am. Incredibly selfish. Left my door open to go and pay for somethin at reception, came back and found a man Peering into my room! Turned out he was the security guard. I said "if anything goes missin from here I'll have someone to blame, right?" He said he was "jus makin sure". Course you were mate.

I see I'm not the first to point out security and sanitation issues here. Beware.

Ruby's - up your game!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Pedro hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I like to travel a lot. Usually I prefer to stay in hostels and cheap hotels, or at campgrounds, so I can have more money for things like diving, snorkel trips, surf rentals and tour guides.

After arriving in San Pedro by water taxi (Jet Express; great service) I walked around a little while with my girlfriend looking for a hotel. We were using the latest Lonely Planet travel book for Belize, and found Ruby's Hotel along with a few other low price options. After talking to the person at the front desk, and seeing the beautiful views on the beach, we decided to rent a room for BZ$87 (US$43.5) per night.

The room was barely acceptable, but I'm not really one to fuss over things like the shower head having a poor seal and spraying all over the bathroom, or the sheets and towels having a somewhat funny smell.

What got us was waking up to our door ajar, with my girlfriend's purse and some of my clothing missing from the room!!! We woke up Sunday, May 5 to find someone had entered our room while we were asleep and taken her purse, which included her passport, driver's license, bank card and cash. We immediately went to the woman at the front desk, reported what happened and were told that she would contact the security guard who was on duty during the night. We also filed a police report, though we were told to return on Monday morning since there was no officer on duty Sunday.

Back at the hotel, the woman at the desk told us the security guard had not seen anyone go upstairs during the night (we were on the 3rd floor). We spoke with the owner who scolded us for not putting our belongings in the hotel safe, and basically blamed us for what happened. She did not apologize once, she did not offer any help and really seemed not to give a s*** for our unfortunate situation.

The next night, we stayed out later, until around 1:00am. Upon returning to the hotel we did see the security guard on the ground level deck, playing solitaire. Upon heading upstairs to the 3rd floor deck we saw a local lurking in the hallway. We approached him and asked what he was doing. He said his friend was "partying" at the hotel. Back downstairs we went, to find the security guards friend sitting in a chair, adjacent to the office. We asked him were the security guard was, he gestured to hold on, and WOKE UP THE SECURITY GUARD WHO WAS TAKING A NAP. Back upstairs we went, and the partying local was gone. Waiting a bit, we went back downstairs again to see if there was really any "security" at all. Nope. No one. We made noise, hollered "security" on every deck, and there was NO SECURITY GUARD TO BE FOUND.

Telling our story to locals who had befriended us on our trip, they were not surprised at all that this had happened at Ruby's.

Summary: No security, no sympathy from management, THEFT FROM YOUR ROOM.
Do not support this hotel.

Room Tip: Never stay at this hotel. You WILL be stolen from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brookspdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I understand that budget rooms are meant to be very basic but I think they need to make a little more effort here. Walking barefoot in the room left your feet totally filthy. The walls were stained all over. The location is central which is nice but it's very noisy on weekends. Not only can you hear the loud music from neighboring clubs but we were kept up very late by people on the beach. A family that sells trinkets on the sand right outside the rooms stayed there very late drinking, talking and seemingly ignoring their screaming children. If you're in town to party then this place might work for you. Stay out as late as possible so when you stumble into bed you won't notice the ick factor.

Room Tip: If you want to feel safe in your room choose one above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenwavecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Overshadowed by two resort hotels but this place is a gem for the budget conscious. We had an oceanview with a quarter the price you'd pay at the neighbor hotels. We got a basic room, no A/C, not TV but hey - who's in their beds on a vacation? Not to mention that in the Spring/Summer, there is always sufficient breeze circulating cool air through the open windows.

Great location to dive operators just below and night clubs/bars just down the street. Just a 5 minute walk from where the plane drops you off on the island. Friendly service!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinga06181977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambergris Beach House
Ambergris Beach House
#24 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#7 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Property: Ruby's Hotel
Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing