We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caye Casa(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Rio(San Pedro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conch Shell Inn(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Capricorn Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
201
123
44
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
123
44
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspelican barthird floorawesome bartenderbar tenderrooms are cleanlocal rumbars restaurantssmall poolgolf cartpool deckplenty of hot waterwalking distance to everythingsmall hotelcleaning staffcable tvwater pressurewelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had a wonderful 11 nights at The Tides. Rooms very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The owner takes pride in this family fun business and this shows with the diving and the hotel. We would come back here in an instant. The views from the top floor are a joy to wake up to. Patojo is very professional dive operator with lots of experience. Hotel close to town, walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms at top have best view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My husband and I travel a lot and do not want to spend all our money on lodging. I have been to San Pedro before and paid 5 times as much as lodging costs here. The tides is for the budget to mid range traveler who wants a real clean place to stay that is safe. This hotel's location is excellent. It is in San Pedro - walking distance to everything..right down the beach. If you stay north or south you need wheels....here you can rent a cart for a day to explore those places yet have everything else to walk to. The tides has a small pool, balcony to sit and look at the ocean, dock right out the front and the best dive instruction. I did not take lessons but talked with him every day. Rays right under the dock..walk to wet willy's and snorkle under that dock..fish, fish, fish. Most important the owners were very very nick

Room Tip: The high school is next door so some people say you should ask to be away from them..I did not have a problem with the school. However the third floor is the best for a views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank terryw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Tides and Patojo's Dive Shop are owned and operated by a wonderful Belizean family who really care about their customers. On dive trips, Patojo and his staff do everything except breathe for you. He asks divers what they want to see, and then he delivers. This trip we swam with the ever elusive whale shark(once in a lifetime) and also saw a hammerhead in the deep waters. If you are a new diver or inexperienced, Patojo is the person to dive with. He's an excellent instructor and very patient and helpful. The hotel is close to town and right on the beach. Easy walking distance to anything you need. It's well kept and the rooms have a beautiful view of the Caribbean. I am sure we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasshouseinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed at the Tides for 5 days in August while working in the needy community of San Mateo. The location was perfect and the hotel was comfortable and very clean. It was amazing to wake every morning to greet the sun over the beautiful sea. I stayed on the third floor and the view was amazing. No need to request a view though. All the rooms face the sea! After a hot day of working in the community a swim was lovely!! A nice little pool ...cool and refreshing awaits with a gorgeous view of the sea once again. The family was welcoming, genuine and truly care about their community and fellow Belizeans. Thank you so much for your support and caring towards the kids!! We had a very successful week teaching the children the importance of clean water...and doing water testing directly in the community! A truly caring family in a truly welcoming hotel in a truly beautiful place!!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor...the better the view..however you get a great view no matter...first second or third.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CathyP315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed there for 9 nights and felt our stay couldn't have been better. We stayed in the Blue Hole room on the 3rd story. The room is a great value and much more than we expected based on some of the other reviews. We found it to be: very comfortable (including the bed), amazing view, spotlessly clean, hard wood floors, A/C, mini-fridge, plenty of hot water and location.

Also, the staff (mostly the family) was always present, working hard and willing to do anything to make your stay better. They made you feel at home and very welcome.

The prices on Trip Advisor are wrong...they are anywhere from $55 - $75 per night (tax included; low season). Considering the amenities (pool, king bed, ocean view, location, cleanliness & pier) it's the best value on the island, especially since you're really not in your room much while there.

We also dove with Patojo & did the blue hole trip (Amigos Del Mar). While we enjoyed the Blue Hole trip we liked the local diving with much Patojo better.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has the best view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcclain072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews