We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, down home atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed @ the Tides Beach Resort in October & for most of the trip we were the only ones there. We got a terrific deal on a lodging/dive package, that was half of what most places wanted just for lodging! We had a room on the 3rd floor which provided an amazing view of the turquoise water & a full moon at night. Our room was very large with hardwood floors, a very comfortable king-sized bed, small refrigerator, cable tv, clean bathroom. The pool was one of the biggest on the beach & had a nice large deck with lots of chairs for sunning. the best thing about the place is the the dive shop is directly across the beach, could not be any more convenient for diving.! Patojo is one of the most experience Dive Masters on the Island & knows every dive site intimately! He is thorough & patient & strives to make sure that you completely enjoy your dive experience. Alex takes care of everything for you ,even down to helping you in & out of your gear, & cleaning & storing it in the dive shop after you're through for the day.
the Tides is a family-run hotel & Patojo's beautiful daughters & wife are always avaialable for anything you need, & always with a smile or a pleasant greeting.
We will definitely stay @ the Tides again if/when we go back to San Pedro!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donita_B_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

My second time staying here as a guest of the Paz family. Megan waited up for our late arrival and from day 1 we had a fantastic stay. Patojo is the #1 dive master on the island in my book and worked patiently with us as we dived in Hol Chan marine reserve. My second time diving the sea was very ruff with 10 to 12 foot seas but never got sick one time. Not a 5 star resort but the price was right since we did not stay in the room except to shower and sleep. The rooms were kept very clean and well stocked with dry towels, A wonderful place to celebrate Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_Flowers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed at the Tides back in May. When we decided to take two weeks vacation over Christmas in Belize we never considered another place, we knew we wanted to stay here. We spent the entire two weeks here and enjoyed it thoroughly. The location of this great family owned place is wonderful - it is north of town and just south of the bridge. The entire Paz family and all the employees were very nice. Carlina kept our room clean and checked on us! Donovan took care of the pool area and the grounds always made sure we had cushions for the chairs and gave us recommendations for local places to grab a bite.
I am planning on going back to Belize and my first choice will, again, be the tides.

Room Tip: North side rooms are a little more quiet and the sun isn't quite as strong in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamin-Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at the Tides for two months while I was student teaching in San Pedro. The entire family and staff was very welcoming and made us feel right at home during our stay. The location is terrific. It is just a short walk to the downtown area or over the Boca Del Rio bridge. There are lots of small delis to get food and the grocery stories are close by. It is so convenient to have the dock right there to swim off of and the pool to relax by. The room had basic amenities which is all we really needed. It was a clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay. We went out snorkeling with Patojo and Alex and had an excellent time. Patojo is so knowledgable about the reef and it was the best snorkeling I have ever done. Sabrina, Patojo, and all of their children were incredibly kind and helpful to us at all times.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Be really careful with diving base and hotel in San Pedro on Belize. The name of the hotel is Tides Beach resort. The owners are Sabrina and her husband Patojo.
Firstly everything seems okey. Sabrina is a very nice person and Patojo a helpfull diving guide. I will tell you what went wrong. The problems starts from the first day of our arrival. Despite my previos reservation there was no accomodation for the whole group. We were accomodated in another place and what is more the place of our accomodation was changed twice! It was a nuisance for us because we were one group but one part have lived in Tides Beach Resort and others somewhere closer to the city. What is more during our stay we booked two diving days on the local reef and one day on Blue Hole. Unfortunately due to bad weather the divings where cancelled. I can understand everything but I really don't like when somebody is lying to me. The problem is that despite promises of giving us the cash back for not fullfiled service for 10 person we didn't get anything. They promised that they will give us money for the next day. Something went wrong and Sabrina - the owner promised to send the money by Western Union to our next accomodation in Playa del Carmen. Then there were only next excuses and unfulfilled promises to send money after a few days. Sabrina said that she had no time, no money and even that her mother had real health problems. After hundreds of mails she admitted that she has no money and she can pay me in rates. Unfortunately till this day none of us didn'd get any refund and even the contact with Sabrina ended...
This lasts from March 2013... The only I can advice you is to be carefull with Sabrina and Patojo from Belize, Tides Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wnorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We loved The Tides. It's on a great location, not too close to downtown San Pedro, but close enough to walk on the beach to all the restaurants and bars. The staff is great and always in for a chat, even the cat and dog. And don't forget Patojo's scuba center: great diving with Alex and Patojo who know the reef like their own backyard. The only thing missing is a bar and a closeby restaurant for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at The Tides from Oct 3rd – 12th, we were part of a group of 8. The resort delivered exactly what was expected. Our rooms were clean and served their purpose, we don’t spend very much time in the room, we had “The Blue Hole” room, top floor last room to the North. I read the 3 reports that were rated terrible and they are humorous. First, Patojo is the best Dive Master I’ve ever dived with, yes he does have to take the boat over a very choppy area to get out to the dives, but anyone who has driven a boat will realize the skill needed to pull that off without damaging the boat and passengers, he did a stand up job. The once we were in the water, he would point out sea life that I know I would have missed if not for him, he takes the time to make sure you have a great dive. We had as many as 6 divers and listened to his instructions and every diver was top notch, Turtles, Sharks, Eagle Ray, Moray Eels, Dolphins, we seen them all because of Patojo. He would also join us poolside at night and tell us about his life on the island and his diving experiences, he has 30 years people, listen up.

The staff, Eden is quite competent, she planned 2 excursion for our group, one group went zip lining and the other to the Blue Hole, she handled the many question that we threw at her and she had to make multiple phone calls to sort it all out for us and our trips went off perfectly. Megan and Arian made up the remainder of the staff that week, we had the pleasure of them delivering our breakfast each morning, always making sure had what we needed and also taking any special requests for tomorrows breakfast. Some wanted eggs prepared in a certain ways and some were non meat eaters, breakfast is the only meal you can get from the resort which is perfect since we could eat and head out for the dive.

The Tides is very nice, if you expect fitted sheets and big fluffy pillows this place is not for you. But if you want a fictional room with an ocean view and a pool 20 feet away and Dive with most likely the best Dive Master on the island then this is the resort for you.

Room Tip: The Blue Hole room is furthest from the School if you like to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
805 reviews
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
1,052 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Address: 57 Boca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye SP-00000, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £71 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town San Pedro, on the island of Ambergris Caye, you will find our beachfront resort with unobstructed reef views. Enjoy snorkeling, diving, fishing, along with free wi-fi all walking distance to downtown.Ocean Tide Beach Resort is Different from Other Belize Vacation Resorts: * Ocean Tides is a property offering an outdoor pool and is located in the beautiful beaches of San Pedro. * We serve breakfast and lunch poolside from the beachside Bar / Lounge, The Lazy Pelican. * Free Wi-Fi access is available in this property. * These functional rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, coffee maker, and a small fridge. The bathrooms feature a bath and a shower. These rooms overlook the great barrier reef. * Other facilities offered include a tour desk and a laundry. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including snorkeling. * San Pedro Airport can be reached in a 5-minute golf cart drive. The property offers free parking and is located right on Boca del Rio Beach.* Every room has an ocean view: Whether you stay in our charming 2nd floor Beachfront suites or the 3rd floor Reefview suites, you'll treasure the views from your windows. * We're small enough to offer you the best: You'll get individual attention, and won't be over crowded. Our resort is modern and charming. We make people feel like long missed family. * We have our own dive shop, snorkel/fishing guide and massage therapist: We're give you all that a Belize vacation has to offer: mysterious Mayan ruins, world class fishing, spa treatments, boating, jungle exploring, snorkeling, some of the best scuba in the world and plain old beach bumming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Beach Hotel San Pedro
Tides Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing